We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
No. 4 Rothman Street
Ranked #16 of 37 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Uitenhage, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Had a two bedroom unit as the other singles were occupied. Both rooms had en suite bathroom, main room with a shower and bath. Single beds in both rooms, duvet, blanket, throw and a hot water bottle. Very hot water for showering, modern bathrooms, beds, but antique type furniture. Fully equipped for self catering, but no stove - plates, mugs, etc. and an excellent breakfast (full) for very little money, served in our own place. Brilliant. Secure parking. Need to perhaps look at the gate entrance for the vehicles coz it is a pain to have to unlock the gate padlock, although not a security risk. Friendly helpful service by Helen, the manager.

Room Tip: In quiet area, so slept well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moyra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights while we experienced the surrounding area.

The room was perfectly spacious, with self catering facilities like a fridge etc. The TV however was very small, with just SABC and E channels, and far from the bed. The gardens around the rooms are beautiful and Judy encourages you to pluck ripe delicious oranges straight from the trees.

Breakfast was excellent, with Judy making sure everything was cooked to your taste, the borewors were especially good. She is an excellent proprietor, friendly and easily accessible when you need her, with all the information that you could want about the sleepy little town of Graaf-Reinet, and not around when you don't.

All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asoktheintern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We only spend here one night on the road trip from Drakensberg to Port Elisabeth. But what a suprise. Clean, specious, and nice staff.

We booked incl a breakfast which was geat but you should not miss Polka. So if you in town for just one dag, sleep at Rothman and have coffee and pie (or breakfast/lunch) at polka.

Room Tip: we stayed in room No. 1. But i'm sure all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caat_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

4 Rothman street is run by Zorb and Judy Caryer who have been resident in Graaff Reinet for years and are keen bird watchers. It s situated in a quiet secure neighbourhood with great views of the mountain. The rooms are surrounded by well kept lush gardens. There are several units but the one we stayed in was superb incorporating 2 double bedrooms with bathroom on suite, a lounge, kitchen with fridge and microwave (a fully fitted kitchen with stove, dishwasher etc is next door). Just outside the front door is a huge tree that provides that most valued of commodities in the karoo-shade. There are braai facilities. Everything is spotlessly clean and the staff, led by Helen are efficient, courteous and polite. The welcome is warm but the value is outstanding. .You get a lot of bang for your buck.
There is a small shop and by arrangement simple home cooked meals can be ordered that can simpl be heated up in the micro for those arriving weary after a long journey.

Room Tip: Have a chat with Judy or Zorb. They will go out of their way to facilitate your every need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephanus007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

We stayed only one night as a halfway stop to the Cape.
The room had a kitchenette and bathroom.
Towels were provided.
There were two 3/4 beds insde the room.
The is a small garden with chairs and table
There is a splash pool in the big garden on the premises
Walking distance to shops and restaurants
You feel very private
Value for money

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
175 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

This is the perfect stop when driving between Cape Town and Joburg, or better yet, if you have time to explore the charming town of Graaf-Reinet and the rugged but beautiful surrounds of the Valley of Desolation. I arrived late and the owners were waiting for me, showing me to a room that was more like a private apartment that surpassed my expectations given the price. Everything was spotless, there were drinks and milk in the fridge, cereal for breakfast, etc... I took a dip in the wonderful pool, so nice after the long drive from Cape Town. The next morning I was able to see the beautiful indigenous gardens and ended up spending time talking to the owners before heading off to Joburg. I felt so much at home, and although I had other plans, opted to stay here again on my way back to Cape Town from Joburg. I was given another room, just as spacious, just as clean. I could have easily spent more time exploring the area (owners very helpful with tips) including Nieu Bethesda and the Owl House (a must), swimming in the pool, or relaxing in their gardens. Judging from all the comments in the guest book I was not the only one who was taken by this b and b. I will most definitely be back. Cannot beat the price for what you get.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

The self-catering unit was large (2 bedrooms, large open-plan lounge, dining room, fully fitted kitchen with microwave only).

The owner was friendly and helpful.

The bathroom was not as clean as it could have been and the sheets were covered in hair and grass. A bit dodgy!

Not the cheapest as cheaper accommodation could be found via the Graaff-Reinet accommodation website.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.5 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rietjiesbos B&B
Rietjiesbos B&B
#8 of 37 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerset Stables
Somerset Stables
#1 of 37 in Graaff-Reinet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Reinet Guest House
Villa Reinet Guest House
#11 of 37 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beau & I
Beau & I
#2 of 37 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aan Die Oewer Bed & Breakfast
Aan Die Oewer Bed & Breakfast
#22 of 37 in Graaff-Reinet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 4 Rothman Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 4 Rothman Street

Property: No. 4 Rothman Street
Address: 4 Rothman Street, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — No. 4 Rothman Street 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No 4 Rothman Street offers great value, 3 star accomodation. Units have en-suite rooms, air-conditioning, a living room with kitchenette and a separate entrance. It is set in a large garden with a swimming pool and has secure off-street parking.You have the option of self-catering or bed & breakfast. Breakfasts are a traditional full Karoo breakfast consisting of fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, home made fruit juice, cereals, eggs, bacon, sausage, tomatoes, toast and home-made jams.Simple home-cooked dinners are also available on request.The rooms are fully serviced and managed by your friendly hosts, Judy and Zorb Caryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your No. 4 Rothman Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing