We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbotsbury

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Graaff-Reinet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abbotsbury
Ranked #20 of 37 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
guatemala city
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

this little gem was quite a find!! my cousin's wife found this place while trying to break up our trip in two as we were going to Plettensburg Bay. When we arrived, there was such a sense of peace. The rooms are really quite lovely, bed very comfortable. Sue and staff are so nice. Food was really very good. I think this place is wonderful for couples just wanting to get a little alone time, very romantic!!!! Hopefully, will return soon!

Room Tip: i do not believe you can go wrong with any room......they are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Knysna
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

An ideal stopover on your way to or from the coast, 27 km outside Graaff-Reinet, on the N9. Excellent accommodation with comfy beds, heaters and electric blankets to take the chill off the Karoo winter, peaceful farm surroundings and delicious, home-cooked food served in your suite. Sue Scott is a charming and friendly hostess and she and her staff will really look after you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eschborn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

If you are looking for a beautifuly accomodation, hearty, fresh and organic farm style food and personal service you should stay with Sue at Abbotsbury about 20 km from Graaf-Reinet. We booked one of the lovely equipped cottages and felt so pampered getting served a perfectly cooked springbok pie in our cottage for dinner, later snuggling in the huge double bed heated by electrical blankets. The peaceful surrounding and stunning view of the Karoo landscape also is worth a visit of Abbotsbury.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

I hesitate to write a review just incase Abbotsbury fills up and I cannot be accommodated next time.I am a regular at what I believe to be SA best B&B in its category. Superb rooms,wonderfull home cooked food,efficient freindly staff,led by one of the most caring of people Sue Scott, I would and do go 100 klms out of my just to stay at Abbottsbury.

Room Tip: All great only 3 sadly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Thank you Sue for taking such good care of us. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel at home and looked after. The suite was perfect, overlooking your beautiful garden with the mountains as a backdrop - what more could we want. Breakfast and dinner in particular, "were to die for" - just one complaint ... after 4 nights with you, we need 2 weeks of dieting to get back to starting weight!!!
Breezer's evening visits and the game with Joe each morning were the cherry on the top, you'll be sure to see us next time we're in Graaff-Reinett.
Lotsaluv, Cliff & Lea

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffordH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

I've enjoyed Sue's special brand of hospitality twice in the last two years while doing the Joburg Cape Town haul and loved it. For me, its perfect for a stopover, offering a really comfortable sleep with luxurious linen, dinner in your own suite and the convenience of an honesty bar. The dinner is delicious local specialities and the dessert is irresistible even for someone that doesn't normally go for it. The area has many interesting attractions and hikes and I recommend tho place as a good place to explore.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leila16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We just loved our 3 night stay here - do not go for any less. Everything about Abbotsbury echoes Sue's eye for detail and quality from the crisp white cotton sheets, her beautifully cooked meals, her amazingly lush garden full of roses, her warm hospitality and even her charming floppy eared goats. Marvellous value for money. We would and will recommend Abbotsbury to all our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindal3125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.3 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Somerset Stables
Somerset Stables
#1 of 37 in Graaff-Reinet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.6 mi away
Obesa Lodge
Obesa Lodge
#3 of 37 in Graaff-Reinet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
#6 of 37 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Manor Boutique Guest House
Queen Manor Boutique Guest House
#13 of 37 in Graaff-Reinet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stemar Self Catering Guest House
Stemar Self Catering Guest House
#18 of 37 in Graaff-Reinet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsbury

Property: Abbotsbury
Address: On the N9; follow the farm road for 3km from the Abbotsbury sign | P O Box 551, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing