We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
Ranked #10 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally Amazing!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed at Avondrust Guest House on the 18th February on our way to George. What an amazing little place with fantastic staff! The room we had was impeccably clean and well maintained and of 5 star standard. The facilities in the room were fantastic! The breakfast we recieved was great! I would highly recommend this magical little place to anyone passing through Graaff- Reinet. Thank you Nico for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rochelldw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    33
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
71
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pissouri, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Avondrust is a haven of comfort in clean well appointed rooms and excellent friendly service. January 2013 was our sixth visit.

  • Liked — Comfort and service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Antony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is a beautifully appointed, quaint B&B that is ideal for stopovers, and was as much a part of our holiday as our actual destination. We enjoyed it so much that our next trip will include a longer stay here. It was spotless, the service was good and breakfast was delicious. Nico is a wonderful host, and his recommendations of sights and restaurant were great. Electric blankets were a very welcome addition in our room.

Room Tip: The master bedroom of the original house is now available for bookings, and it is gorgeous with a lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax-the-Timetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Very nice, private and cosy place in Graff Reinet. Nico does a lot to make you happy. Rooms are very private around the lovely garden and are very clean and well looked after. Safe locked parking. Lots of informations and tips and the restaurants are at a walking distance from the B+B.
Can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WatchFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed here for three nights, very pleasant guest house with beautiful gardens. Rooms up to expectations with both aircon and heater provided. Within easy walking distance of several restaurants and a delightful town centre. Friendly owner and staff

Camdeboo National Park and the Valley of desolation very close by.

Room Tip: I has a standard room which was very good. Friends had higher grade rooms at other visits which they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We spent 2 nights at Avondrust and were lucky to be upgraded to the spacious Honeymoon Suite. It was comfortable, well appointed and spotlessly clean. Nico was courteous, friendly and very helpful, without being intrusive. The hotel has beautiful gardens and a discreetly private pool/outdoor entertaining area. There is secure parking off-street and Avondrust is located in the very heart of the town, with several good restaurants (try Polka or Gordon's) within short walking distance. Great breakfasts too. Graaf Reinet is a small, quiet place, but full of historic buildings and interesting museums. The Camdeboo Park is nearby and the Valley of Desolation there provides some amazing sights and spectacular photo opportunities.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Within walking distance of the main street and museums. Accommodation cannot be faulted: comfortable beds, big bathrooms, airconditioning, ceiling fan, indoor and outdoor seating. Clean pool. Breakfast great. No TV in rooms, but there is a TV in the breakfast room. We were so busy visiting the museums and the Valley of Desolation that we didn't have time to watch TV - not even to hear the news! Breakfast great. Parking off the street.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Time_Traveller061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.1 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Reinet Guest House
Villa Reinet Guest House
#12 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
#6 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rietjiesbos B&B
Rietjiesbos B&B
#4 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whyte House
The Whyte House
#14 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beau & I
Beau & I
#2 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avondrust Guest House and B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avondrust Guest House and B&B

Property: Avondrust Guest House and B&B
Address: 40 Somerset Street, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avondrust Guest House and B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Graaff-Reinet lies Avondrust, an imposing Guest House and B&B. Built in 1911 it offers you 4000m2 of gracious living as its philosophy. History Of Avondrust Guest House Avondrust - A Home from Home in the Karoo Cradled in a loop of the Sundays River, the Karoo town of Graaff-Reinet is home to some 200 national monuments. Around every corner a piece of history is revealed to the visitor. And it is here, in the centre of town, that Merino sheep farmer and breeder, Jan Stephanus Minnaar, built his dream house during 1911. Avondrust ("evening rest") was to be his retirement home. He lived here with his wife, Maria Magdalena Smuts, "Ouma Smuts". After he passed away, his daughter, Cora Luckhoff inherited Avondrust. Cora did not want to live in the house and sold it to her brother, Eduard Smuts (Eddie) Minnaar. After his and his wife's death, Cyril Minnaar bought Avondrust from the estate. His grandfather was Jan Minnaar's brother. Graaff-Reinet Accommodation Two Luxury Suites in the Manor House, one with its own private lounge and veranda, the second is upstairs with its own balcony and Bay window overlooking the front garden and water fountain. A romantic Honeymoon Suite with a king size four poster bed and slipper bath. Five Deluxe Rooms, of which one is a lofted room in the Manor House with its own balcony that has a treetop view of the garden. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms with private entrances leading out into the tranquil garden behind the impressive Edwardian Mansion. All rooms boast space, privacy and comfort plus the use of a large pool overlooking the mountains. Wake up to a full country breakfast, served with a crackling fire on the side to warm up your cold winter mornings. Avondrust is within walking distance from all shops, museums and restaurants. Accommodation is offered on a bed and breakfast basis. During the 1990's, the Van Hoffen Family converted the house into a guesthouse. It is still a home away from home for guests today with Nico Hattingh and Tess Erlank as the current owners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Avondrust Guest House and B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing