We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal stopover in GR”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Pierre was a perfect host, our room was lovely and the bnb is very well situated. Our breakfast was delicious and we regretted not having dinner there once the delicious aromas started emerging from the kitchen. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Carriig_GH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

Thank you Ria, Pierre, Nico and all the staff - you made our stay so comfortable it was hard to say goodbye. The food was excellent and we were warm enough even though it was freezing.
Graaff Reinet is beautiful and the residents are so friendly and helpful. Hopefully we will see you all soon again. Jimmy & Colleen

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COLLEEN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We highly recommend this place and Graaff Reinet in general. As part of a recent road trip through SA this place totally impressed us. The guesthouse is very beautifully decorated and the gardens are just lovely. This is one of our new favourite places!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

On our way back after a very long and dusty trip through Botswana and Zimbabwe we were on our last leg of the long journey home when we decided to stop over one night in Graaf Reniet. We loved the look of Aa'Qtansisi and decided to stay. This was the best decision we made! Dinner was prepared and served by Nico - a self taught wonder, who dished up some of the best dishes we have tasted in cities around the world! Our room was large and very comfortable decorated with unusual and facinating items from old and new! Ria is a charming and fun loving host, we loved chatting to her at breakfast where we once more enjoyed scrumptous fare! we will definately make a special journey back to stay in another of the individually styled rooms!

Room Tip: Each room is different - all are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaynie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I must say that I have been a little disappointed by Aa'Qtansisi, since most of the reviews are quite enthusiastic. I will rate it "Very Good" because it is better than "Average". Pity that there is no mark for "Good" only!
Dinner was not that amazing, and the main problem is probably that the dining room is really in the middle of everything, which kind of makes things much smaller...
All in all, something missing in the atmosphere which would make you take the road through Graaff Reinet on purpose next time you drive to the Cape. But let's be honest, it is quite an OK place with funny rooms and nice hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patap0uf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed here one night after a stop-over from Joburg. What a lovely charming guesthouse, which has been beautifully decorated and has much character. Even the garden is well presented with a lovely pool. The owners, Pierre and Ria, were welcoming and friendly. The option for dinner was great since we were tired from travelling and did not want to go out again. But wow, Nico the chef prepares a most delicious meal with a nice selection of choices. Breakfast too was beautifully presented. The tables are uniquely decorated and a professional coffee machine adds a nice touch. The bed was even turned down with a chocolate too. What a winner! The location is also conveniently situated right in town. Will highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Stayed in the Zanzibar room. The 4-poster bed is to die for! Just two things - it is close to recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spikehugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed one night at this charming guesthouse, on a quiet, green, leafy street. Our room was spacious, stylishly-furnished and very comfortable. The opportunity to eat at the guesthouse without having to tour the town to find a suitable restaurant was appreciated and we had a traditional South African meal prepared by Nico, the Aa’Qtansisi chef. Breakfast was beautifully presented and very enjoyable. We seem to have missed out on having our car washed, but nevertheless it was a quiet, restful place to stay and Ria and Pierre were gracious hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.2 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset Stables
Somerset Stables
#1 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
#5 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Queen Manor Boutique Guest House
Queen Manor Boutique Guest House
#13 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
#10 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rietjiesbos B&B
Rietjiesbos B&B
#4 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse

Address: 69 Somerset Street, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range: £59 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This old Karoo home, circa 1856, has been created into a small boutique-type accommodation centrally situated in Graaff-Reinet, the jewel of the Karoo. Our guesthouse, named Aa’Qtansisi, is derived from the authentic original Khoisan language, meaning "We welcome You." Dating back 350,000 years ago, the Khoisan were the first human inhabitants, in Graaff-Reinet & our town - Graaff-Reinet may well be the Origin of Mankind! Be prepared to be spoiled & delighted with personal attention & unique flavours of decor in each part of this accommodation so that Aa’Qtansisi will become your first choice of accommodation when passing through Graaff-Reinet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing