We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in prime position in Graaff Reinet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Aa'Qtansisi is in the centre of town within easy walking distance of historic places , quaint shops and restaurants .
After a long drive through the Karroo it is an unexpected pleasure to find such an oasis .
We shall certainly stay there again

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

It's a very nice quiet place to be.
We loved the pool afterwards relaxing ;)

Dislike: The small conditioned breakfast
Like: The comfortable bed and shower

it's very near to the mountain's and the City.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thorsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We are on a 3weeks tour in South Africa, but have been travelling manny times before, but we have never stayed in a more luxurious and totally friendly place like Aa'Qtansisi before. It is highly recommended. Nico, the chef, makes wonderful homemade dinners so we chose to do inhouse dining both nights. The breakfasts are simply the best and served in the most elegant way. We loved it. Staff most friendly and Pierre, the owner, a genuinely friendly guy. And even our car was washed without our asking for it. We will certainly comeback back if ever returning to South Africa again

Room Tip: We stayed in the Zanzibar Room which was lovely decorated. Our friends stayed in the French Room whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SOSSilkeborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in Aa`Qtansisi for two nights and really liked it. The whole house is furnished with much love to detail, every room has its distinct style given to it. Everything was really clean, the bed was huge and very comfy. Breakfast and dinner were very good, even time could be specified on little cards that were to be filled out the day before. The gardens are lovely with many places to relax and a little pool, parking is possible within the premises.
The guesthouse lies in the middle of town, so everything is within easy walking distance, the great "Polka" restaurant and café just some minutes down the street.
Great place to stay if in Graaf-Reinet!

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street but had no problems sleeping as everythig is really quiet at nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Overall experience every time I visit Aa'Qtansisi was marvelous.
I just love the different themes of every room and all the fine detail, so beautiful.
You have to make use of the dinner facility, Nico's food is the best. Very traditional South African Cuisine.
This is really a very good Guest House I can recommend.
All staff are very friendly and help full.

Room Tip: I love the "Moroccan" room and the "Slave Quarter"s room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizal1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

We arranged a quick visit to Graaff Reinet and needed accommodation. It is years since we have stayed in the town so used Trip Advisor to show us what is available.

This B&B was highly rated so we phoned. Quick and efficient reservation.

Our experience was 5 Star. Friendly reception, great room and a fantastic meal.

We will be back.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris5630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed at Aa-Qtansis with a colleague and friend on Tuesday 11 September. We travelled to Murraysburg and Graaff Reinet to review an Enterprize Development project our company is supporting. We were excited about our trip to the Karoo, but never expected to be treated to such superb service and outstanding cuisine!

At Aa'Qtansisi they perfected individual attention with and authentic experience and warm hospitality. The Karoo Loin chops and Springbok was the best I ever had! I cannot go back for more!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank San-Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.2 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
#6 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset Stables
Somerset Stables
#1 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Queen Manor Boutique Guest House
Queen Manor Boutique Guest House
#13 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
Avondrust Guest House and B&B
#10 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rietjiesbos B&B
Rietjiesbos B&B
#3 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse

Address: 69 Somerset Street, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range: £59 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This old Karoo home, circa 1856, has been created into a small boutique-type accommodation centrally situated in Graaff-Reinet, the jewel of the Karoo. Our guesthouse, named Aa’Qtansisi, is derived from the authentic original Khoisan language, meaning "We welcome You." Dating back 350,000 years ago, the Khoisan were the first human inhabitants, in Graaff-Reinet & our town - Graaff-Reinet may well be the Origin of Mankind! Be prepared to be spoiled & delighted with personal attention & unique flavours of decor in each part of this accommodation so that Aa’Qtansisi will become your first choice of accommodation when passing through Graaff-Reinet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing