We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary beautiful and luxurious family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed as a family of 10, aged from 2 1/2 up to 68, for a week over Christmas in this most well run and luxurious "lodge" (more like an extremely comfortable country house, miles away from any other 'civilization') in this most beautiful Karoo game reserve, surrounded by hills and mountains as far as the eye could see. Our accommodation was immaculate and the food plentiful, varied and absolutely delicious. The staff, both in and outside the house, were all superb. Our daily game drives with Les, the ranger, were very informative (not just about the wildlife, but also the history of the region) and exciting; with occasional stops for coffee, tea, drinks etc. We could not have had more fun and recommend Camdeboo to anyone who seeks a unique experience combined with great comfort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Three weeks later the children talk about our week in Cambedoo every day - pleading to return. The most unbelievable holiday we have ever had. Stunning landscape, mesmerising and unforgettable animal sightings. We were beautifully looked after with incredible attention to detail, fabulous food, Les was an excellent ranger and made it incredibly special for all of us walking us to giraffes and cheetahs! The children (6,5,2) were catered for completely and allowed to join all the game drives, had their own special table and food at meals and as parents we have never felt so holidayed since having them! We were treated like kings and queens but in an atmosphere friendly and relaxed enough to feel completely at home. Bliss. Thank you Camdeboo one day we would all love to return.

Room Tip: The main house at Camdeboo was brilliant for our family (including aunts, uncles and grandparents) o...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Much to my delight we were given the honeymoon cottage, which is hidden right at the bottom of Mount Camdeboo's beautifully maintained gardens, as it was our wedding anniversary. It was magical - the cottage is romantic and spacious and very private. What was even better and caught us by complete surprise was the service and special effort the staff went to make our anniversary so special. We had bubbly on ice and strawberries dipped in chocolate awaiting us after dinner the first evening and the second evening the staff set up candles and hurricane lanterns all around the cottage, with a private dinner table set for 2, rose petals on the bed.. Just amazing. I was so touched by the effort. Asides from this the location is magnificent and our game drives to the plateau and seeing cheetah's right up close was a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaraG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Utterly amazing. Staying at Mount Camdeboo, in it’s majestic setting in the Karoo, was heavenly. Early morning game drives were punctuated by surprise encounters with zebra (a dazze of!), giraffe, rhino, kudoo, elands and cheetahs! The highlight for me was standing on foot, watching cheetah devouring a kudo. Petrifying and unforgettable! The service at Mount Camdeboo is second to none... examples of this were being met with hot towels after each game drive, sipping ‘sun downers’ in the middle of the reserve and being treated to all sorts of creativity in the food department. I was dazzled each evening by the effortless layout of our meals and the delicious array of food prepared for us. All in all, staying at Mount Camdeboo (with out entire family) was an absolute delight and will certainly go down as a unforgettable highlight in our family.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the main house are amazing! There are 4 I think.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelled2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Mount Camdeboo is utterly gorgeous. We stayed full board in the Manor House and took all four bedrooms. The staff, food and service was simply amazing and imaginative. No two meals were the same - so many unique thoughtful touches. We constantly felt like we were being looked after in a beautiful loved home. The days can be matched to what you feel like but for us they consisted of getting up at the lark and setting off up the mountains or along the valley spotting game and getting back for an early bunch / breakfast. The middle of the day was spent lolling about but the pool, reading / chatting before and evening game drive and sunset drinks. wonderful - we stayed 5 nights but could have easily done 7. wonderful

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam F f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We hired Mount Camdeboo Manor House for a family holiday and had the property to ourselves which was fantastic. The bedrooms are large with lovely linen and small lounge with doors opening on to the most beautiful rose garden. The kitchen is staffed by a fantastic team of cooks and we were treated to the most delicious 5 star cuisine every day. I think we all came back a few kg's heavier.The large lounge and outside patio mean plenty of space for everyone and the kids were each given little colouring in books and crayons on arrival which is such a nice touch. Enjoyed the game drives but would have loved the opportunity to do more exercise/walking. Very hospitable couple that ensured our every needs were met. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caro h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I had one of the most restoring holidays earlier this year when I spent some time with friends at Mount Camdeboo.

It truly is a place of tranquility with unmatched hospitality! Creating an efficient 5 star bush experience in South Africa is not uncommon, however creating a 5 star experience with warm genuine hospitality, honoring its local community, is unique!

The terrain provides a diverse backdrop of shrub and plains vegetation...setting the scene for a variety of good game drives and Sundowner spots...always high on the priority list for a good bush holiday!

The accommodation is luxurious with beautiful and contextually appropriate decor. The lodge offers full-board and self-catering accommodation. I have stayed in both on separate occasion and have enjoyed both experiences immensely.

It really depends on the type of holiday you desiring as to which you choose. I must mention that you can still have a lovely "family" experience when requesting full board, as the manor house provides full board accommodation in a beautifully renovated farm house with a central lounge area, multiple outside areas and a boma for some evening meals. This contrasts the typical "hotel" feel which often guides families to choose self catering over full board options.

If you are looking for a more private romantic experience, there is a gorgeous little honey moon cottage separate from the main building. There is also enough space in the manor house to stay alongside other guests and have plenty of moments of quietness and space in the many outside area options and in the comfort of your own room.

Although there were no lions nor elephants on the farm, we have had close cheetah , buffalo and rhino sitings. The absence of malaria and the lodge's closer proximity to Cape Town than the alternative low veld equivalent bush experiences, are all advantages for a holiday for those in Cape Town with young children.

There is rich heritage and historical relevance associated with this farm. Game drives include interesting accounts of battles fought on the plains where game peacefully now graze.

The farm also has Eco tourism appeal and there is much to learn about game breeding projects and revegetation programs.

Whether it be a romantic getaway, a family holiday, or a fun adventure away with friends...and whether you are South African or an International traveller, I would recommend Mount Camdeboo in one of the top 5 experiences to have in South Africa!

Room Tip: On booking, describe your holiday needs and trust the hosts to place you accordingly. All rooms have...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twyksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
22.9 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samara Private Game Reserve
Samara Private Game Reserve
#2 of 15 in Graaff-Reinet
243 reviews
23.2 mi away
Somerset Stables
Somerset Stables
#1 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Camdeboo Cottages
Camdeboo Cottages
#3 of 15 in Graaff-Reinet
179 reviews
23.3 mi away
Stemar Self Catering Guest House
Stemar Self Catering Guest House
#20 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
14 reviews
23.0 mi away
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
#6 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve

Address: Petersberg Road, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range: £285 - £568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Cambedoo Private Game Reserve offers the discerning, yet authentic-seeking traveler a safari experience like no other. Eleven spacious double en-suite rooms. Each of the manors boasts a full-length swimming pool, and all the other modern cons. Game drives or walks are a must in this breathtakingly beautiful environment to view a wide range of African game with experienced guides. Interactive cheetah experiences in the wild are the highlight for many guests. Mount Camdeboo is the perfect destination for families, extended families and groups to visit for celebrations such as weddings, birthdays, reunions, meetings etc. Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve provides guests with the rare opportunity to simply relax and absorb the natural beauty in an untouched part of the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing