We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Camdeboo Private Game Reserve
Nearby Hotels
Drostdy Hotel(Graaff-Reinet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bethesda Tower(Nieu-Bethesda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Betty's Guesthouse(Graaff-Reinet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse(Graaff-Reinet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thyme and Again B&B(Graaff-Reinet)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
206
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanor househigh teagame reservehoneymoon cottageattention to detailout of this worldcape buffaloexperienced rangersstunning landscapehidden treasuredelicious foodwild cheetahwithin metresspecial placestar experiencesouth africaan amazing experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Mt Camdeboo is off the beaten track, so it is probably a lesser known destination but this place is definitely worth the trip. The game preserve is about 3 hours from Port Elizabeth and occupies about 14,000 acres. The accomodations are luxurious; suites with 4 post beds, sitting rooms opening out to the pool and garden and wi-fi access. Meals were presented by the chef each evening and on our last evening, we were surprised to be provided with a traditional bra'ai under the stars. The scenery and wildlife viewing was incredible, because of the size of the preserve, there is no feeling of being within the confines of an animal park, you are truly seeing the animals in a wild setting. Chelly & Tim were the consummate hosts. If we ever get back to S. Africa, we will be sure to visit Mt Camdeboo again

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lisabreuner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

It is a small intimate game lodge with the real Karoo feeling of the stoep and wide open spaces and sunsets that take you breath away. Fresh air, lovely people, delicious food, beautiful accommodation and wildlife to top it off.
Above all it is most reasonably priced in comparison with other South Africa private game lodges.
It is a hide-away and you get the Karoo dust under your skin and one wants to return.

There is a lot of history of the Anglo-Boer war here. The Camdeboo plains and mountains make this a unique experience and memories of a wonderful time gone by. I really enjoyed this experience and can recommend this for the people who take the road less travelled.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anneli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Only stayed one night here as part of a touring holiday but so wish I could have stayed at least another couple of days and nights. Everything about the place was fabulous - the rooms, the staff, the food, the location, the drive through the reserve with super friendly and knowledgeable guide. I've just got to go back one day - or rather ... Several days.
The only reason I haven't rated the Camdeboo on "value" is because I don't know how much our group paid. However, for the fabulous time we had there, I think I'd pay whatever they're asking.
Can't rate the spa as I didn't use it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlainBenEmmaSaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for an intimate, luxurious Karoo experience, this is the place. Considerate, caring staff, game aplenty, beautiful surroundings and wonderful accommodation and meals. Iain and his staff have created a little slice of heaven.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank reymei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

An amazing stay in luxury accommodation. Very friendly and efficient staff. Stunning views from all across the reserve and sunsets like I've never seen on the sundown drives accompanied by a relaxing drink. The game ranger was super friendly with impressive expertise, knowledge and insight which led to some really informative drives and game viewings that were totally unparalleled! Rhino, cheetah, buffalo, giraffe and more up close (less than 50m!) Fully recommend.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank paulbosss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews