We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Guest House in Graaff Reinet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buiten Verwagten Guest House
Ranked #7 of 38 Graaff-Reinet B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We only stayed 1 night in Buiten Vergwagten, but our experience was very good.
Peet and Cheré are hospitable hosts doing everything to let you feel comfortable.
We didn't use the swimming pool, but it looked very good.
A very nice place to sleep when visiting Graaf Reinet.
In the neighbourhood are some good restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cees O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

We have been staying at Buiten Verwagten for a number of years. We use this Guest House as a stop over on our way to or back from the coast. Peet and Chere, our hosts, are always on hand to personally greet us and care for our needs. After a long journey a swim in the pool or drinks around the braai are occasions to remember. For those looking for accommodation in Graaff Reineit - Buiten Verwagting is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ianblackburn1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed in this very nice guesthouse for two nights. A tastefull place with a great ambiance and an inviting pool area (with two few sun beds). Our room was clean an pretty - but small!
The guesthouse is very centrally located near good restaurants.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lars V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

What a pity this establishment doesn't state that children aren't welcome!

We spent the weekend in Graaff Reniet a gem of a town with so much to offer, and based ourselves at Buiten Verwagten Guest House for the purpose. The heritage building, swimming pool and air conditioning being draw cards.

It is a beautifully appointed establishment, with a lovely swimming pool the breakfast was fine too. However our hostess hovered around us incessantly making us feel uncomfortable, it seemed as if she was making sure my children didn't touch anything. She went so far as following them down the passage with a towel and wiping one or two drips from the floor that they had left when going to the room from the pool. The cherry on top however was when on Saturday evening at 6pm we were told to be quiet whilst swimming? It was past peoples rest time, and my kids were having a happy not overly loud swim before supper, after 10 min our hostess returned to tell us again to keep quiet. When we pointed out to her the time and the fact that they would be in bed before long, she told us to leave. This after having asked us to pay in advance as she would not be there the following morning!

Isn't it just simpler to state that children are not welcome instead of making people feel uncomfortable? sadly she colored our stay taking a bit of the joy away from what is truly a beautiful town.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buiten1, Owner at Buiten Verwagten Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Buiten Verwagten Guest House is a historical building (1840) with the original Oregon pine floors. The floors are treated to keep it in a good condition. Unfortunately it shows white marks when water is spilled on it. The hostess was drying splashes of water in the passage after the children came in from the pool with their wet swimwear.

On Saturday night, some of our other guests complained about the excessive noise at the pool, after which the hostess requested the guests at the pool to quiet down a bit. After that the noise was even louder.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

One of the most elegant and well positioned BnB's in town. Warm-hearted hosts, great food, lovely place to rest and breathe deeply! It's also very well positioned in one minute walking distance from two of the best restaurants in town.

Room Tip: Ask for the Victorian room - but no matter if it's not available! They're all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GuyLieberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Charming hosts, superb accommodations, great facilities, centrally situated and delicious(and varied) breakfasts.This is truly a wonderful surprise on the way to anywhere, or simply to itself. We spent two nights over the new year, the heat was blistering, and yet the pool and air conditioning ensured that we were relaxed and cool.Our trip was both business and pleasure, and both instances were catered to perfectly.
Highly recommended, and will definately be back for more.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be satisfactory in terms of positioning- we enjoyed the Victoria Room because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We were very happy with our choice to stay here. Very friendly owners, lovely pool area and garden. The guest house is in a great location and walking distance to restaurants around the corner. Highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JennaLee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Graaff-Reinet hotels
0.1 mi away
Drostdy Hotel
Drostdy Hotel
#1 of 1 in Graaff-Reinet
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rietjiesbos B&B
Rietjiesbos B&B
#4 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Somerset Stables
Somerset Stables
#1 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beau & I
Beau & I
#2 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse
Aa'Qtansisi Guesthouse
#5 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
202 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Whyte House
The Whyte House
#14 of 38 in Graaff-Reinet
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buiten Verwagten Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buiten Verwagten Guest House

Address: 58 Bourke Street, Graaff-Reinet 6280, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Graaff-Reinet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Graaff-Reinet
Price Range: £59 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buiten Verwagten Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Karoo Victorian-style home, in the shade of Jacaranda trees, was built in 1840 by a transport carrier and is now a national monument. Buiten Verwagten has a reputation of providing luxurious modern comfort. Peet and Cheré invite you to enjoy their heritage home set in a formal Victorian garden nestled in the heart of historical Graaff-Reinet. Together with two luxurious rooms in the main house, there are three self-catering garden suites, with air-conditioning, for those who value their privacy and independence. Buiten Verwagten has a reputation for excellent unobtrusive service, which includes a buffet breakfast. For added pleasure, there is a lapa at the main pool area where you can relax, enjoying the beautiful garden that surrounds this gracious house.For your peace of mind off-street parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Buiten Verwagten Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing