We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”
Review of Gordon's Restaurant - CLOSED

Gordon's Restaurant
Price range: US$0 - US$35
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

The meal was definitely flavourful and presented beautifully.

We had curried beet root soup, wildebeest venison and frangipani tart.
All ingredients are locally sourced and the venison was hunted and prepared by Gordon. He doesn't marinate his game so it can be quite "gamey" for some palates. I prefer my game to be marinated for a few hours, but this is my personal preference.

Service is excellent and Gordon is a wonderful host.

A few notes re: the below reviews: Gordon is not a chef which he openly admits, he is however a very enthusiastic and talented cook and as I mentioned above an excellent host. So expect good, flavourful, wholesome, home cooking, locally sourced, and you won't be disappointed.

Prices are a bit (even by Jhb standards) but the evening was worth it.

We will go back again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank impcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    10
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good marketing. High prices. Amateur dishes”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Being a former chef it is always nice to see others cook and presenting themselves. The way Gordon's promoting itself you can expect high school cooking.
What a dissapointment it is.
First course a pancake with fried mushrooms and tomatosauce and some piece of lollo rosso. I was surprised ans shocked this was presented as a meal in a restaurant.
Second course 3 really tiny pieces of lamb (which was well cooked) with some fried julliene vegetables and a bit of potatoe.
Desert was icecream with some sauce and 2 parts of orange.
No fantasy. No passion. No new things.
No assistence in choosing wine. And waitresses only are there to bring a plate or to get one. Then the door is closed so you better order a bottle.

Helpful?
7 Thank sujake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No response”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We had heard about Gordon's Restaurant from friends & tried to make a booking there on Saturday night 13 July. The phone went to answering mode where I heard a garbled message about being in the kitchen cooking fantastic food for customers. It asked me to leave a message, which I did & am still waiting to hear from them.
Very poor first impression & will not try again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlossPortElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leftywright, Owner at Gordon's Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you for your comment on our restaurant.

Unfortunately when you left your message, you left no contact details so we had no way of responding to your booking request or getting back to you.
This makes it very difficult for us to make a reservation or do anything. Though we do respect your right to make a comment about our service, we do however ask for a fair chance to deliver it.
By leaving us with no way of contacting you and then posting a negative comment on Trip Advisor based on this, there was no way that we could ever have met your expectations.

Regards,

Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhb
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I was really looking forward to a wonderful meal and was left sorely disappointed. The setting is lovely and the host very pleasant but the food itself was overpriced and a complete let down. We were told to expect European style cuisine - having come from Europe I know exactly what to expect - but using European style as an excuse for small portions is not acceptable!

We paid for a 4 course meal - one of the courses was an amuse-bouche! That cannot be counted as a course!!

Tiny portions, not great quality and overpriced.....not an experience I could recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank russellvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nay to the Naysayers”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food experience, with great food, brilliant service, innovative ideas and wonderful ingredients. Gordon is consummate host, and wonderfully engaging. Other reviewers fixated with cost with no regard for quality and locally-sourced high end ingredients should stick to fast food joints

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leftywright, Owner at Gordon's Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thanks for the lovely review, it's always great hearing from patrons who really "Get" what we are about. Three cheers for the "fast food" comment too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gordon's Restaurant also viewed

Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing