We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night of refreshing flavour”
Review of Polka

Polka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Pizza, Cafe
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A night of refreshing flavour”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Polka has achieved just the right balance between traditional South African cuisine and warmth and the style and lightness of modern taste and design.
To start my wife and I shared an interesting garden salad while the kids did the same with tasty fish cakes. I savoured a fine land shank slow cooked in red wine and the rest of my family opted for the fish of the day. While they enjoyable the fish it was unfortunately over-cooked.
The service and atmosphere was friendly and relaxed.
We would happily visit again.

Helpful?
Thank JakesAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    247
    55
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good service and a beautiful garden”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We enjoyed having dinner in the garden. We liked the lamps on the table, we could buy them! Dinner was nice and the service was very good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Pretty courtyard setting”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We strolled over to Polka from our little guest house and they kindly accommodated us despite being fully booked for the evening. The decor has a french country feel and the courtyard was very pretty and filled with lovely arty flair, artisanal breads, olives and chocolates. The food was slow to arrive but we enjoyed a good steak, the best lamb shank ever, and delicious pizzas. Children are welcome and long slow evenings are encouraged.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PurchaseCircus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mojito not a mojito but chocolate cake”
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Wow the nicest moistest chocolate cake I've ever had! Def order the one on the table so yummy! However do NOT order the mojito it was not close to being a mojito def not worth money spend on it took one sip and left it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graaff-Reinet, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best in Graaff Reinet”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We are lucky enough to live in Graaff Reinet, Eastern Cape. Polka is simply the best in town. All dishes are tasty and presented with flair. Deserts and cakes are scrumptious and the variety of sweets and chocolates are a huge temptation. Homemade ciabatta is a real treat. After a yummy meal, pop in next door to the windmill where you are sure to find just the right gift. The owner, Hestie, is always so welcoming and obliging. The decor is fun and trendy. Don't miss out when passing thought town, although make sure it is not on a Sunday as this is their day of rest.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 633pennys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Polka also viewed

Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 
Graaff-Reinet, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Polka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing