We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had an amazing time here. We were staying at the manor house and had a gorgeous room, the whole house would be amazing to book with friends as it has lovely lounge area, kitchen, bbq etc. It was amazing to have rhinos grazing a few feet away from your veranda. We rode elephants which was great if slightly uncomfortable! We did the walk with lions which was unforgettable, a once in a lifetime experience. The game drives are great, so many unusual breeds there. It's not a cheap place but it's worth it. The food was fantastic every night. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Lucy

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of your stay at Botlierskop.
The Manor house is quite known for sightings of Rhino's as most of the rooms overlooks the plains of Botlierskop. It is a stunning sight. The saddles that we use for the Elephant back rides is specially designed for the elephants to ensure a comfortable and easy ride for them and is not always that comfortable for the guests. We are mainly doing 30 min rides which is fine on the saddles and I guess part of the experience.
Well we cannot wait to welcome you back on your next visit.
Take care
Botlierskop Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    174
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
291
661
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great ambiance ( the mountainous and bush setting, pool, deck and vistas, dining room with huge fireplaces) Excellent service ( staff carrying luggage, collecting one in golf carts from rooms to main lodge, one's own guide ) Luxurious and stunning tented rooms ( yet keeping the out-of- Africa feel): huge, ultra comfortable heated beds, four poster canopy with mosquito net, air-conditioning, free standing, modern Victorian bath and outdoor showers - his and hers- double basins and robes, slippers, coffee, tea, rusks, sherry, fruit, bottled water, all on the house. Dinner was lovely and breakfast was outstanding: a great variety of dishes and freshly prepared to one's taste. Our game guide gave outstanding service, was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to find all the animals, especially since we had overseas visitors who had never seen these in the wild. The walk with the lions was also an extraordinary experience.

Room Tip: Secluded room ( tent) overlooking the river.( I think room #9) Comfortable chairs on our own private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleinciel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Kleinciel

Thank you for sharing you experience and really glad we exceeded your expectations - we do believe this is the best way to do things. Well we are busy with upgrades and would love to have you back for more wow's. Major renovations are taking place and we are opening again on the 27th of June. We are looking forward to your next visit

Kind Regards
Botlierskop Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed only one night, but had a breathtaking time. They have a staggering amount of game in a fine setting. Our game drive was perfect, with an archtypical Afrikaaner guide who clearly loved the animals and knew well how to find them.

Accommodations are superb, somehow retaining a sense of the wild, even while providing what amounts to every luxury. Food and service tops.

Room Tip: We thought the rooms close to the river were more secluded, although perhaps not the view of others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schwanewede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Schwanewede

Thank you so much for your feedback and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us
I will also inform the staff about your experience and glad we could all contribute to your rare experience. Looking forward welcoming you back soon...

Regards
Botlierskop Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loerzweiler, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed for three nigths in the Game Reserve and enjoyed it very much! They offer a lot of activities like walking with lions, horse back riding, elephant rides, relaxing on the pool or you can enjoy a wonderful massage. We stayed in a very nice luxury tent and the outdoor shower was always refreshing:-) My favorite was walking with the lions - I will never forget this great experience!!! The team was always very helpful, very friendly and the landscape is incredible!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Susanne

Thank you for your comment and so glad you enjoyed our various activities. It was our pleasure to assist and attend to your needs. We are looking forward to your next visit in the near future.

Kind Regards
Botlierskop Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

After reading reviews on various game reserves we opted for Botlierskop as it offered activities like walking with lions which we felt would be an unforgettable experience. And it was exactly that. Unforgettable, magical and out of this world. We stayed here for two nights in a luxury tent by the river, and the place was just brilliant. If you love nature, wildlife and romance, you will love this place. The night in the tent was absolutely wonderful as we were in darkness listening to all the lovely sounds around us. The tent had an outdoor shower, and was stocked with tea, coffee, and also some biscuits. We could only get to our tent by moving across the river in a wooden raft that we had to steer which was tremendous fun. The safaris itself was good and you get to see the big 5 (except the leopard). The infinity pool was amazing as you feel you are at the edge of a mountain and have far reaching views of the stunning landscape and surroundings in all its glory. Dinner was surprisingly good as you get to try all the exotic meats. Overall a great place to stay and relax!

The walk with the lions is a must, as an activity. You will not regret it!

Room Tip: Get a tent across the river as a special treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Meg

Great to hear about your about your magical experience and that we could be part of this. The Walking with Lions is magic. Glad we could share this special place with you and are looking forward hosting you again.

Kind Regards
Botlierskop Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here with our three children (6, 4 and 2) for two nights. It really was one of the best stays we have had as a family. Peaceful, luxurious and truly a place where you can recharge your batteries. The staff were super-attentive and accommodating of the children, despite their young ages. Our guide, Marku, was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to make sure our stay was perfect, even watching the children himself (surely beyond the call of duty?!) for an hour or two after he couldn't get a babysitter at short notice for my husband and I to do the cat walk with lions. We ate away from the main restaurant, having our own private chef at the Manor House, making for a far less stressful experience for us, and I am sure, the other guests without small children. As our family is too young for a National Park experience, Botlierskop gave us the opportunity to experience something of a game reserve and see a plethora of animals close-up on the game drives we did. Our children were captivated- a truly magical stay which prompted me to write my first ever review on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosiejR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

General:

This was the highlight of my 9 night holiday in South Africa and something I had been looking forward to since I first found it recommended in the Lonely Planet Guide to Cape Town/the Garden Route; I was not disappointed.

We stayed 2 nights 12 to 14 Apr 14 booked direct with Botlierskop on the internet on a half board basis which included a game drive on each day.

On arrival at the game reserve, which is easy to find from the N2 (just follow the signs), our car was met by our allocated game guide for our stay. He arranged for our luggage to be taken to the room (tent) whilst he transported us to reception in a golf buggy.

An unrushed check in was conducted on the veranda of the game lodge accompanied by a complimentary drink/nibbles whilst the guide explained the timings of the activities for our stay. We had two game drives booked and were given the opportunity to swop (free of charge) one of them to a horse back trek; I declined, horses and I do not get on. Also I thought that two game drives (at different times of day) gave us a better chance of seeing more animals; which turned out to be correct. We selected an optional extra of walking with lions (see activities below).

Room

We stayed in a luxury tented suite which was great fun definitely glamping not camping. The Tented suite, overlooked the river, was 2 mins by golf buggy from the main lodge or a 5 min walk. Air conditioned, it had a canopied double bed, with electric blanket, complimentary sherry, a bathroom with standalone bath, twin sinks and an outside double shower in an extension off the main bathroom.

The room had its own private veranda with loungers and chairs. It was private and you couldn’t see another tent from the balcony. It was lovely and tranquil with only the noises of wildlife to be heard, including one night monkeys running across the veranda !

There was a turn down service whilst you were at dinner which lowered the tent blinds, placed complimentary water at the bedside and turned on the electric blanket.

Location

The Botlierskop Private Game Reserve is really handy for the N2. When driving from Cape Town I chose to stop off for a night on route (in Swellendam) but I think the drive from Cape Town could be done in day if necessary.


Service

Service throughout was really good with informative game guides and friendly staff.

Activities

The half board package booked direct with Botlierskop Private Game Reserve included a game drive on each day of our stay and in addition we locally purchased a walking with lions activity.

Walking With Lions – This was a walk and interaction with two lions that had been reared from cubs at the reserve. The walk started (0700 hrs) with a 20 min drive across the estate to meet up with the lions and then a 45 min walk with a Game Guide, four lion guides and “two lions”. An experience of a life time, which included actually stroking the lions and certainly the first time I had signed an indemnity waiver against being eaten by a lion; so far no recorded cases I am reliably informed.

Game Drives – One at 1500 hrs on the first day and one at 0630 hrs on the second day. Each game drive lasted 3 hours and takes place in an open truck (see picture). On the first day there were just the two of us and on the second day, two additional couples. The game drives were fascinating as the guide talked about the animals we encountered and there were plenty of opportunities to get photographs. At the half way point in the drive, we stopped for a complimentary drink (the afternoon game drive) or morning coffee (the morning game drive). A mini picnic whilst watching the animals.

Facilities

Botlierskop Private Game Reserve has a fabulous infinity pool over looking the valley. There are sun loungers and chairs around the pool but not enough for everyone unfortunately. The infinity pool was a welcome relief from the heat.

Wifi

Wifi was available in the main lodge but not tents.


Food/Restaurant

Each room is allocated its own table for the duration of your stay so there is no requirement to hunt one down for each meal. Dinner was a fixed 5 course menu; with your main course being cooked to order from the buffet with all sorts of meats available (I recall crocodile, ostrich – there were several others). Finishing with coffee taken around the fire inside, or the fire pit outside on the veranda. I really enjoyed dinner and the wine/drinks were reasonably priced (exchange rate 18 RAND to the UK Pound).

Breakfast had an extensive buffet along with items cooked to order. Complimentary sparking wine was available – always starts the day off well !

Room Tip: Treat your self to a tented suite - they are great fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catttto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
10.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
8.8 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
340 reviews
13.6 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 34 in Mossel Bay
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
#7 of 34 in Mossel Bay
226 reviews
22.2 mi away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 34 in Mossel Bay
90 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bush Villas Botlierskop
Bush Villas Botlierskop
#1 of 6 in Great Brak River
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botlierskop Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botlierskop Private Game Reserve

Property: Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
Address: Botlierskop Reserve, Mossel Bay, Gonnakraal near Little Brak River, Mossel Bay 6053, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Botlierskop Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between Mossel Bay and George, Botlierskop Private Game reserve offers a great diversity of wildlife with more that 26 different animal species and over 200 bird species. Botlierskop reserve is stretching over 3500 ha of mountains and grasslands. Overnight in luxury tented suites situated close to the river. Each of the 17 air-conditioned luxury-tented suites at Botlierskop is elegantly decorated in a romantic colonial theme with 4-poster beds draped with mosquito nets. The en-suite bathrooms are lavishly equipped with deep baths and an outdoor bush shower with stunning views. The Manor house on the reserve has 7 rooms with views over the plains and good game viewing opportunities. Some rooms has baths and showers some only showers. Activities offered includes, guided game drives, horse back safaris, bush walks and spa treatments. Game includes lions, elephants, buffalo's, rhino'giraffes, black impala, zebra and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Botlierskop Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing