We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Botlierskop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Botlierskop Private Game Reserve

Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
Ranked #1 of 14 Tours in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Botlierskop offers various activities: Guided game drives: Experience close encounters with Rhinoceros, Lion, Buffalo, Giraffe, rare Black Impala and many more species. Horseback Safari to the majestic mountain valleys. Elephant back ride: Experience the real African thrill on elephant back. Spa treatments: we offer various treatments including African massages. Bush walk: guide tour on foot through the reserve to spot the smaller things.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Botlierskop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Situated between the magnificent Outeniqua Mountains and unspoiled beaches of the Indian ocean, in the heart of the Garden Route, the 3000 ha Botlierskop Private Game Reserve in the Western Cape ensures its visitors of a unique South African Safari experience. Our Safari Park is only a 4.5-hour scenic drive from Cape Town, the Mother City of South Africa, this malaria free, family owned and privately operated garden route game lodge is home to an abundance of animal and birdlife including 4 of the Big 5.

Please do yourself and family a favour and arrange a day or two at Botlierskop, next time you come to Garden Route. Experience the best Game Viewing, Spa Treatments, Elephant Back Rides and Horseback Safaris. Sleepover in unique Luxury Tents, Or visist as a Day visitor and visit the fabulous African style restaurant. The staff are friendly , we had an unforgettable day. Botlierskop is near Mossel Bay, We saw a a great diversity of wildlife as day-visitors. Next time I will boo the Luxury, en-suite Safari tents on wooden decks beside the riverbanks. Don't expect Kruger game park, it is much smaller and some of the animals are in fenced off camps.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    66
    16
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“No wildlife at all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The worst "safari" experience ever. To call it safari is a bad joke. If I want to see animals like in the zoo, I don't need to go to Africa. Very commercial private reserve. Can't recommend Botlierskop!

Helpful?
Thank Jonas Georg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francina T, General Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Jonas

Botlierskop is located in the Garden Route Western Cape and we offer a variety of activities on site including guided game drives. We clearly state in our marketing materials that we are 4 of the Big 5 (leopard is in and out the fences so you do not see them) and that the lions is in a enclosure but you drive into the large enclosure (30 ha) and that we offer elephant back rides as well. The rest of the animlas is free roaming on the 3500 ha fynbos reserve. Botlierksop is not Kruger park or the Serengeti - we will never be, and market the reserve as an alternative if guests are in Cape Town or the Garden Route but do not have time to go the bigger parks. Botlierskop is the alternative to experience wildlife on smaller scale. That said, we are one of the reserves in the Garden route with the most animals and have a group of 48 buffalo's which quite amaizing and one of the largest groups in the Western Cape. Our other animals include Giraffs, Rhino's Rare Black Impala, Golden Wildebeest, Blue Wildebeest, Cape Mountain Zebra, Eland, Kudu, and many more species. (and of course the lions and elephants) The elephants are a group of 4 and not as large a group as in Kruger park. In total we have just under 1800 animals on the reserve. I am not sure if you might have been on a drive where they did not see many animals due to weather? With free roaming animals it is always difficult to garuantee any sightings although we do have a very good track record of sightings. I am sorry that you felt dissapointed and really whiched that you had made mentioning about this when you where here so that we could have assisted. Kind Regards Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Elephant Feeding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We were a family of 4 and fed the elephants with another family of 2. There were 3 elephants, and we fed each elephant a bucket of apples. We all took turns to feed the large bull elephant and then the young male elephant (4yrs). The rangers fed the female elephant to the side, as she was protective of the young one.
While this is very commercial, we could take many photos of the elephants approaching the feeding platform and more family snaps when feeding the elephants. It was a nice experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilderness, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing horseback safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We did the 1 hour safari and absolutely loved it. We saw rhinos, elephants, kudu, zebra etc.
Well worth the money!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“maybe im biased”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

the elephant rides cost about 9000 rand, and it was short and silly, a lap around a big empty field. Though it was my first elephant ride ever, I didnt think it was memorable. The saddles were uncomfortable and my boyfriend walked away with pretty bad chafing and skin abrasions from the ill fitting seats. Before you think I'm a ranting psycho, we also went to Knysna Elephant Park and had a ball of a time there with the elephants and their rides.
As the guest rooms were full, we couldnt have had the full guest treatment to view its other attractions, I'm sure it would have made my review better otherwise. Quite a shame, but I hope the management will consider upping their game, at least for the elephant aspect.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Happyhippofoodie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francina T, Manager at Botlierskop Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear reviewer

Thanks for your comments but just to correct you the cost is R450 per ride and we do offer guests to option of doing a 30 min ride or an 1 hour ride. The one hour rides is through the forest and probably what you were looking for and the price is a bit higher for this. With regards to the saddles - the saddles are designed and aproved by nature conservation so all properties are supose to use them. The saddles ensure 100% comfort for the elephants and a easy wear so unfortunately it is not a 100% comfortable for the humans riding them (hence the advise for 30 min rides) but our mission is to look after our elephants and ensure their well begin. (saddles is unfortunately in favour of the elephants) All other parks might not use these saddles and would probably be asked to use them very soon.

Hope this helps
Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Botlierskop Private Game Reserve also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Botlierskop Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing