We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mossel Bay Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mossel Bay Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Loved staying here for two nights
Clean and looks very cosy
The outdoor looks lovely along with a clean swimming pool.
A very chilled and relaxing place to stay
Breakfast is R40
Bar open till 10pm
8 people to a dorm
Kitchen available to all guests
Would highly recommend

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DaneandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    55
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
57
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Given the prices, this is one of the best backpackers I have stayed at while touring S. Africa. They are located, conveniently, at the end of the main street in sleepy Mossel Bay. There is enough street parking for cars, but no secure parking by the business - so Im taking away a star for that. Safety didnt seem to be an issue though. Decor-wise, it was extremely beachy/ nautical - very nicely done and the place had great sunlight and breezes throughout. The staff (especially the manager guy) were extremely friendly and fun to deal with. They charge a R100 key deposit - which is refunded in full at check out. We stayed in the dorm style rooms - and had one communal bathroom. Ive stayed in places that had 2-3 common bathrooms. However, there wasnt an instance when the bathroom was occupied when I needed it. Very cute pool area - and also a mini bar to purchase drinks from. One of the cutest backpakers Ive stayed at - and would very highly recommend!

Room Tip: Dorm style rooms, although lacking in privacy, are a great way to save money - especially if you wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

I stayed in a twin room at Mossel Bay Backpackers after Santos Express (where I'd actually booked) had overbooked and re-booked me in here. It was a very quiet night when I was there. The guy on reception (sorry I didn't catch his name!) was really friendly and very helpful - he really set a good tone about the place. When we were there, the pool was being cleaned, but that was ok because it was late when we arrived and were leaving early next morning. The room was comfortable - the beds were more what you expect in a hotel rather than a hostel. The communal bathroom was never too busy (but the hostel seemed half empty) but it did have a lot of water all over the floor when I went in there. Overall, a pretty decent hostel in a nice town. But not the place to go if you want vibe and atmosphere

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spitze1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

Only stayed for one night but the facilities were kept very clean, the staff was very friendly and informative, and the hostel itself was in a great location. They have a pool table and brochures for just about everything you can do on the Garden Route. There is not a lot to do in the town but at night we walked to a pretty cool Cuban bar down the street.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Got upgraded to a private room when we arrived which was a bonus; lovely room very comfy beds. The dorms looked pretty good as well. Bathrooms were really clean and the kitchen was well equipped. Staff were nice and the location was good for heading to The Point. Mossel Bay itself however is quiet and one night was definitely enough. Beautiful place though :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaRai_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

The hostel is located pretty close to everything you'd want in Mossel Bay - close to the point (ocean views, food, spectacular lighthouse) and town (there are a few good cafes within a few blocks). This was the best part of the place.
The actual hostel though is a bit loud (the walls seem quite thin). And our room smelled like urine - it was clean, but there must be some sewage pipe or something close by making the stay somewhat unpleasent. We were also disappointed that the off street parking was only for guesthouse customers and not for the backpackers.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We went to Mossel Bay in the winter so it was a little bit of a sleepy town. However, Mossel Bay Backpackers has a extensive list of activities you can do while staying in the area. The great thing is, the staff has done all of the activities. It isn't a guess on what you are going to experience, they know first hand!

Location -

Mossel Bay is pretty small. But the backpackers is really close to the point (five minute walk). A grocery store is about a 7 minute walk away and their are several pubs in the immediate area as well.

Staff -

Staff is very chill! Really helpful with anything you need to know and always there to great you with a smile.

Cleanliness -

The hostel is really clean by hostel standards. The blankets aren't old and worn out, the common areas are kept clean, and the showers/bathroom are clean as well.

The only down side was the hot water was hit and miss. The hostel was pretty much completely full so I think this may have contributed. If you showered outside the morning hours of 8 - 930, you would catch some hot water.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Gospel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.2 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
18.3 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
#6 of 30 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mossel Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mossel Bay Backpackers

Property: Mossel Bay Backpackers
Address: 1 Marsh Street, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aaah, The Bay of Diamonds. So called for the sea that shines night and day, this bay is so scenic you won't be able to close your eyes at night. But if you do, come try our vibrantly upgraded backpackers! Run by two brothers raised in this very backpackers, we know what it’s about, whether sea salt, tequila or an adrenaline shot, you'll get your fix here.Mossel Bay Backpackers proudly offers the best of a 3rd World country:Situated next to one of SA’s most consistent surf spots, so GET WET!Cooking with a view! We have stylin’ Sea view self service kitchen,In-house restaurant serving home cooking or traditional meals and braais from our fancy Chef, come hungry and settle in around the fire with local live musicians.So your mother is gravely worried about her Precious Flower in wild Africa, well keep in touch via FREE wifi and PC facilities. Loads of advice on everything from surf tides to girl hides.Pool table, foosball and fully functional sleepers bar, like uh.. Fully bru.Ensuite doubles overlooking the swimming pool.Please book in advance, so we can organise you nice weather! Much love.. Management x ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mossel Bay Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing