We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mossel Bay Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Average stay for one night”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Mossel Bay is quiet and this accommodation was a bit run down and dated. We (a couple) stayed in a double en-suite. The staff were really friendly and it was pretty relaxed, but here are a few things to note.

For 390 ZAR, we had the following:

-Old rickety bed (squeaked loudly every time you moved in bed - even an inch - hard to fall asleep)
-Light was out when we arrived (however, they immediately replaced the bulb)
-Noisy, construction going on right near our window with the building of a lodge
-Old bathroom with dead cockroach
-Internet very slow in room, but excellent in main part.
-No breakfast

Would I stay here again? No. Could it be good for a young backpacker who doesn't care about cleanliness and all the above? Yes.

Again, staff were nice - super relaxed - but the accommodation was just average (we've stayed in nicer for the same price or cheaper)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeys4thesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinie777, Owner at Mossel Bay Backpackers, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Why hello 1foreigner!
Firstly, I do apologize about the noise and building in the morning! We had to pick a time to vibrantly upgrade ASAP and you must have hit it spot on this time :-/ Please please, if you ever come this way again do pop in again for a free night or two, as I would love to show you our real side and what we are. All our rooms are super now and thanks to your review and some thought put into the new parts, our new beds are bolted to the walls... :-) no more squeakiness.
We do cater for a younger backpacker wild spirited market, however we take pride in listening to all our guests and making sure your stay is just... perfectly homy.
Safe travels!!
ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    57
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
59
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Staff is great rooms are clean u can hang at the pool or play some pool... Price value is fantastic and there is lots to do in Mossel Bay, like shark cage diving, skydiving, u can even become a skydiver there for a very good price. Heini and Gerry are the best keep it up guys.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank packal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinie777, Owner at Mossel Bay Backpackers, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Patrick!!
How are you man!?? Thanks for the review. You were indeed our favorite guest and more so friend this whole year!
Much love man!! don't break a leg! hahaa
Heinie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this backpackers for only one night. The backpackers is runned by surfdudes. They have been really nice and helpful. There is free wifi available and the place is very nice located between the beach and the restaurants and bars. You can do a lot of activities and the backpackers is happy to arrange them for you. Mosselbay is very quiet during the week, it might be better to go sometime in the weekends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdam90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I stayed at mossel bay backpackers a few weeks ago. I turned up around 1pm and also let them know I wanted to do a skydive. They said perfect, I could go do it that afternoon! I thought I'd at least have overnight to lose sleep over it but actually better to go straightaway. There was another guest also diving that day and a few of us ended up having drinks on the veranda in the eve. Back at the hostel. Really lovely atmosphere (nothing crazy, just chilled) and great social way to meet the other guests.

I was in a 4 bed dorm which was fine, I slept well. Nearby there are places to surf and a few cafes, shops not far away to stock up on groceries. There is on-street parking just next to the hostel. There is a swimming pool and lovely garden area for relaxing. The outdoor furniture is really quirky and adds character to this special place.

Nice chilled place, staff/owners are really lovely people and full of helpful advice (and happy to repeat directions for the map-ily challenged le me!).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bedex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinie777, Owner at Mossel Bay Backpackers, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Hi there Sarah??
Thanks for the sweet review :-)
That indeed was a fun day and I am glad you quickly mustered up the courage to go jump out of plane with Hein, one crazy instructor! hahaa Do come again sometime
Much Love
Heinie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Loved staying here for two nights
Clean and looks very cosy
The outdoor looks lovely along with a clean swimming pool.
A very chilled and relaxing place to stay
Breakfast is R40
Bar open till 10pm
8 people to a dorm
Kitchen available to all guests
Would highly recommend

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DaneandKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Given the prices, this is one of the best backpackers I have stayed at while touring S. Africa. They are located, conveniently, at the end of the main street in sleepy Mossel Bay. There is enough street parking for cars, but no secure parking by the business - so Im taking away a star for that. Safety didnt seem to be an issue though. Decor-wise, it was extremely beachy/ nautical - very nicely done and the place had great sunlight and breezes throughout. The staff (especially the manager guy) were extremely friendly and fun to deal with. They charge a R100 key deposit - which is refunded in full at check out. We stayed in the dorm style rooms - and had one communal bathroom. Ive stayed in places that had 2-3 common bathrooms. However, there wasnt an instance when the bathroom was occupied when I needed it. Very cute pool area - and also a mini bar to purchase drinks from. One of the cutest backpakers Ive stayed at - and would very highly recommend!

Room Tip: Dorm style rooms, although lacking in privacy, are a great way to save money - especially if you wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I stayed in a twin room at Mossel Bay Backpackers after Santos Express (where I'd actually booked) had overbooked and re-booked me in here. It was a very quiet night when I was there. The guy on reception (sorry I didn't catch his name!) was really friendly and very helpful - he really set a good tone about the place. When we were there, the pool was being cleaned, but that was ok because it was late when we arrived and were leaving early next morning. The room was comfortable - the beds were more what you expect in a hotel rather than a hostel. The communal bathroom was never too busy (but the hostel seemed half empty) but it did have a lot of water all over the floor when I went in there. Overall, a pretty decent hostel in a nice town. But not the place to go if you want vibe and atmosphere

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spitze1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
509 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.6 mi away
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
#6 of 34 in Mossel Bay
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Santos Express
Santos Express
#10 of 53 in Mossel Bay
378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#3 of 53 in Mossel Bay
260 reviews
1.0 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 53 in Mossel Bay
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mossel Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mossel Bay Backpackers

Property: Mossel Bay Backpackers
Address: 1 Marsh Street, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aaah, The Bay of Diamonds. So called for the sea that shines night and day, this bay is so scenic you won't be able to close your eyes at night. But if you do, come try our vibrantly upgraded backpackers! Run by two brothers raised in this very backpackers, we know what it’s about, whether sea salt, tequila or an adrenaline shot, you'll get your fix here.Mossel Bay Backpackers proudly offers the best of a 3rd World country:Situated next to one of SA’s most consistent surf spots, so GET WET!Cooking with a view! We have stylin’ Sea view self service kitchen,In-house restaurant serving home cooking or traditional meals and braais from our fancy Chef, come hungry and settle in around the fire with local live musicians.So your mother is gravely worried about her Precious Flower in wild Africa, well keep in touch via FREE wifi and PC facilities. Loads of advice on everything from surf tides to girl hides.Pool table, foosball and fully functional sleepers bar, like uh.. Fully bru.Ensuite doubles overlooking the swimming pool.Please book in advance, so we can organise you nice weather! Much love.. Management x ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mossel Bay Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing