We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mossel Bay Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mossel Bay Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Ranst
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The perfect place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

At backpackers Mossel bay you experience fast, friendly and correct service!
They got a lot off rooms and attrack nice young people.
It's located close to a good surfspot and a few good bars / restaurants.
The rooms are basics backbacker rooms but perfect!
They got a own bar and chill out area with table soccer, a pool, fire place and lots more!
Try the shooters (I recommand the "Kakpot")!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrie B, Manager at Mossel Bay Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
AAH:)

Thanks so much fellow traveler for taking the time to review us.

Many thanks and best wishes
With love
Mossel bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    55
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
56
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I was shocked by this place. The staff was great, the place was beautiful, the rooms were clean and very nice with beautiful views. The pool area is beautiful and it has an awesome bar and fire pit area. I will defiantly be coming back here! And only a short walk from restaurants and the beach!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aacesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Mossel Bay Backpackers exceeded our expectations ten fold. This place consists of what appears to be 2 premises that had the walls taken down and combined to create one stunning modern establishment. There is a massive kitchen area with balcony (sea view) where one can prepare food and eat. Recreation area indoors and outdoors with bar, pool table and foosball.

The dorm we stayed in had an en-suite bathroom and slept 6. They also have private rooms available as well as regular dorms with communal bathrooms. The staff were awesome and you can book any of the countless activities around the area directly from them. And not to mention the free wifi was great.

I believe the private room guests can park vehicles inside the premises whereas dorm guests park outside. However the location appeared very safe and we had no issues with our vehicle parked in the street. This backpackers is centrally located with everything you may need within walking distance.

I will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

What a striking place for back packers. This venue is also a B & B which we have stayed at many times. Excellent B & B. The kitchen for the back packers is a dream, the dorm's and private rooms are all you need, the swimming pool is a treat and over and above this they also offer an adventure outing. This is such a great conseption, what's more it is just a step away from the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonPuchert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heinie777, General Manager at Mossel Bay Backpackers, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Hiya Jettnova!
So glad you enjoyed your stay in MBay! You hit us in the quieter time of the season, but it seems that you made great use of your time! Happy travels, love & light friend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were so pleasantly surprised by Mossel Bay Backpacker. We stayed in a double room with ensuite which was clean, tidy and was one of the best budget accommodation we stayed in during out time in South Africa. The staff were really friendly, welcoming and helpful. Location was good. Loved the swimming pool and felt more like we were in a really comfortable hotel for a very reasonable price. Great stay, awesome breakkie!
Keep up the good work and a big thank you for a great stay - just wish it was longer!

Room Tip: Try the omelette at Breakfast - yummy! Also if you get a chance pop over the road to Route 57 for d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jettnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ness Ziona, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

They have dorms and privet rooms. I stayed in a privet room which was amazing! Comfortable, clean wither access to the pool. They have a bar and information place and its close to the beach and its on the main road so it's also close to bars and restaurants..
I enjoyed it very much and recommend to all! Young, old, honeymoon....

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karin_pri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Great facilities. Lots of places to chill...little pool with loungers, bar area with outdoor benches, little sandy area with sofas..gorgeous!! Kitchen was well equipped and good place to meet people.

Staff were really friendly and helpful. There was a breakfast with a few choices of hot and cold dishes...cheap and tastey.

We had a private twin with shared bathroom..comfy bed.
Wish I could have stayed longer!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.2 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
18.3 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
#6 of 30 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mossel Bay Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mossel Bay Backpackers

Property: Mossel Bay Backpackers
Address: 1 Marsh Street, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aaah, The Bay of Diamonds. So called for the sea that shines night and day, this bay is so scenic you won't be able to close your eyes at night. But if you do, come try our vibrantly upgraded backpackers! Run by two brothers raised in this very backpackers, we know what it’s about, whether sea salt, tequila or an adrenaline shot, you'll get your fix here.Mossel Bay Backpackers proudly offers the best of a 3rd World country:Situated next to one of SA’s most consistent surf spots, so GET WET!Cooking with a view! We have stylin’ Sea view self service kitchen,In-house restaurant serving home cooking or traditional meals and braais from our fancy Chef, come hungry and settle in around the fire with local live musicians.So your mother is gravely worried about her Precious Flower in wild Africa, well keep in touch via FREE wifi and PC facilities. Loads of advice on everything from surf tides to girl hides.Pool table, foosball and fully functional sleepers bar, like uh.. Fully bru.Ensuite doubles overlooking the swimming pool.Please book in advance, so we can organise you nice weather! Much love.. Management x ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Mossel Bay Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing