We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Point Village Guesthouse & Holiday Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Delien
Thank you so much for the warm welcome , always good to see friendly people in a beautiful set-up. The Penthouse ..wow . great views , clean and comfort.
Walking distance to a few good restaurants,
Having drinks from the lovely balcony in the Penthouse . what a great way to end a holiday .
Delien , thank you once again . Looking forward to see you again

Room Tip: The Penthouse ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were on our way back from East London to Cape Town and needed a place to stay over.....Mossel Bay made the most sense. We phoned the Point Village Hotel and they recommended cottage #8 in the self-catering village. What an absolutely wonderful surprise to find ourselves booked into the most stunning cottage with 4 bedrooms (two with double beds and 2 with double bunks). The cottage was spotless and furnished very tastefully, throwing in the old with the new. The kitchen is very modern. Plenty of light and a lookout point above the cottage.
My only regret was that we were there for only one night!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My husband and I had our first holiday together here in 2006 and loved it so when we came back this way we had to stay. Delien gave us a very friendly welcome and we felt right at home. When we were booking she kibdly told us that one night we were going to book was a biker weekend in mossel bay. We have nothing against bikers but with a rally the town wouls have been very busy so we decided to have only one night as other commotments meant we couldn't stay longer. We had room 5 which was lovely and clean with a fab view over to the sea. Good wifi. Decent shower. We got vouchers for a local restaurant for breakfast. We won't forget Delien's hospitity

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sazzer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We only stayed 1 night....our mistake,a brilliant place to stay.Met by the enthusiastic owner who gave us a bottle of wine and enthused about the area and places to visit further afield.He is a true star.Would have loved to spend an evening in his company.We had a first floor room with balcony/sea view and all the usual expected facilities....room 4 I think.Good fish meal at Kingfisher restaurant just round the corner.Go for it,you will not be disappointed.If ever nearby again we would book this place.

Room Tip: 1st floor with balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROSS3076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

All rooms are of different type and size the room in which i stayed was in side building room No 1, one of the best room out of all.
The interiors and the lobby place is fantastic.
The problem is for food you have to go outside as no food in guesthouse but plenty restaurants located nearby and they provide breakfast coupens for dolfinoes restaurant.
And the internat signal is very poor you have to stay in lobby for internat no signal in room.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Marinerprvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The passion of management and staff for the environment and their business was evident upon arrival. Who can blame them with magnificent accommodation in such a beautiful setting.

We were warmly welcomed by the owner offering his knowledge and input after ascertaining our needs for the couple of days we had set aside to discover the area. We could make informed decisions on activities which suited our lifestyle. Although we had preconceived plans and ideas the local knowledge enhanced our stay and experience of the area as there are so many things to do and chose from.

We would recommend the total experience of accommodation, knowledge and passion for one of the most enticing visits we have had.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Point village guest house 

I booked  Point village guest house for an overnight stay while doing the garden route and was not really sure what to expect judging from the website...

What we got on arrival was a warm and very friendly welcome from Delien the afrikaans manager who couldent of been more accommodating or helpfull. We were given the honeymoon room (it was not been used so we got a little upgrade)   which was thoughtful of her. The room , number 8 is on the top of the building and has glass sliding doors on two of its sides giving a open light and airy feel to make the most of its lovely sea views over the house tops.

There was a lovely feature bath in the middle of the room and unusually a toilet in the corner but we did not have an issue with this. I was sent out to the balcony when nature called which was a very nice place to be and did not inconvenience us at all. I could see some people having issues with this but it's a modern building, with modern features and it "fitted" the place's open plan arrangement somehow. 

The large wrap around balcony was a pleasure on a starry full moon night and with its elevated position afforded good views and added to the beachfront apartment feel which was carried throughout the fresh and modern decor. 

Toiletries and refreshments were better than the usual stuff and it was nice to see extras like candles and bath salts and decent coffee.

Breakfast was taken in a beachfront restaurant for which we were given vouchers, the food was ok, the staff ok but not the type of place I would normally choose. Having said that it was fine and not a deal breaker at all. For dinner we tried the Kingfisher restaurant one minutes walk from the guesthouse which was excellent.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay, the room was nice, Delien very friendly and accommodating and the location very pleasant. If you are visiting Mossel bay try the Point Village guest house for something refreshingly different. If you are a young and modern couple then don't look anywhere else, you will really like it! 

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottishExplorers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.2 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Diaz Hotel & Resort
Diaz Hotel & Resort
#6 of 9 in Mossel Bay
107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#3 of 54 in Mossel Bay
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mossel Bay Backpackers
Mossel Bay Backpackers
#4 of 35 in Mossel Bay
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Village Guesthouse & Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Village Guesthouse & Holiday Cottages

Address: 1 Bland Street | The Point, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range: £43 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Village Guesthouse & Holiday Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Point Village Guesthouse & Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing