We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eating Sunday Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
southafrica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eating Sunday Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Sunday lunch was expensive for what we got. At R90 we got a plated meal with two meats, beef and pork with two veg, rice and roast potatoes. Disappointing, not enough food and a mediocre flavor. The wine by the glass was also not very nice, I did ask to see the bottle and asked for a new one to be opened in front of me which they did but it was obviously the type of wine which I don't want to mention here, however it was a Sav Blanc.Thought it would be a nice Sunday outing but would rather have had McDonalds.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annsouthafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
It is disappointing to hear that this client did not enjoy her lunch during a recent visit to Eight Bells. Every Sunday we serve hundreds of meals to very satisfied clients that even drive from as far as Plettenberg Bay and Stillbaai, to enjoy our legendary plated Sunday Lunch. Apart from the accolades that the staff and I get every Sunday, our visitors book can attest to the fact that we offer good value for money, large portions, exceptional taste and great service. The client must be mistaken about the beef and pork as we only serve roasted chicken with either lamb or pork as part of the plated meal on Sundays.
We have a comprehensive winelist and proudly serve the local award-winning Boplaas wines by the glass, and their Sauvignon Blanc is highly regarded by many. I apologise for the fact that the client did not enjoy her Sunday outing as so many others do, and feel that she is a bit unfair to compare us with a local takeaway. Perhaps she will still discover the complete package that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    119
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
119
138
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fish Hoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

It has always been on my bucket list to stay here. My only regret was I left it so late to try it. We has the Swiss Chalet and it was great. The food was outstanding and way more than I could eat. I loved the silence and even though lots of motorcyclists descended on the place, you could not hear any noise. The staff were very professional

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
It is a pity you left it so late but at least you can now tick off one of the items on your bucket list. Thank you so much for staying with us and for your very positive review. Peace and tranquillity is but one thing we offer apart from the vast range of outdoor activities. You choose a weekend to visit when the annual Buffalo Rally takes place in Mossel Bay and although we do get many visitors during this time I am so glad that you did hear any unduly noise. Thank you once again and let us hope this was the start of many more visits to Eight Bells.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
200 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Way back when I was a tourist guide I got to stay at Eight Bells a few times and always enjoyed it so I jumped at the opportunity to spend a night on a recent business trip on the Garden Route. The hotel makes one feel at home with excellent personal service. I recognized the two ladies in the restaurant from probably 10 years back and the fact that they are still there means that the staff is happy. I stayed in one of the log cabins which is more than comfortable enough with stunning views across the valley to the mountains in the distance. The only complaint perhaps is the fact that it takes time for the hot water to get to the cabins, but that wasn't a train smash. I just feel bad for the water being wasted. I had absolutely no complaints about the food with the prices cheaper than most other restaurants and the portions a lot bigger. Pity I couldn't stay longer and hope to be able to bring the mrs for a visit at some stage. She will love the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
It was nice to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay here at Eight Bells and that you recognised two of our long-serving staff members. We are very fortunate to have fantastic staff, some of which have been with us for nearly fourty years and we are justly proud that we are now on the fourth generation of two families that have always worked at Eight Bells. As explained in response to a previous review you need not worry about water wastage as it all gets back into the ground and comes from a spring on the property. Signage in each rooms explains the system and it has been in operation this way for many years. Thank you once again for staying with us and for your positive review, we hope to be able to welcome your wife here soon to also experience our special brand of hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in one of the chalets. Lovely views, clean and staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed all the facilities with our family, incl our 2 young grandsons who had a super time....all made more enjoyable by the excellent weather.
We would recommend a stay there if you want to be peaceful and relaxed or to enjoy the sporting facilities.
Downside was that we had no hot water no matter how long we ran the hot water tap. At best it was luke warm. There is no cycling for young children...we misread the web site and brought bikes that couldn't be used.
Overall...a great place for a break.

Room Tip: Stay in a chalet and enjoy the views of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Every review is important to us and we thank you for your positive views on our property. Apart from the mountain bike tracks offering a 15km, 35km and a 75km route from our hotel, we offer lots of wide open spaces with hard surfaces for the guests grandchildren to ride their bikes on. Perhaps he was not made aware of this adequately and I apologise for the fact that the kids were not able to ride while they were here at Eight Bells.
The guest mentioned that the hot water took some time to reach their rooms which is feasible as there rooms were the furthest away from the boilers used for our hot water needs. It is on a closed system and all cold water needs to be drawn out before the hot water reaches the rooms. Fortunately there is no wastage as all runoff water gets back into the ground. Because of our location we are not connected to any Municipal services and are self-sufficient as far as our water, sewerage and refuse needs are concerned. No electricity is used for the heating of water as we still use old-fashioned boilers fuelled by burning the invading black wattle trees that we were asked to try and eradicate.
Thank you so much for your honest review and we hope to be able to welcome you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The log cabin was well appointed, very clean and neat and the view wonderful. We walked along the "yellow trail" which meanders through the forest and river: it was lovely and peaceful. We loved the quaint bell ringing to announce tea and meal times. The sitting room and bar are very cosy. Staff members are very friendly and helpful and our meals (real silver and linen) were of the highest quality and well presented. Will definitely visit again when in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Do not choose a log cabin if climbing stairs is a problem. The rest all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizegouws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review, it is much appreciated. We strive to meet and surpass every guests expectation and are particularly pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Eight Bells soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We loved the log cabins and the freedom of the grounds that are on offer at Eight Bells, we arrived in time for complementary afternoon tea that was great. Breakfast was good and the evening meal was good and wholesome. But I was disappointed that my Bobotie was a bit bland. The staff were very helpful and aimed to please.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank borntotravel1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your fair and honest review, it is much appreciated. I will speak to our cooks to ensure that if requested we add a bit more oemf to our Ostrich Bobotie. We are justly proud of our staff and what they achieve in satisfying the needs of our clients. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
186 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Lovely room, good swimming pool, extremely well proced, great gardens. No air con, but good ceiling fan, adequate bathroom, excellent views. Food average, but well proced. Good breakfast, excellent staff

Room Tip: Near the pool seemed nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shinyhead69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We appreciate all reviews and am especially pleased that we were able to meet with your expectations. It is always nice to receive such positive feedback and we will certainly share your views with our great staff. Thank you and we hope to be of service again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
17.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
16.3 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
18.4 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
12.4 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#3 of 30 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Bells Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Bells Mountain Inn

Property: Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Address: Robinson Pass on R328, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Bells Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in South Africa’s picturesque Garden Route, Eight Bells Mountain Inn nestles in the Ruiterbos Valley Region at the foot of the Robinson Pass on the R328 between Mossel Bay (35km) and Oudtshoorn (50km). Renowned for its friendly hospitality, superb service and range of recreational facilities amidst magnificent mountain scenery.Facilities include swimming pool, tennis courts, squash, bowls, billiards, children’s play park and playroom, horse riding, walking trails, birding, on the 400-acre estate.Free wifi in all public areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eight Bells Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing