We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fourth visit to Eight Bells”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were received very warmly by the staff at Reception. They recognised us through previous visits and were charming. We found our room was just what we expected and everything worked well. The room was clean and tidy as we expected.
The tiny bar was ideal for a drink or two after the days travel and the service was great - again smiling and very attentive.
Breakfast in the dining room was good - plenty of fresh South African fruit and adequate cereals to be selected. Muffins and croissants were always available and the coffee was excellent. The choice of cooked breakfast foods was also good and the quality excellent. Again cheerful, smiling waitrons attended to our every need. Lunches and dinners also met our high standard.
The grounds were very well kept and the planting of trees, additional to the very many already established, deserves special mention. The walks were clearly marked and easy to follow but at the age of 85, not all were easy going.

Room Tip: Stay in Palm Court or Rose Court if you want to be close to the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, Owner at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We are very fortunate to have dedicated long-serving staff that not only recognise previous visitors but do their work with a smile and offer service from the heart. It gives us great pleasure reading your review and we thank wholeheartedly. We are looking forward to your fifth visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for 3 nights from10th July at Eight Bells. What a wonderful experience that was. The food are excellent. The staff are excellent and the room excellent. WE will go back any time. Thanks for a wonderful weekend

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Albe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, Owner at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review received, it is much appreciated. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Positives

The rooms were very comfortable and the general facilities good. We had a 1 year old and a 3 year old with us and the 3 year old absolutely loves the kids playroom and the horses. The donkey cart ride and the paddock rides each morning were an absolute highlight for him and he still talks about the horses by name!
The food was excellent, we loved every meal. We had the Ostrich fillet 3 nights in a row it was so good! Prices were also very reasonable and inline with any family restaurant. The staff were all really helpful and friendly. One of the ladies babysat for us on a couple of nights as well so we could enjoy a peaceful dinner and the bar!
We really liked the fact tht there are so many day-trips within an hour of the inn. The Cango Caves (toward Oudtshoorn) and Victoria Bay (towards Knysna) were all easily reachable within an hour.

The Negative

Only one really... we stayed in the family unit and the road noise was pretty bad. They are only a few meters off the road and when a car comes past it is very loud. Luckily there is not a lot of traffic after dark, but be aware if you are a light sleeper this will cause you a problem!!

Room Tip: Pick any room other than the family units because of the road noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan_Budden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your first visit to Eight Bells Mountain Inn and that everything was to your satisfaction accept for the road noise when an occasional car passes by at night. We are situated in such a quiet and peaceful area that any sound heard will be more audible especially during the night. I apologise that your sleep was disturbed but can assure you that every effort is made to assure a good nights rest for all guests in any of our rooms. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

First visit to Eight Bells since 2002,- this time with with two children aged 11 and 8 for a two-night stay. The two-bedroomed unit on Pool Terrace was clean and spacious, with very welcome under-floor heating. A really quiet and restful setting.
The staff were tremendous and the restaurant food excellent. We really enjoyed the well-mannered horses and the subsequent outride. Thanks Sidney! Had to make a extra trip to Mossel Bay to buy more apples and carrots for the horses after we depleted hotel stocks, generously provided.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, Owner at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your positive review it is much appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed the horses and the outride and will certainly pass your thanks onto Sidney. We hope to be able to welcome you and your family back to Eight Bells soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Exceptional staff made 8 Bells a great experience. My husband and I - both pensioners, had a wonderful evening with great food, comfortable room and excellent breakfast to see us on our way. Enjoyed the afternoon walk and will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wombleSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, Owner at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

We strive to make every experience exceptional for all guests no matter the generation they come from. I am very pleased to hear that we succeeded in this endeavour and hope that you will spread the word to your family and friends. Thank you for your positive review, it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Eight Bells provided just what we needed as a family - a relaxing break for me and my wife as well as our daughters (12 and 13 year old) and our son who is 4 years old. Its the kind of place where you feel you are far away from the city and literally in the mountains. There are beautiful mountain walks, games rooms for the children and great food . The lounge/reading room with a warm fire works really well for a quiet time. Staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are comfortable and we were fortunate to stay in the cottage which has lots of space. Will visit again for sure.

Room Tip: try get room furthese away from the road - they are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cdugmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, Owner at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

It is great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Eight Bells. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I came to 8 Bells as a child and have the most wonderful memories, so I decided to bring my daughters and husband for a family holiday. I was very nervous that it might not be as wonderful as I remember but am so happy to report it is just as I remembered.

It really is such a great family getaway with the donkey carts , horse riding and just the ability to let your children run free and make friends.

The only suggestions I would make which really are so minor , is that there be a little less salt in the children's food and that the children's eating lounge be given a little TLC. Its a little dreary in there with all the broken toys waiting for your childs food.

Other then that we LOVED it and will be back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReneBongers, General Manager at Eight Bells Mountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your positive review, it is great to hear that the product is still as good as you remember. We will certainly look at the salt content of our children's meals and try to get more colour into the room. Although we regularly replace broken toys they just do not seem to last as long as they used too. Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope to be able to welcome your family back to Eight Bells soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
17.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
18.6 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
253 reviews
16.3 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
18.4 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
559 reviews
21.2 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eight Bells Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Bells Mountain Inn

Address: Robinson Pass on R328, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: £72 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Bells Mountain Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in South Africa’s picturesque Garden Route, Eight Bells Mountain Inn nestles in the Ruiterbos Valley Region at the foot of the Robinson Pass on the R328 between Mossel Bay (35km) and Oudtshoorn (50km). Renowned for its friendly hospitality, superb service and range of recreational facilities amidst magnificent mountain scenery.Facilities include swimming pool, tennis courts, squash, bowls, billiards, children’s play park and playroom, horse riding, walking trails, birding, on the 400-acre estate.Free wifi in all public areas and rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eight Bells Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing