We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point Village Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed in Room 13 for two days. The first thing we noticed was that the walls were mouldy and that they definitely needed to be painted. Shower was also full of mould and not clean. Lamp shades looked terrible. Very dirty. I will not recommend this place. Also had to phone 3 times in order to receive a conformation of the booking. Bad smells!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vian123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for Point Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Beautiful little hotel at the Point in Mosselbay. Great location, beautiful views and very nice rooms. Virtually on the water and many nice restaurants around. Highly recommended for a stay over. Secure parking and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donovan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately we spent only one night in this lovely place.
We stayed in room number 1 and it was beautifully decorated, very clean and especially enjoyed the massive shower and comfy bed.
Really appreciated the information book with loads of suggestions.
We would definitely recommend it!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lallina1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Top Location. Very nice few from balcony over beach an ocean.
Excellent and friendly service.
A bit noise from water installation like toilet flush and showers when people get up and life starts in the morning

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Harald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Friendly staff. Hotel conveniently situated near restaurants and the sea. Close to the centre of town. Large room with self catering facilities. Free underground parking on a first come, first park basis. The hotel rates are value for money. I will consider staying there again in future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Carl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Point has a lovely location very close to the see and overlooking a grassy area at the Point. The rooms are quirky but comfortable - good linen and some self-catering facilities. Pleasant staff. But when I arrived the tiled floor in my room and bathroom was dirty. However after discussing it with the housekeeper the next morning it was sparkling the way I would have expected it to be when I came home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

OK We enjoyed every aspect of our stay except one. Sorry to be negative but the bathroom SMELT OF DRAINS.
We shut the bathroom door and left the fan on but it didn't help much.
We did particularly enjoy the MARITIME MUSEUM ands we were lucky to see the Rose show.
Local restaurants were most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
3.0 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
136 reviews
18.4 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
351 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Village Hotel

Address: 5 Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: £53 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Village Hotel has made a significant statement with its presence at the entrance to the popular Mossel Bay Point recreational area. The Point Village Hotel offers luxury accommodation in 16 en-suite rooms, each with its own kitchenette, as well as 7 suites with self catering facilities, each with 2 en-suite bedrooms and fully equipped kitchens and 6 fully self catering units with 3 bedrooms, en-suite bathrooms, lounge, dining area and fully equipped kitchen. The atmosphere is chic yesterday that blends with modern today in a relaxing holiday feeling. The hotel rooms are very spacious, luxurious and furnished in contemporary stylish but unpretentious themes. The hotel has not only become popular with South Africans but has also become a first night venue for hikers on the World Renowned Oystercatcher Trail. A typical quote is from Gary Welsh, the leader of one of the hiking groups who spent a night here on Sunday last week, before setting off on the 4 day walk along the coast to Gouritz River, "Great and spacious rooms, modern and in a way futuristic. The decor is stimulating and unusual, moving away from the normal ‘copy and paste style’ of most hotels. The locality is indeed, unbeatable." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Point Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing