We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point Village Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The room was very nicely decorated. At night we left the sliding door open to hear the roaring sea in the background. The room has partial ocean view and faced the lighthouse. The beds were comfortable, linen clean, spacious shower. We didnt make use if the kitchenette, although it had everything needed for light catering. Restaurants and beach are a short walk away. The down side of this hotel would be that it can get noisy and smells of surrounding restaurants could possibly bother some visitors. The staff was really very friendly. We had a good 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank angiecru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stay was excellent, no complaints at all. Friendliest people I have ever met, coming from what is called the friendly city, PE, I can honestly say that Mossel Bay is the the friendliest town in South Africa. It is also the cleanest place I have ever been!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Renaldo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Unquestionable the most helpful team I have come across over many many years of travelling, even / especially when they are full. The two locals are excellent ambassadors of this beautiful, historic town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Henri_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding close by. A nice affordable hotel with spacious clean rooms. It looked like it was recently revamped. Position is also very nice as it is very close to the beach. Staff was also very friendly. Definitely a good choice when staying in Mosselbay. Must admit that Mosselbay itself is not in my top 10 of South African cities.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Joost123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were only there for one night but enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well located for beach, restaurants, cave etc. Staff friendly and helpful. Comfortable, clean room with self-catering facilities. Bit of a sea view from the balcony, but probably better view from rooms nearer the sea (we were in room 1).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a spacious apartment, with some nice views to the sea. The location is very good, right on the "Point" with many restaurants around and the sea at your doorstep....
But - some lamps and the toilets were not working well. This apartment has to be taken care of also regarding to cleanliness.


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 859Leonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

When we eventually managed to find the entrance to the car park (after the confusion of other establishments with very similar names), the greeting at reception was good. We had 2 rooms and both were spacious and clean with serviceable bathrooms. The price was incredibly competitive. We went out to eat on our first evening, only to find that it was specials night in the restaurant on the beach and a coach load of people had turned up. And the Italian next door had stopped serving. We walked around to Ponto Grill and chose to eat from the buffet, which was average (I guess as it wasn't very busy)
I've seen comments about noise in this hotel, but we didn't experience that.
What was brilliant was that reception arranged everything for us four our stay there, whale watching, elephant rides and shark cage diving. It was all very good service.
We did get to have breakfast on the beach on one morning which was lovely, if a little surprising to see people ordering a beer with their breakfast!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank DeniseRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.2 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
252 reviews
3.0 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
353 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
141 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Village Hotel

Address: 5 Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: £39 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Village Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Point Village Hotel has made a significant statement with its presence at the entrance to the popular Mossel Bay Point recreational area. The Point Village Hotel offers luxury accommodation in 16 en-suite rooms, each with its own kitchenette, as well as 7 suites with self catering facilities, each with 2 en-suite bedrooms and fully equipped kitchens and 6 fully self catering units with 3 bedrooms, en-suite bathrooms, lounge, dining area and fully equipped kitchen. The atmosphere is chic yesterday that blends with modern today in a relaxing holiday feeling. The hotel rooms are very spacious, luxurious and furnished in contemporary stylish but unpretentious themes. The hotel has not only become popular with South Africans but has also become a first night venue for hikers on the World Renowned Oystercatcher Trail. A typical quote is from Gary Welsh, the leader of one of the hiking groups who spent a night here on Sunday last week, before setting off on the 4 day walk along the coast to Gouritz River, "Great and spacious rooms, modern and in a way futuristic. The decor is stimulating and unusual, moving away from the normal ‘copy and paste style’ of most hotels. The locality is indeed, unbeatable." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Point Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing