We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Big Blu Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #44 of 88 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Price range: US$3 - US$9
Cuisines: Seafood, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Big Blu Venue is a Beach and Surf Cafe Style Restaurant specializing in mouthwatering seafood and local cuisine Big Blu has reincarnated itself with a little help from Mother Nature. In a word - the view is simply "spectacular"! The ambience is casual and eclectic. Big Blu is a tapas restaurant offering some traditional tapas dishes to be sampled, plus a nice twist on other dishes. Big Blu boasts with congenial staff, weekend events, tasty tapas dishes and view not available anywhere else in the Garden Route - making Big Blu well worth a visit!
Bradfield,Essex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I had the yellowtail and prawn dish with salad, very nice, fish cooked very well. Friendly staff. Unusual decor. The waves crashing outside the window, first class location. Spent a very pleasant evening here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dahlia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    18
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
“Best in the Garden Route”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

I visited Big blue a week ago! We had a great time! The food was great and the cocktails awesome!!! But most of all, the service and friendly staff made it the best. I love the swings and the "beach vibe" inside! Would definitly visit again!!!! Thank you!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian Lynette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good view of the sea but a tired venue with mediocre food”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We were drawn for two reasons: views of the sea and it not being in the big restaurant complex nearby. Sadly the place has an old fashioned, down-at-heel feeling. The eccentric swings hanging in front of the bar take up far too much room, look outdated and are a potential hazzard. The food is mediocre at best. Service was very slow, albeit pleasant. The only plus point was the view - but it comes at the cost of everything else being sub-standard.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christopher c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilanesberg National Park, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service, atrocious management”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

It seems Mosselbay and bad service goes hand in hand. We ordered my daughters' calamari 15 minutes before we ordered a calamari and rib & a calamari and prawn combo. Though we asked for it to brought right away it was only brought about 4 minutes after we got our food. The calamari was really great, tasty and warm, the ribs was luke warm, the prawns was not great. The chips was good We received no plates to put the prawn shells in so it went onto a serviette on the table. When that plate eventually came we had finished eating, and the cold fingerbowls that came thereafter served no purpose. Though absolutely useless, the waitress had a knack of making things disappear. My daughters "tartar" sauce went while she was still eating calamari and using it. So did her half full glass of sparkling water that she was still drinking. So did my partners wine glass while there was still wine left. No toothpicks available at all. We went inside and after a comment to the management the assistant manager went to the restaurant next door and he got me 1., only 1. What happened then was mind boggling. The barmaid covered her face with a dishcloth and sprayed doom onto the liqueur bottles, and then ran out the side door. As it was incredibly toxic and less than 10 m away from my 4yo daughter, they left immediately. The manager saw this, then came to me and explained she did it against gnats that flock to the sticky sugar,and that she will ask the barmaid to do it earlier or later when no one is around. I'm sure hot water and a wet cloth will do the trick...unfortunately for this manager my partner works in the Dept Health building in Pretoria, and is insisting in taking it further. oh yes, if you go, just remember to take your own toilet paper along - they seem to be out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pirate99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigBluVenue, General Manager at Big Blu Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Good day Sir

It was with complete shock that I read you review of Big Blu. It is not acceptable for any customer to be treated in the manner in which you were. Over and above the fact that your food did not arrive in the sequence in which you requested the use of insecticides near food, drink and especially small children is unforgivable.

In terms of how the manager dealt with the situation I can only write that off to inexperience as he has just recently joined us, but no excuses. These matters have already been addressed and intensive training of both management and staff is already been set in motion.

I hope that you will come and judge us again when next in the Bay as we would appreciate your discerning eye's second glance.

Kind regards

Big Blu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Good value food at good location. Had the hake and calamari and wife the ladies portion spare ribs with salad. Service was slow and food took a while getting to the table - must say this seems to be the norm in Mosselbay now in season. Food was very tasty and the bill came in at less then a R200 for the two of us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EzraR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Blu Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Big Blu Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing