We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
At Whale-Phin Guest House
Ranked #19 of 53 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Another delightful stay at the Whale Phin my partners 6th stay and my 3rd. Joy and Louie are lovely warm hosts who made us and out four year old daughter feel very welcome. Although their website say they do not cater for children they are more than happy to accommodate children who are well behaved enough to respect their beautiful home. If you like relaxed home from home give the Whale Phin a try if you want unfriendly and faceless boring huge chain type hotels (why people like these I have no idea unless they have no social skills) go elsewhere! We will be returning next year!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanda9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    14
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The room was clean, well decorated and had everything we needed. We were in the dolphin room which had an incredible view over the bay, where we saw southern right whales breach repeatedly!!! Louis and Joy were very helpful providing local information help with bookings. We particularly liked the book they had put together with information on things to do in mossel bay and places to eat. The breakfast provided at the guesthouse was also fantastic, very generous and tasty. We really enjoyed mossel bay, very under rated place and wished we had stayed longer. Would have liked it if the wifi could be used free of charge.
This place would be great for a group of friends/ family to hire out for a week.

Room Tip: Choose dolphin or whale room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xseahorsex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lecco
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We spent one and a half day - two nights - at the Whale-Phin, 12 km far from Mossel Bay, 5 mins walking from the beach. The room was not too big, but clean and all amenities were available, including a breathtaking wonderful view on the ocean. We could choose to have the rich and varied breakfast in or out on the balcony, looking at the dolphins passing at any moment of the day. No chance to see the whales in January. Joy and Louis were very helpful in suggesting restaurants, things to do. We highly suggest to experience walking with the lions at Zorgfontein reserve, only 15 km from Whale-Phin.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica_vice_capo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The Whale-Phin Guest House offers B&B, when we arrived they told us, that we wouldn't get any breakfast. (We booked the room with breakfast(!!!), we showed the booking receipt but they didn't care, we paid for the breakfast, but we didn't get anything no tea no coffee no cookie nothing ...).
There is no location next to the guest house were you could get a breakfast, so we had to leave hungry. I never ever would go back to this place.

It is very loud and we couldn't sleep longer than 5.30 am ( you can hear everything, etc. the shower and toilet of the neighbors, walking above us, barking dogs in the house .... )

Room Tip: please, if you find smth. else don't stay there, you pay for breakfast and you don't get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank love_South_Africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisJoy, Owner at At Whale-Phin Guest House, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
This was the first booking we received via Booking.com and went through our nightsbridge booking system linked with the prices as shown on Nightsbridge. We never had any problem with the five years with Nightsbridge. A problem must have occurred between the Booking.com and Nightsbridge, which was reported to Nightsbridge. This problem is now solved.
Our tariff for bed and breakfast is R300.00 per person sharing and not R300.00 per room including breakfast. We only do self-catering during December and had no place to prepare breakfast and informed them on arrival. We also indicated the restaurants where they can enjoy a breakfast. Coffee, tea, Rooibos tea, milk and rusks were available in the self-catering unit where they stayed.
This was a very unfortunate incident and will never happen again and invite the couple when they visit South Africa again to have a complimentary one nights bed and breakfast at Whale-Phin Guest House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Dear Louis And Joy

In our 14 days experience of the Garden Route, we stayed at a total of 7 Guest Houses along the route stretching from East London to Cape Town. It is with much happiness to record that our 2 day stay with you at Whale-Phin was the most pleasant experience which has left the fondest of memories for both Paula and Myself. Your Self Catering Units are simple but beautiful and offer your guests enough convenience and comfort to enjoy their stay for whatever their duration of travel.

Your personal touch is also commendable, although subtle it is noticed with the ample offering of biscuits, chocolates toiletry amenities refills and much more, that may not mean much to some, but is testament of your passion, pride and dedication to your work and a reminder that you both are present, without invading your guests privacy and comfort if so required.

The breakfasts are superb to say the least and your interaction with your guests made Paula and Myself feel that we have known you both for ages and when approached by us with humble apologies for breaking some of your cutlery during our Whale Watch on the Breathtaking Patio your honest reply of " I would have been very upset if you had gotten hurt, there are many more plates to break" makes one feel very humble and at home in your presence.

Working and living in Johannesburg we seldom forget the beauty of our coastline and country with its diverse and unique people, climate and landscape and you have not only reminded us of the beauty readily available to be explored, but also the breathtaking views through your bedroom windows of Whales and Dolphins witnessed so peacefully and continuously during our 2 day stay on this stretch of magnificent and historic coast line with Genuine South African Hospitality that you offer on your Little Spot of Paradise. We wish you much success with your well established Haven and look forward to seeing you again and again as often as we can in time to come.

Fondest Regards
Stelio and Paula Avramidis
Johannesburg South Africa

Room Tip: The Catering Units are Superb as you have privacy, convenience and comfort with the most spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
7.2 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
246 reviews
7.0 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#3 of 53 in Mossel Bay
262 reviews
6.8 mi away
Santos Express
Santos Express
#10 of 53 in Mossel Bay
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Bar-t-nique Guest House
Bar-t-nique Guest House
#4 of 53 in Mossel Bay
317 reviews
4.8 mi away
African Oceans Manor on the Beach
7.2 mi away
Mossel Bay Guest House
Mossel Bay Guest House
#18 of 53 in Mossel Bay
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Whale-Phin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Whale-Phin Guest House

Property: At Whale-Phin Guest House
Address: 8 Grysbok Avenue | Reebok, Mossel Bay 6503, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — At Whale-Phin Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Whale-Phin Guest House is out of town in a safe and tranquil area. We are situated on a dune overlooking the bay of Mossel Bay. Enjoy the unspoilt ocean and “Fynbos” views. From your room spot whales in season, dolphins and plenty of garden birds all year round. Five minutes walk from clean and safe beach. Wireless internet, e-mail, fax and credit card facilities. Come and sleep to the music of the ocean. Do a "Walk with the Lions" nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your At Whale-Phin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing