We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I spent two nights here and I could have spent two months here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
At Whale-Phin Guest House
Ranked #19 of 53 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I spent two nights here and I could have spent two months here.”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The owners are the sweetest people you could ever meet. The back Patio overlooking the ocean is so peaceful and is a great place to lounge. The breakfast prepared in the mornings is top notch and made to your liking. The rooms were immaculate. A 5-10 min walk to a great beach without the crowds. Overall for the price this is one of the best places I have ever stayed in the 15 years of travel. I would stay here in a heartbeat the next time I return to South Africa

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjader15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    14
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Hospitality is very warm and in cozy room you can find everything you need, even more!! It is great to go to the bed with ocean sound and to wake up with the paradise birds' twits.. And breakfast!!!! Delicious fruits and other different things on the balcony with the ocean view.. Magic!!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Irina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the guesthouse. Joy and Louis really goes out their way to ensure you are well looked after.
We spent part of our honeymoon there and plan to go back this year. The room is cleaned daily, they make the BEST BREAKFAST and have the most beautiful ocean view, situated just 10min drive from town.
we where greeted every morning with a garden full of birds, a whale and dolphins.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This establishment is highly recommended. The hospitality knows no limits and the view is absolutely wonderful. The garden is also very beautiful and quiet with a view over the ocean. Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

Room Tip: Pheasant is my favorite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSteinberg2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Not a Hilton or Mercure hotel with fancy rooms can't compete to these type of locations. We found this location by accident and it was a great surprise. We have been warm welcomed by the owners and everything was available at the room you needed. The view we got at the room was stunning! We have even spotted some dolphins the next morning during breakfast which we had on the balcony! What else do you want after a good night sleep :-). Also the breakfast was perfect with delicious food. Thanks for your hospitality! We will go for the sticker ;-) ps dinner at Transkaroo is highly recommended. Close to the fireplace delicious food (see our review)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RogerLiz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here on our way from Cape Town to Jefferys Bay. Although the rooms are not modern they are comfortable and the hospitality of Louis and Joy was great, such warm and kind people. They gave a great recommendation for dinner at De Dekke restaurant. In the morning the breakfast we were served by Louis and Joy was the best we had in our 3 week trip, fresh fruit and cooked breakfast while watching the whales in the waves.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angeladejong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Just had the most amazing breakfast at Whale Phin guesthouse in Little Brak, Western Cape. Better service can't be find anywhere else in the world. Was amazing to see a Southern Right Whale and her calf playing just off the shore break while enjoying a 5-star 3 course breakfast. Thanks Louis and Joy Cook!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynettem2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
7.2 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
246 reviews
7.0 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#3 of 53 in Mossel Bay
262 reviews
6.8 mi away
Santos Express
Santos Express
#10 of 53 in Mossel Bay
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Bar-t-nique Guest House
Bar-t-nique Guest House
#4 of 53 in Mossel Bay
317 reviews
4.8 mi away
African Oceans Manor on the Beach
7.2 mi away
Mossel Bay Guest House
Mossel Bay Guest House
#18 of 53 in Mossel Bay
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Whale-Phin Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Whale-Phin Guest House

Property: At Whale-Phin Guest House
Address: 8 Grysbok Avenue | Reebok, Mossel Bay 6503, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — At Whale-Phin Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Whale-Phin Guest House is out of town in a safe and tranquil area. We are situated on a dune overlooking the bay of Mossel Bay. Enjoy the unspoilt ocean and “Fynbos” views. From your room spot whales in season, dolphins and plenty of garden birds all year round. Five minutes walk from clean and safe beach. Wireless internet, e-mail, fax and credit card facilities. Come and sleep to the music of the ocean. Do a "Walk with the Lions" nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your At Whale-Phin Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing