We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodge, incredible service & value - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge, incredible service & value - great location”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at the lodge. Highlights included a braai, sundowner picnic and the quad biking with Josphat our guide & Fabian the Rhino! Josphat was incredibly knowledgable and gave us an impressive 3 hour tour of the game lodge teaching us many new things about the animals and fauna of the area.

The nightly three course meals was great value at R165 a pop, the staff were always accommodating and the owners of this lodge truly welcome you in as if you are part of the family which make for an incredible experience.

I have no doubt that we will be back again as soon as we can.

As a side note - If you are in Mossel Bay staying here - make sure you do the Shark Dive in Mossel Bay because it's not only cheaper but you always get a much better experience

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachelg91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    40
    13
    11
    3
See reviews for
84
92
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We found this lodge on line as we were planning a Garden route drive from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town. It was the perfect halfway stop. Near Mossel Bay was ideal.The Chalet was comfortable, warm , with electric blankets ! Not really needed as the weather was warm, but a lovely touch !The verandah and Braai area were also great.Our welcome from Ruan was warm and friendly, and his mum was lovely too .Eating breakfast and dinner looking out from the verandah and seeing a white Rhino was amazing, Coming home from a day out and finding out Braai lit and the food awaiting,was pretty fantastic too ! We were loaned cosy ponchos for use on verandah's, and we loved them so much we were able to purchase them to bring home !All in all a relaxed friendly and comfortable stay ! Thank You Nyaru ! Jill King

Room Tip: We used the family chalet which was spacious and near the main building and car park. Not sure re th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whittyjill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I recently took my Mum to Nyaru Game Lodge for her birthday.
What a great experience! The food was superb! I had ostrich neck which was very tasty. The breakfast buffet is lovely.
Ruan, I did not get the chance to meet you, but I want to thank you for the upgrade to a bigger chalet. Its much appreciated.
I booked a 1bedroom chalet, which is really adequate for a family of three. However, The Family (bigger) chalet has a downstairs as well as upstairs area (4 beds in total.. 3 single, 1 double) plus a kitchenette area and outside braai area.
Elmari and Chris, thank you so much for your hospitality. We really enjoyed the game drive tremendously and your knowledge of the game was admirable. We felt so privileged to meet Fabian the Rhino- although I was very wary of him.. ;) Elmari, I am sorry about the little bird that died..! I hope his "brother" is doing okay?
This place was much cheaper what I usually pay for accommodation, and I can truly say that it was a fantastic experience and definitely worth the money!!
Its rated as a 3star on paper, but in my eyes, far better than 5star place I have stayed in,with personal service, great food, beautiful surroundings and true South African hospitality.
Be assured that we will be back!!!

Room Tip: All of them. The one of the far end looked quite isolated - maybe good for couples or honeymooners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KVH2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

A MUST do for ALL, especially South Africans! We have the most beautiful land in the world. This was a 5-star treat! It was like our 2nd honeymoon.....peaceful but yet adventurous. The Safari game Drive was the highlight for me! Thank you, Nyaru Game Lodge. See you soon :) P.Turner

Room Tip: As a couples retreat, of friends and family, choose the 8 sleeper/4 rooms and lounge/balcony view ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pet375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

What a great find and totally unanticipated as well. We were driving the garden route and thought we'd just stay in Mossel Bay when we came upon Nyaru Game Lodge on TripAdvisor. We hadn't planned to do anything 'safari' or 'game park' on this trip (more an eating and massage vacation) but we thought 'why not?'

It was a great decision because it was such an excellent and easy experience. The game lodge is just a short drive outside of Mossel Bay but feels a million miles away from civilization. We made the booking directly online via email with Ruan (the son that runs the estate) and arrived the next day. We were curious about Ruan's email where he warned us that if we crossed paths with their local rino "Fabian" not to toot the horn and just call him if he doesn't yield the road! We were looking forward to it already!

The lodge is on a large estate with the main campus being a large hut which comprises the reception and eating areas. Around the 'hut' there are about a dozen cottages with their own facilities - they are cosy and great. There are all the modern amenities you'd want, including running water and kitchen - so no worries there. Facilities were clean and really well maintained.

Highlight of course were the excursions. First day at 1600 we did a quad bike tour of the reserve and got to see giraffes and the local rino up close. Josephatt was our local guide and he was patient, so knowledgeable and a real asset to the whole operation. The day after we went on a 4x4 tour of the reserve seeing different animals but on pretty much the same trek. Fabian, the rino, is definitely the celebrity of the game park but no lions or tigers so if you're looking for those, this is not the park for you. What you'll get a is a calm, intimate experience and a chance to tastefully see some African animals up close.

Breakfast was great and so were the staff. It was a great one night and two day stay.I'd definitely return. Thanks to Ruan and his mom!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Nyaru. Met the most friendly hosts and staff and was made to feel welcome from the start.The best experience was driving the quad bikes into the reserve , getting close to the giraffes , wildebees, zebra,s , ostriches , impala,s and even better to be guided by Josphat when faced with the most amazing animal " the beautiful White Rhino"
who seemed unfazed by us glaring at him. We loved the tranquility and atmosphere of this place and will definitely be recommending it to others . Good food together with good people have produced a good recipe for us to visit Nyaru again in the near future!!

Room Tip: First timer , we had a fantastic view from our room , at the far end of the Villae overlooking the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oz
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

100% recommend this lodge. The staff is fantastic - truly make you feel right at home. I was traveling by myself and really felt welcomed and not at all isolated as you sometimes can at group-centric lodges like this. The chalets are gorgeously appointed with a combination of modern comforts and local crafts. The meals - another great value - were delicious and generously portioned. Finally, the quad safari was a blast. I could have stayed out there all day following the family of giraffes, zebras, rhino, etc. This would be a wonderful place to take a family or for a romantic weekend. I hope to return soon and share this place with loved ones!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetMissJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
10.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
8.2 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
344 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
522 reviews
7.0 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 34 in Mossel Bay
826 reviews
6.6 mi away
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyaru Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyaru Private Game Lodge

Property: Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Address: R 328 | Brandwag, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nyaru Private Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes from George Airport, travellers will delight in a safari experience set right in the heart of the Garden Route. The perfect accommodation for guests travelling through Mossel Bay, Nyaru Game Lodge offers warm hospitality and a sumptuous sleep in a selection of picturesque thatch-roof chalets set around the main lodge. Relax and regenerate in a single bedroom chalet or family chalet. The ideal romantic hideaway for couples, the one-bedroom chalet is equipped with a queen-size double bed, a single bed and an en-suite bathroom. Catering to families of four, the double-story Family Chalet boasts a main bedroom equipped with a queen size bed, single bed and en-suite bathroom while the upper level houses a second bedroom with two single beds. While guests are treated to a delicious breakfast in the morning, Nyaru's stunning African restaurant will delight tummies looking for delicious, traditional South African dinners. Serving mouth-watering fare as well as a great selection of wines, toast your toes in front of the roaring fire and fill your belly with Nyaru's delicious dishes.Guests seeking adventure will get their kicks with Nyaru Game Lodge's array of fun, family-friendly activities. Offering exciting 4x4 safaris as well as horseback tours and quad bike safaris, guests will be escorted by a Nyaru ranger and taken around the bushveld where 17 different species of game and wildlife roam free. Boasting giraffe, zebra, impala and more, safari-seeking guests will delight in Nyaru Game Lodge's special wildlife tours. Last but not least, those looking for a tres romantic evening can enquire with Nyaru about sun- downer picnics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Nyaru Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing