We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful days at Nyaru Game Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nyaru Private Game Lodge
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent 3 wonderful days at Nyaru Game lodge. Nice chalets. The entire team is very friendly, service very personal. Nature walks and all activities were absolutely fantastic with very knowledgable and friendly ranger ‘Josphat Chinyanda Makwiramiti’ told us lots of animated stories about African culture, nature and animals. See Giraffes, Kudus, Zebras, Bluewildebeest, Impala and much more.

Room Tip: Choice Bungalow with private patio area with fire & BBQ
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caledoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here as family and although we had booked only one chalet, the owner was really nice enough to give us another one free of charge... She was really polite and friendly and made us feel at home. Our kids enjoyed the safari and the food was great. Only problem was that the owner's dog was in the dining room and our kids had recently had a bad experience with a dog previously and were scared of this one as well. It might be good to have the dog inside just during the meals. Otherwise it was a really cute dog who wanted to play and I really liked him! The pool was nice and we had it for ourselves. The staff are also very friendly and I would recommend this lodge for families and romantic breaks... But also if you just want to relax on your own and read a book...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomad007700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

What a magical place. Spent three nights here recently and for the first time in a long while experienced true relaxation. Owners and staff all make you feel very welcome without being overbearing. Setting, although only 20 minutes from Mossel Bay, feels very remote and far removed from the rat race. The facilities are excellent and accommodation is provided in 5 separate studio chalets with their own braai facilities. The catered braai is very cool, with all foodstuffs provided and set up in your own braai area. An evening meal at the restaurant is a must. Food is fantastic. Breakfast on the deck overlooking the bushveld is a magical way to start the day or to replensish energy levels after a 4 wheeler game drive.
The game drives are done in a 4x4 vehicle or on one of the 4 wheelers. We chose the 4 wheelers (twice) and had an absolutely awesome time with our very informative guide, Josephat.
Fantastic find this place, well done guys!!

Room Tip: The family units are double story and are very close to the main building....some noise from the res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrantlSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We spent 2 wonderful days at Nyaru Game lodge. Nice chalets - we travelled as a family with 2 children, the room has enough space, incl. small kitchenette. The entire team is very friendly, service very personal. We deliberatelly booked this game reserve without 'Big 5' as we wanted to do some Nature walks and the Quad bike safari played a role in our decision as well. Plus we went to other Big 5 reserves along the Garden route. All activities were absolutely fantastic with very knowledgable rangers ( Christian knows a lot about birds) and Josphat told us lots of animated stories about African culture, nature and animals in general having grown up in the bush. My son and I celebrated our respective birthdays here and the cake prepared was delicious, so were all the other meals. My 3 highlights from this lodge. 1) Walking with Giraffes, 2) Quadbike safari ( my 6 & 11 year old boys absolutely LOVED it so did my husband), 3) The outside deck with the open fire overlooking the fynbos adds tremendously to the atmosphere of Nyaru. Would definitely come back again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel2feeljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

As a South African now living in NZ, was great to get back to the bush. Excellent accomodation, good value for money, good food and a very enjoyable game drive with Christian. We really enjoyed his little anecdotes and his enthusiasm.

Our only criticism of Nyaru is that the staff, apart from Christian, appear to lack enthusiasm. The service was adequate, but there was no real effort made to really make us feel welcome.

Overall, though, a good experience to be recommended.

Room Tip: Take a drink up to the lookout to watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The perfect place to be introduced to nature in South Africa. Ruan, Elmarie, Chris and Christian made our two nights 3 days extra special. Our morning nature walk with Christian provided us insight into birds, butterflies, animals, fynbos and so much more. A special lunch by the pool took full advantage of the organic garden, dinners were the best and so perfectly prepared. You must try the Cape Malva Pudding, absolutely the best (all desserts were fabulous). Our afternoon game drive with Christian was so wonderful, the animals are stunning and so natural. Christian was such a delight to spend time with and absorb all of his local knowledge, a great addition to the game lodge. Elmarie and staff made my birthday extra special as they sang Happy Birthday to me at breakfast and interpreted my card. We so enjoyed our time at Nyaru as this was a once in a lifetime experience made even better by an attentive and thoughtful staff. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

It was 2 years ago when I stayed at the lodge for 2 nights. The lodge and rooms had beautiful rustic touch to it. You'd definitely know you're in Africa. The first day we went quad biking to explore the area. We had an amazing time, which felt so different from riding the jeeps into game reserves. Freedom** Dinner was great, a feeling I'd always remember... Dinner on a patio facing the game reserve, watching the sunset, sipping on a cocktail, a cozy campfire, with wonderful music.

I'd like to thank you for the unforgettable moments Nyaru has given me.
Do give this place a try, perhaps you'll find your unforgettable moments there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turtle_Flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
10.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
11.7 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
253 reviews
8.2 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Botlierskop Private Game Reserve
7 mi away
Gondwana Game Reserve
Gondwana Game Reserve
#2 of 38 in Mossel Bay
903 reviews
15.7 mi away
Indalu Game Reserve
Indalu Game Reserve
#3 of 38 in Mossel Bay
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nyaru Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nyaru Private Game Lodge

Address: R 328 | Brandwag, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range: £94 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nyaru Private Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 30 minutes from George Airport, travellers will delight in a safari experience set right in the heart of the Garden Route. The perfect accommodation for guests travelling through Mossel Bay, Nyaru Game Lodge offers warm hospitality and a sumptuous sleep in a selection of picturesque thatch-roof chalets set around the main lodge. Relax and regenerate in a single bedroom chalet or family chalet. The ideal romantic hideaway for couples, the one-bedroom chalet is equipped with a queen-size double bed, a single bed and an en-suite bathroom. Catering to families of four, the double-story Family Chalet boasts a main bedroom equipped with a queen size bed, single bed and en-suite bathroom while the upper level houses a second bedroom with two single beds. While guests are treated to a delicious breakfast in the morning, Nyaru's stunning African restaurant will delight tummies looking for delicious, traditional South African dinners. Serving mouth-watering fare as well as a great selection of wines, toast your toes in front of the roaring fire and fill your belly with Nyaru's delicious dishes.Guests seeking adventure will get their kicks with Nyaru Game Lodge's array of fun, family-friendly activities. Offering exciting 4x4 safaris as well as horseback tours and quad bike safaris, guests will be escorted by a Nyaru ranger and taken around the bushveld where 17 different species of game and wildlife roam free. Boasting giraffe, zebra, impala and more, safari-seeking guests will delight in Nyaru Game Lodge's special wildlife tours. Last but not least, those looking for a tres romantic evening can enquire with Nyaru about sun- downer picnics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Nyaru Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing