We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air of perfection”
Review of Air del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Air del Mar
Ranked #14 of 54 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this beautiful place while visiting Mossel Bay. It has easy access to the beach and it is absolutely beautiful. While there we were the only guests, so our stay was very peaceful but I don`t see it being any different even if there are more people at the B&B, as the number of rooms is limited. Our room and bathroom were beautifully decorated in white and earth tones, very soothing. The décor of the entire B&B is exquisite, their attention to detail is incredible, even the outside was impeccable.
Susan was very helpful and her breakfasts are to die for, not only they taste good but their presentation is great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villebenju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Air del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have travelled the east coast often but never stayed in Mossel Bay until now. Found Air del Mar on the internet & booked a 2 night stay on the way back from Kruger,
Built as a spacious home overlooking a pristine beach, Air del Mar is a top quality guest house that is one of the best we have ever stayed in.
Susan makes it extra special. She has an eye for detail & ensures that your stay is comfortable & enjoyable. Her breakfasts on the deck overlooking the sea views are perfection, which we agree deserve an extra star.
Drift off to sleep to the sound of the waves & dream of the breakfast to come........
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Susan is very welcoming and sets a very high standard. Very comfortable house set on the cliff top overlooking beach. Lovely breakfast very well presented served by Susan all in all a little gem.. When we come back to South Africa I am sure that we will stay again

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinny49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

A home away from home!!! We couldn’t have picked a better place to spend our last evening along the garden route. The breakfast we give an extra 6th star, ABSOLUTELY EXQUISITE! Susan made us feel right at home from the word go and she has a keen eye for detail. You will definitely be seeing us again.
Thank you for the wonderful stay!
Michelle & Ryan
(Munich, Germany)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SA_RyanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Shame we had not time to stay longer such was our pleasant experience. Susan exhibited ultimate hospitality. Very tasteful decor and therapeutic sea sounds, made for a memorable stay. Our host was very engaging and made our restaurant reservation. Peter & Liz Ireland

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S5152VPElizabeth_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The most beautiful place, wonderful interior, crashing waves, best breakfast ever! Top all that
with the kindest hospitality from Susan and Fred and you have a small insight insight into Air Del Mar. We made the mistake of booking only one night there ( big mistake...huge!) and rearranged our trip to spend more time. We are now booking to go back again and I know it will be one of many visits. Cannot praise it enough, can't wait to go back.
Whilst you are there don't miss the seafront walk and lunch / golf at Pinnacle Point.
Lynne and Alan

Room Tip: We loved room number 3 which is a double with windows on 3 sides but have seen all rooms and would s...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 401lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at this excellent B&B for (only :-/ ) two nights and loved it ! The guest house is beautifully located directly on top of the beach with excellent views to the sea. The whole interior is made with so much diligence you can realize right away that the Hosts, Susan and Fred, are dedicated to making your stay a most pleasant experience.
Susan was giving us a "feel-home" throughout the whole stay. She helped us with making dinner arrangements and getting to play Golf at Mossel Bay Golf club.
And: I have never had such a good full breakfast. It's made with so much love and beautifully arranged that you hesitate to eat this "art of breakfast" :-)
Definitely can recommend and definitely looking forward to our next stay there.

Room Tip: We stayed at Room 3, but all rooms are equally recommendable.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas_BAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
3.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
4.0 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
539 reviews
1.5 mi away
Diaz Hotel & Resort
Diaz Hotel & Resort
#6 of 9 in Mossel Bay
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
African Oceans Manor on the Beach
3.4 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#3 of 54 in Mossel Bay
267 reviews
3.8 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 54 in Mossel Bay
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Air del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Air del Mar

Address: 12 Awie Dodd Street | Bayview, Mossel Bay 6520, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range: £121 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Air del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience why people say this is paradise in every sense of the word. Everyone who stays at Air del Mar falls in love with its spectacular, unspoiled natural beauty and harmonious, safe and tranquil lifestyle. Owned and managed by Fred & Susan Bezuidenhout for the past 10 years. The bay becomes South Africa's whale nursery between May and November, when the Southern Right whales arrive to mate and calve. Air del Mar offers its guests the opportunity to walk, swim or laze in safety on endless beaches just a few steps away. We are situated right next to the ocean with private stairs down onto the beach. Let the waves lull you to sleep at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Air del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing