We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea Delight”

Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 88 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: This cosy coffee shop is situated in a Victorian-inspired pavilion, with outdoor seating available in the lush courtyard. Breakfast and lunch are served - and whether you feel like a cappuccino and a slice of cake, a breakfast or a light lunch, Fynbos Coffee Shop serves it with flair. It is a busy coffee shop and popular lunchtime meeting spot during the day. Dishes are inspired by local availability, trends and the seasons, with something for every taste. Due to the nature of our business we do not allow children under ten years.
Whistler, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea Delight”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stopped by Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant for a quick snack and rest from driving the Garden Route.
My partner and I shared the lemon meringue pie...I only wished I hadn't offered to share because It was absolutely delicious! The lemon curd was smooth and not too sweet, the meringue was light and fluffy and the pastry was a biscuit base rather than short crust base.
The Earl Grey tea was lovely and my partner enjoyed his can of 'green' cream soda (it was a novelty since our version of cream soda is red).
If it is a warm day I highly recommend sitting in the lovely garden at the rear of the establishment.
The service was warm and friendly. The restrooms were clean and filled with lovely hand soaps and lotions. There was also a lovely gift store by the entrance. Free WIFI is also available.
Since we only visited here for a sweet snack I can't recommend this establishment for breakfast/dinner/lunch etc however judging by the quality of food we had and service I'm sure this restaurant wouldn't disappoint.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kandy_hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    29
    8
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“super food but....................”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Fynbos is supposed to be the best restaurant in Mossel Baai - however it closes at 5pm and does not serve alcohol. We had a super lunch and could BYO. Fine dining it is not, but it was certainly good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spark41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daejeon, South Korea
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Original, but ......”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We went there for coffee and something. The place is beautiful! It is part of a very extensive shop with lots of souvenirs and other typically South African products. It is a pleasant experience to browse through everything and find something that you want or want to give as a present. The restaurant is tastefully decorated and their menu looks very interesting with a good selection to order. It is not cheap but not very expensive.
We had one bad experience though. One of our group wanted to order cheesecake but only if they had baked cheesecake. She asked and the waiter confirmed it was baked cheesecake. However, when the cheesecake arrived it was not baked. The waiter offered to take it away and not charge her for the cheesecake. When presented will the bill, the coffee was more expensive than on the menu and quoted to us.
It is a pity that such a nice place has to taint their image, well, in our eyes.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalenadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addo, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good allrounder”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The menu is small but that is what make's it work. It constantly change and normally have something for everyone, from a light salad to "lekker" curry. All ingredients is fresh and plating very nice. We had lunch there and the outside area was full but still had good service. Just don't forget to try the desert!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hencko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

For many years, Fynbos has been one of our favourite stops in Mosselbay - be it to take my aged mother for tea and their legendary apple pie, or to go fine dining with my fiance. We love this place so much, that we have decided to use Fynbos for our High Tea and Champagne celebration after our wedding in Feb 14! We could not wish for a more stylich beautifully decorated environment to share this beautiful day with all our loved ones. However it is with sadness that we've learnt that theresident chef has not renewed his lease and that the Fynbos rstaurant will revert back to a Coffee Shop. We wish the Fynbos management well in trust that they will find suitable personell to build up an their fine tradition of warm friendly service with excellent food in a beautiful surrounding!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Fynbos Gourmet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing