We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice location, which could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden Court Mossel Bay
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Starnberg
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A nice location, which could do better”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We had not booked a room in advance, because season hadn't started yet. When we asked for a room, we were told, that the hotel was fully booked.
The gentleman at the reception however changed his mind, when we asked for a package (2 days accommodation plus golfing) and condescendingly offered us a smoking room in the lower floor as the only left room due to a cancellation!
Later next morning we could see that at least several rooms were not taken. I think that says it all. No further comment.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hermster-1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    29
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
22
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The hotel is well located and does offer the basic requirements. One gets the feeling that the focus is on casino business rather than residential part of the hotel. We arrived and it was bucketing, the hotel could not offer umbrella to avoid being wet after parking the car and do not seem to be worried about it.
The breakfast is basic with badly trained waiters! Basic orders like (bad) hot chocolate they serve is extra and you are told after you have ordered.
Complaints you lodge are not recorded of followed up! It is very clear that there is a lack of supervision by management and the hotel operates at the service level of the receptionist standards.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingben66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Route to this hotel is via wonderful road trip along the famous Garden route having scenic beauties of lush green and yellow farms and an awesome view of the ocean..
After a long trip all you want is peace and some good hospitality and this hotel just offers you that. With amazing view of the ocean on one side and equally pleasent weather just helps to lighten your mood and enjoy your holiday to the fullest..

The rooms are very spacious with two double beds and provide you an breathtaking view of the Atlantic Ocean. Restaurant could have been more bigger however did not see any people waiting to grab their meals.
I would surely not forget my experience at the Casino since it was the very first time I was visiting one.You get 50 Rands free as joining bonus or first time visit.I was very lucky enough since i ended up earning 250 rands at one of the counters summing upto 300 rands without much of efforts.

Overall my experience at Garden Court Hotel was really wonderful considering the location , rooms , in house casino. Much recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harish612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We were the "lucky" winners of a charity draw - 2 nights with full breakfast at this establishment. Just as well we did not pay for this visit, but I feel that the few paying guests have even more reason to fuss.

After e-mail bookings, Yolandi assured us that there is room and that she will organise a room. We were looking forward to the stay and a lovely relaxing spa experience. Oops, on arrival the reception staff had no record of us. Thankfully I had the presence of mind to bring some of the e-mail print-outs as proof. They quickly organised a room, which was clean and comfortable.

Nowhere in the e-mails did it state that the place is undergoing major renovations, or we would have chosen other dates. Construction workers, painters, carpet fitters, you name it - all trekked through the foyer and breakfast room at their convenience. Maybe they were staying there as well, because my husband encountered a worker with tools at 22h00 in our passage.

We decided to see what's available for entertainment. Unless you find sitting in front of a gambling machine entertaining, there was nothing at all. We ate at Admiral's, the buffet style restaurant at the casino (nothing but breakfast the the hotel itself). Perhaps fewer choices in the line-up, but less "tired" dishes would have been preferable.

The breakfast was pleasant and the staff were friendly, even though they must have been terribly frustrated by the workers intruding all the time. They handled it well.

For the next day, we decided to drive down the coast, visiting places such as Boggomsbaai and Gourtizmond. The much anticipated spa treatments did not materialise, as there seemed to be no spa! No swimming pool or gardens to enjoy, either. Rubble, scaffolding, workers everywhere. The perculiar green hue of our bathwater left us wondering about the filtration system - or not?

The second night had a larger party arrive on our floor. We thought them rather rude, talking loudly and banging doors., but we knew that complaining at the reception desk would not work, as the desk disappeared during the day! The builders started stripping it!

Our second breakfast was also tasty and upon mentioning that is was certainly not a comfortable environment in which to stay, the waitress followed up with a mention of reporting our complaint to her manager. By the time we had finished breakfast and packed our bags, there was still no sign of that manager. We tried to close the room door behind us, but it refused to close. Two more senior-looking staff passed by and the one said: "Oh, Yes, we have that problem" and banged it shut! Aaah! So that was the commotion we heard the night before. The poor souls were just trying to close their doors!

Upon leaving, we had to as around as to where we could hand in the key - reception desk still under construction and reception staff stuck in a store room somewhere. Thank you, Stanley at the door, who kept his composure and sorted our luggage.

Suggestion: Next time you renovate, do NOT accept bookings. This is not fair to your guests and your staff.

Room Tip: At the moment, there is no good room. Perhaps there will be one when they have refurbished the plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReisSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humansdorp, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Everything run down....reception does not even ask how your stay was!!!Because they know!!!Breakfast was nice.Really not worth the money they charge,they should just close down untill they have finished renovating.There are signs everywhere assuring one on the coming renovations,but in the meantime they keep on charging unsuspecting travellers!!

Room Tip: stay away until they have renovated!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tokkelosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Sinai, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Expecting a normal Garden Court experience I was bitterly disappointed.
The non-smoking room had numerous cigarette burns on the carpet and for what is advertised as being a newish hotel the corridors and room carpets were surprisingly shoddy.
There was nothing in the rooom. No coffee, water or mini bar. Nothing! I had to drink from the tap which is not the end of the world considering the high quality of water but I'd like the option.
The staff advised that if I wanted anything to eat or drink I would have to go the the casino next door.
The swimming poool is part of a residential complex next door to the hotel.
I cannot recommend any aspect of the hotel and will certainly never return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Docd869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We have traveled 23 countries over the years, stayed in many hotels, B&B's and Guest lodges. We recently came back from Spain, France, Italy and Croatia. About two months ago we stayed in the Garden Route Hotel Mossel Bay. It was the worst experience we ever had and we will mention a few of many disappointing things we experienced:
1. We were invited as special guests by the casino management to a show. Arrived at the casino and no one to receive us and show us where the show was. After searching for a long period, we ended up in the right place, but still no one to entertain us.We were the only people in the audience. The show started late as the 2 performers were very embarrassed having no audience. late another couple arrived, but we left at the first break.
2. We stayed over in the hotel. The bed was broken, no clear TV reception, torn curtains, water in the shower spraying out from the wall (damaged pipe), no lights in the bathroom. I reported all these things to the lady at reception and after explaining everything, I recognized that she did not write down anything. As I was leaving reception, I turned around and asked her if she knew in what room the problems were, she answered NO.
3. We went to breakfast. Waited for about 10 minutes for a waiter, we searched around and found someone in the kitchen. I asked her why there were no service at breakfast, the lady replied that they were preparing for a wedding function.
4. Etc

We had a reservation for 2 nights, but after breakfast, we checked out. About a week later I reported the matter to the casino management who invited us. They did not say a word.
We reported it again on the 25th October 2012 to a senior manager at the casino. Still no response.
We recently spoke to our neighbor, who represented a very big sponsor at a recent show at the same hotel and she experienced the same.

Room Tip: Please don't stay over in any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HeinPortElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
3.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
4.0 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
244 reviews
4.0 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
124 reviews
2.5 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
179 reviews
18.2 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Mossel Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Mossel Bay

Property: Garden Court Mossel Bay
Address: 1 Pinnacle Point Road | Heiderand, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Mossel Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Mossel Bay is a stylish up-market accommodation and conference establishment. The Hotel is situated adjacent to The Garden Route Casino and the World renowned Pinnacle Point Beach and Golf Resort – one of the ten best new golf courses in the world. The picturesque and historic town of Mossel Bay, was crowned “Town of the Year 2007/2008” is only a 5 minute drive away. The Hotel is a mere 420 km from Cape Town and 394 km from Port Elizabeth. Tastefully furnished with style and quality, there are many extra touches and much thought has been given to guest comfort. The Garden Court Mossel Bay offers good quality accommodation with all modern amenities. We believe that we are well on our way to become the most popular Holiday and Conferencing destination in the Garden Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court Mossel Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing