We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Route 57”

Route 57 Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 89 Restaurants in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Route 57 Restaurant, Mossel Bay, is an association between international golfing star, The 2010 Open Champion, Louis Oosthuizen and well known Mossel Bay Restauranteur Anzelle Zeelie. The Route 57 Experience - we pride ourselves in serving you South African Cuisine with true South African Hospitality! Trio of Venison (Kudu, Ostrich and Springbuck), Cape Malay Curry, Fresh Fish, AAA Beef Steaks, Pork Belly, Lamb Neck, Ostrich Boboti, Pepper-crusted Fillet and many more superb dishes to choose from.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Being a golfer, I was anxious to see Louis Oosthuizen's restaurant. The food was very good and the service was friendly with all our needs catered for. Lovely for lunch also on the front patio.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jimfIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
There are newer reviews for Route 57 Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

234 - 238 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

My fiancé and I when to Route 57 for a romantic dinner to celebrate our Anniversary. They simply blew our minds with the fantastic food, service and hospitality. I would definitely recommend going to Route 57 to all my friends and any one interested in excellence.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mr_Comeback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We visited the restaurant on Mothers' day, 11 May 2014. This was our second visit to the restaurant and as the previous time, was a great experience. The food is excellent, lovely ambience and very competent and friendly staff. It is becoming one of our favourite eating places in the area. Well done!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 707Ocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband, sons and I recently visited Mossel Bay, SA. On arrival we set about to book a restaurant for our evening meal.... and so we discovered Route 57 on a recommended list in our hotel.... My sons are very keen golfers and well familiar with Louis Oosthuizen's successes on the golf course so really we had no choice but to try Route 57 and what a discovery! The welcome was warm, the ambiance was wonderful and the food was delicious... our choices ranged from Trio of cheese to SA Fish Cakes to Trio of Vension and were all amazing ! Chef Anzelle Zeelie did a great job and worked the restaurant from table to table, enquiring about our enjoyment - a lovely touch! Dinner was enjoyed with a nice bottle of Louis's own labeled Shiraz.
But the kids were the real winners here... with a putting green outside the front door.... time passed too quickly between courses! and much to their delight a visit to the Louis Golf shop next door where my husband also picked up a nice bottle of Louis' Shiraz.
An absolute must when you visit Mossel Bay.....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MyDubai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnzelleZeelie, Owner at Route 57 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write our review! We had such a warm/happy feeling reading your review! Hope to serve you soon again on your next visit to RSA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We didn't have dinner, but a late lunch there, so we decided to order burgers, which were very tasty and creative. For example the "King Louis Burger" with bacon, pineapple, cheese and mushroom sauce. The service was a bit slow, but this is quite common in SA, so not really a negative point.

Thank Miriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnzelleZeelie, Owner at Route 57 Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you very much for the review. We are pleased to hear you had a fantastic meal. We strive to give only the best and friendliness service. Will look into your remark & make sure we don't drop the ball on service in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Route 57 Restaurant also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to Route 57 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing