We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, great helpful people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mile Crunchers Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing, great helpful people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Amazing hostel, it's the best choice to stay in Mossel Bay. The owner is a great person I'm very thankful, she help me out (my wallet was stolen/lost). Great location. It's small but that's what makes it great because it's very personal. It is also very well located and not so expensive as the other hostels in Mossel Bay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexisgoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
21
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Thanks for an amazing stay!

Besides being located very centrally with most things in walking distance, this charming old house wins especially on the service and staff part.
The owner Helen and her two friends, Janine and Rashieda, at the reception will go far to make sure you have a wonderful stay in Mossel Bay. Whether it is making bookings for different experiences, giving (good!) recommendations on what to see/do/eat, putting on a movie and start up the fireplace for your coziness, providing free laundry service or serving you a good toast and egg breakfast, these ladies will make sure that you are one happy backpacker!

One of the best backpackers we've stayed at in South Africa!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you are in Mossel Bay you should without doubt stay at the Mile Crunchers Backpackers. 120ZAR per night in a 6 bed room. People here are really friendly here and the will help you with whatever you need. The rooms are cleaned, great internet connection and free breakfast! They even have 2 nice and lovely small dogs. Nothing to complain about.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank YovoBonsua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rohrdorf, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Absolutely awesome! The staff is so friendly! They made a few phone calls to book activities and transport for us and even if we just hang around in the hostel they come by and ask if everything is alright and how you are - just great! You feel like home or staying with a host family!
They place is so cosy, it even makes it hard to leave ;) The dorm beds are very comfortable and the bathroom is like being back home. The whole backpackers is clean and just such a lovely place.

It was 120 ZAR per night per person for a dorm bed and i absolutely recommend this backpackers to anyone! you will love it!

They have a TV, free Wi-fi, cosy couches to chill, a pool table and as i already wrote absolutely amazing friendly staff!

Room Tip: dorm bed 120 ZAR pP/pN (May 2014)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrik F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Spent there only one night and in a 5 bed room and payed 120 R each.
Great staff, friendly dogs and good location.
Close to local bars and clubs and main shops.
Staff is friendly and well informed about local events and public transports.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nando G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

What a friendly and happy place, I was staying in other accommodation in Mossel bay and wasn't happy with anything there. So after one night i looked for a new place and stumbled across Mile Crunchers Backpackers. Couldn't have made a better choice. Great house with the most friendliest staff and owner. Wouldn't stay anywhere else if i came back to Mossel bay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j-jenkins52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fantastic hostel. Extremely friendly and helpful staff.
Operates with the Baz Bus and is a great place to stay. Really close to the shops and restaurants.
There is a nice balcony, a lovely kitchen.
Great dorm rooms and very flexible and lovely people staying.
Mossel Bay is a must on the garden route!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank erlusby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.8 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santos Express
Santos Express
#10 of 52 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mossel Bay Backpackers
Mossel Bay Backpackers
#4 of 30 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mile Crunchers Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mile Crunchers Backpackers

Property: Mile Crunchers Backpackers
Address: 7 Church Street, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mile Crunchers Backpackers is situated in the middle of Mossel Bay. It is set above white shark Africa and opposite the Tourist information centre. A stumble away from all the shops, beaches, restaurants and bars. Next to the Museum, the view is great. Just sit in our massive lounge and enjoy the view of the ocean and mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mile Crunchers Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing