We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely views , friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Point Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Lovely views , friendly staff”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Beautiful location with magnificent views. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed the freshly baked scones at breakfast . Will be happy to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePeers-Durban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChantelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! I must admit our fresh scones are great. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Point Hotel, Mossel Bay.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    79
    55
    31
    25
See reviews for
64
96
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We spent one night here, which was more than enough. The hotel does have great views and being able to swim in amongst the rocks is fantastic, although to be fair you can swim there even if you don't stay at the hotel as the are publicly accessible. The hotel is in need of a real facelift, the corridors have a strange smell about them and the place looks generally tired. We didn't try the resturant as it looked like something from fawtly towers, and when we returned to our room for a night's sleep the sounds of the ocean managed to keep us awake for most of the night, a high price to pay for such a remarkable view.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivan-Brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Location very good but that's about it. Room and decor very dated. While location was really good when it's foggy the lighthouse sends warning sounds all night and it was impossible to get any sleep on the very small bed. Don't eat at the restaurant. However staff were very friendly and it wasn't an expensive place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LA143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChantelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your comments received. We welcome all feedback whether it be positive or negative as this is our opportunity to improve our service levels. You will be pleased to note that The Point Hotel is in the process of refurbishing our restaurant and rooms and we look forward to your return visit to experience our new and improved facilities.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The view maybe 4 stars but hotel is bland and dated. It feels more like a 3 star motel. The restaurant is ok but nothing special. The staff are very friendly however, it's just shame they don't renovate.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jah2864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChantelMosselBay, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding our great service levels. We are pleased to advise you that we are in fact in progress with refurbishments to the hotel this year and will soon have a newly upgraded restaurant and rooms. We would love you to come back and enjoy the upgraded facilities.
with kind regards

Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager, The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Walked in on the door, got a good (slightly out of season) rate. The room on the 5th floor had great views of the ocean, watched dolphins and either a sea lion or sea otter from the balcony. . . . The hotel is having a right result on account of the free swimming pool provided by mother nature adjacently located, 'appen you can only use it when the tides in, but we organised our day round high tide to make use of it. The crashing waves on the rocks make for an exhilarating time for the adventurous (reminiscent of an "old spice" advert I remember) - but this is optional, as also provided by the good Lord is a much calmer area for gentle breast stroke . . . .
The included breakfast was perfectly acceptable, and the bed was comfy enough.
Only downside was the fee for the wifi (but lots of places charge in SA at the moment) but Im sure it will change.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylortowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
We agree 100% on the fantastic sea views at The Point Hotel. Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our hotel and service levels. We hope to see you at The Point Hotel again soon.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The location and sea views from individual rooms are outstanding. The hotel interiors (lobby, restaurant, and rooms) are bland and sterile (you could be anywhere). We stayed one night and it was okay, but a little pricey for so little atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChantelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback and comments. We are pleased to announce that we are in progress with refurbishments to our restaurant and rooms which will update our look. We look forward to hosting you on a return trip to view the successful results.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager, The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Travelled on the 24th and over nighted to the 25th September 2011.
The room was booked by my daughter-in-law who gave it to my wife and myself as a birthday gift. The welcome at reception was outstanding and our room had a beautiful sea facing view
and in pristine condition. The room was very comfortable and afforded me a good nights rest.
The dinner was outstanding with the chef and staff constantly checking up and enquiring if the meal was up to standard or if we needed something extra. The same thing happened @ breakfast.
The staff were all very friendly and attentive and would recommend the hotel to any traveller going to visit Mossel Bay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointHotelManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback and comments. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your birthday gift! We pride ourselves on our friendly and warm hospitality and it is lovely to receive feedback which confirms how great our staff are! We look forward to hosting you on a return trip.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager, The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.2 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
523 reviews
18.6 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
183 reviews
17.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Hotel & Spa

Property: The Point Hotel & Spa
Address: Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Point Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Garden Route and superbly positioned on the rocks below Mossel Bay’s famous St Blaize Lighthouse, The Point Hotel offers 52 sea-facing, air-conditioned, en-suite rooms each with a private balcony which guarantees stunning sea views over the Indian Ocean. Our in-house restaurant, The Lighthouse, serves sumptuous breakfasts and offers a diverse a la carte menu which specializes in Mossel Bay’s famous seafood. A huge natural tidal pool in front of the hotel offers safe swimming and bathing, whilst surfers can enjoy one of the best surfing venues on the coast line including internationally renowned Inner and Outer Pool. The Point area boasts with six diverse restaurants – all with spectacular sea views of the Indian Ocean - and is a great place for families to stroll around and enjoy the summer sunshine and fresh ocean breeze. The unique location of The Point Hotel in an eco friendly environment, combined with professional hospitality makes this a superb choice of venue for discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Point Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing