We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views but average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Point Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This biggish hotel is good for a stop over between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth or for a stay to visit the local towns close by. It would be nicer in summer, we visited in winter. Rooms are comfortable, beds are only double or single. Stunning views.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lovely view, choose one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbabe40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our hotel and service levels We agree with you that the views are spectacular and invite you back to enjoy our newly refurbished restaurant as well as our updated rooms. We hope to see you at The Point Hotel again.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

Enjoyed the view and the best part was opening the sliding door at night and falling asleep to the sound of the waves crashing on the rocks. Service was good

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our hotel and service levels. The sound of the waves crashing against the rocks always a winner at The Point Hotel. We hope to see you at The Point Hotel again.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Monica,Leon,Lorraine & Charissa Bartmann friends and family from JHB Roodepoort area:
We were at the Point Hotel and Mosselbay for the 1st time ever for a wedding and stayed for
3 days. The Hotel location excellent, view excellent, staff now that i must admit better then the staff at the Table Bay hotel in Cape Town V & A. Neat, Friendly helpfull,make personal bookings for the geusts on request. We love the hotel and the area and the location.
The rooms beautiful sea views, neat and comfortable. we swam in the tidel pool it was amazing!
no pool needed here. We already booked 3 rooms for Dec 2012 for all our family to visit this stunning place. We will come back again and again everything is in walking distance and it is safe and the restuarants in the hotel and the area are all excellent. Well done to the Point Hotel and SOUTH AFRICA.

Room Tip: Higher floors; view;s to die for,- but all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica_B_12500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PointHotelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you to the Bartmann family for your positive feedback on our hotel and service levels. We look forward to hosting you at The Point Hotel in December and that you will enjoy the newly refurbished restaurant and updated rooms.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

As I am typing this review I am sitting on my veranda with a cup of coffee. This is a beautiful hotel with absolutely stunning views of the sea. The staff are all very friendly and they will help you with anything you ask them. My room is huge with beautiful corner bath and corner shower. The breakfast is good and you don't need more to eat as to what's on offer and if you want to complain about breakfast then call yourself a little piggy. We have had two suppers here so far and it is good food and the pricing is good. My wife and I are staying here for seven days and we are in our fourth day so far and we are very much enjoying it here.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Pierre J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChantelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback on our hotel and service levels. We hope to see you at The Point Hotel again.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Beautiful location with magnificent views. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed the freshly baked scones at breakfast . Will be happy to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfer12300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChantelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you so much for your positive feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! I must admit our fresh scones are great. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Point Hotel, Mossel Bay.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We spent one night here, which was more than enough. The hotel does have great views and being able to swim in amongst the rocks is fantastic, although to be fair you can swim there even if you don't stay at the hotel as the are publicly accessible. The hotel is in need of a real facelift, the corridors have a strange smell about them and the place looks generally tired. We didn't try the resturant as it looked like something from fawtly towers, and when we returned to our room for a night's sleep the sounds of the ocean managed to keep us awake for most of the night, a high price to pay for such a remarkable view.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivan-Brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Location very good but that's about it. Room and decor very dated. While location was really good when it's foggy the lighthouse sends warning sounds all night and it was impossible to get any sleep on the very small bed. Don't eat at the restaurant. However staff were very friendly and it wasn't an expensive place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LA143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChantelMosselBay, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for your comments received. We welcome all feedback whether it be positive or negative as this is our opportunity to improve our service levels. You will be pleased to note that The Point Hotel is in the process of refurbishing our restaurant and rooms and we look forward to your return visit to experience our new and improved facilities.
Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
18.6 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
364 reviews
17.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
559 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Hotel & Spa

Address: Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: £71 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Point Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Garden Route and superbly positioned on the rocks below Mossel Bay’s famous St Blaize Lighthouse, The Point Hotel offers 52 sea-facing, air-conditioned, en-suite rooms each with a private balcony which guarantees stunning sea views over the Indian Ocean. Our in-house restaurant, The Lighthouse, serves sumptuous breakfasts and offers a diverse a la carte menu which specializes in Mossel Bay’s famous seafood. A huge natural tidal pool in front of the hotel offers safe swimming and bathing, whilst surfers can enjoy one of the best surfing venues on the coast line including internationally renowned Inner and Outer Pool. The Point area boasts with six diverse restaurants – all with spectacular sea views of the Indian Ocean - and is a great place for families to stroll around and enjoy the summer sunshine and fresh ocean breeze. The unique location of The Point Hotel in an eco friendly environment, combined with professional hospitality makes this a superb choice of venue for discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Point Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing