We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great balcony with view towards the ocean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Point Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Reviewed 4 May 2008

This hotel was a great stay! The hotel is built on the rocks and the balcony's with view towards the ocean is great.
The service is very good and the breakfast buffet was fantastic. They are more than helpful with luggage and concierge information. The rooms are spacious and are very modern.
Also is very close to good surfing!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JoakimZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2008

This hotel is in the beautiful city of Mossel Bay. It is located right on the Indian Ocean with spectacular views from all rooms. We had a double room with both rooms being very large and clean.
The staff are very friendly & helpful. The dining room overlooks the ocean & all meals we had there(2 breakfasts & 1 supper) were excellant.
All rooms have very large balconies which makes ocean gazing very comfortable.
While we were there there was a city-wide water outage. While inconvenient not to be able to shower, the staff did all they could to make sure we were comfortable. It was a situation out of their control & I feel they handled it extremely well.
They have 2 computers which are available to guests free of charge which is a nice extra.
We were only there 2 nights but would have liked to stay longer.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone lucky enough to have time to spend in Mossel Bay

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Patti_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2008

Nice hotel, incredible view of the sea and rocks! ... Make sure to ask for a room with a sea view (otherwise you could be facing a car park). Mossel Bay is definitely recommended for one night, one of the highlights along the Garden Route!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank rip121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2008

we ended up here after we had booked a room in a place down the road. I think it is called the manor Court hotel or something like that..... anyway it is so terrible that i can't find it on any websites! after my boyfriend got bitten by red ants in the bed we drove up to the point and it seemed to be the best hotel in the area. the rooms were over priced for what they were but the view and sound of the crashing sea made up for it. there is no air con only a miserable fan that just about stirs up the air. there is nothing to do in mossel bay despite the guide books raving about it....... it's a one night stop over on the garden route

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettybooLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2008

What a great location this hotel enjoys!! As long as you're in one of the rooms with the sea view (and not rocks) you'll enjoy a comfortable, large and clean room.

We didn't eat in, the hotel was catering for a party of tourists - we could have joined in but we didn't really fancy it.

the staff were nice enough.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank voyagevole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

Overnighted at The Point as part of a tour group. Hotel itself is average but staff were very friendly and accomodating and everything was clean. Outstanding feature is the view. All rooms overlook craggy shore of Indian Ocean. Entry is at the top floor as the hotel is built into the rocks. Rooms are below. Nice-sized balcony from which to enjoy the waves crashing against the shore and the night sky while sipping wine (pick some up at one of the excellent wineries along the way). Sea air and sound of waves made for wonderful sleep. Far from town so only restaurant choices are the hotel or 2 restaurants about 5 mins. walk from the hotel (seafood or italian). Hotel had good and varied breakfast (as was our experience throughout South Africa). No internet access yet but manager let me use his computer.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2007

This hotel is excellent to stay at for the view of the cape of Africa. "With pleasure," was always the response when we asked for anything. The hotel made our trip to Mossel Bay an excellent one!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank southernchelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
18.6 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
371 reviews
17.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
569 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Hotel & Spa

Address: Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: £75 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Point Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Garden Route and superbly positioned on the rocks below Mossel Bay’s famous St Blaize Lighthouse, The Point Hotel offers 52 sea-facing, air-conditioned, en-suite rooms each with a private balcony which guarantees stunning sea views over the Indian Ocean. Our in-house restaurant, The Lighthouse, serves sumptuous breakfasts and offers a diverse a la carte menu which specializes in Mossel Bay’s famous seafood. A huge natural tidal pool in front of the hotel offers safe swimming and bathing, whilst surfers can enjoy one of the best surfing venues on the coast line including internationally renowned Inner and Outer Pool. The Point area boasts with six diverse restaurants – all with spectacular sea views of the Indian Ocean - and is a great place for families to stroll around and enjoy the summer sunshine and fresh ocean breeze. The unique location of The Point Hotel in an eco friendly environment, combined with professional hospitality makes this a superb choice of venue for discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Point Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing