We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Position Position Position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Point Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Position Position Position”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed 1 night at "The Point Hotel" If you want to stay close to the sea, this is the place to be. Just don't forget to ask for a sea facing room. Next time we would give breakfast a miss. There are lots of nice places in Mosselbay where one can eat.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea facing room! We stayed on the top floor (5). Very good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryAmsinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your comments and we agree wholeheartedly that our position is unique! Our buffet breakfast remains very popular with our guests and outside visitors and we are disappointed you did not enjoy the full variety of items on offer.

with kind regards

Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    79
    55
    31
    25
See reviews for
64
96
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I have stayed in this hotel before, the rooms are lovely with a stunning view. I recently went to their restaurant just for breakfast (we were staying elsewhere at the time). What a disappointment it was when I ordered poached eggs and got my plate full of water and a broken egg yolk. I am working in a four star boutique hotel myself and I would never send a plate out like that. Worse of all they weren't even busy in the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback. I do apologize for the poor breakfast service you received - as you quite rightly pointed out - it iwas not appropriate. We have based on your feedback, provided additional training to our breakfast staff and trust that your next experience will be a positive one.

with kind regards

Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

No contest that the hotel is on a great location, grounds & rooms are kept neat & clean but our experience with the rest was average, one staff member stood out in assisting us. We took the liberty to book a table for dinner at hotel restaurant...what a disaster! The food was appalling, chef/cook did not sell what was on menu, turned out chef/cook was not on duty! Our waitress was so nervous, she could hardly serve us...The breakfast was a salvage from the dinner, maybe this hotel must just stick to its breakfast. Booked a in room massage advertised by hotel, outside service...what a disappointment...therapist pitch 45 min late with no good excuse..."one of these days" if I remember was the excuse...spoiled it all...for the rest, try this hotel but go somewhere else for dinner or any other service...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAdutchtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback. You will be pleased to note we are in the process of updating our restaurant and menu with a new chef in place. We have also based on your comments, reviewed our massage therapist whose services are outsourced and have made appropriate changes there.
with kind regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Our second visit to this hotel and still very good. Absolutely stunning service and the room service menu really of the best. Fantastic views!The personnel and service can be recommended.Always eager to assist and friendly. This hotel is a must if visiting MosselBay

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Many thanks for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Point Hotel for another stay.

With kind regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, SA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The location of the hotel is fantastic, so nice to fall asleep with the sound of waves breaking on the rocks. I can see where some of the bad reviews are coming from, but hotels this close to the sea will always have problems. I found the establishment well maintained and clean. Food in the restaurant was good and staff friendly, although they do not have the clinical sharpness I experienced in other top-rated establishments. They will see me again, well done.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea-facing, so no major differences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VPK-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for your positive comments received. We pride ourselves on our
friendly and warm hospitality. We hope to see you at The Point Hotel again shortly.

with Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
admin@pointhotel.co.za
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We live in Mossel Bay, therefor we do not know what the accommodation is like. What we do know is that the Restaurant is one of the (only 3) restaurants in Mossel Bay worth visiting. Tasy, quality food and very good service. Friendly, well trained staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacobsMBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you kindly for your positive feedback on our restaurant. You will be pleased to know we are planning an extension on our menu shortly which I am sure you will enjoy.
With Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

perfect views, sleeping to the sound of the ocean, that´s what makes this place special. the hotel itself is a bit 80´s style, a little makeover would do no harm to this place, but as mentioned above, all possible complaints are nullified due to the view´s and sounds you get in your room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mallexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for your comments and we agree that the sounds of the ocean and views from our rooms are unsurpassed.
With Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.2 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
519 reviews
18.6 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
182 reviews
17.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Hotel & Spa

Property: The Point Hotel & Spa
Address: Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Point Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Garden Route and superbly positioned on the rocks below Mossel Bay’s famous St Blaize Lighthouse, The Point Hotel offers 52 sea-facing, air-conditioned, en-suite rooms each with a private balcony which guarantees stunning sea views over the Indian Ocean. Our in-house restaurant, The Lighthouse, serves sumptuous breakfasts and offers a diverse a la carte menu which specializes in Mossel Bay’s famous seafood. A huge natural tidal pool in front of the hotel offers safe swimming and bathing, whilst surfers can enjoy one of the best surfing venues on the coast line including internationally renowned Inner and Outer Pool. The Point area boasts with six diverse restaurants – all with spectacular sea views of the Indian Ocean - and is a great place for families to stroll around and enjoy the summer sunshine and fresh ocean breeze. The unique location of The Point Hotel in an eco friendly environment, combined with professional hospitality makes this a superb choice of venue for discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Point Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing