We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location”
Review of The Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Point Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel is very simple and nice for a business trip. The location is great and the view of the sea from the room i had was wonderful. Breakfast was good, but the coffee could improve. The view from the breakfast room was again great, i even saw dolphins and seals swimming in the sea, so beautiful! They have to take a bit more care about the details in the rooms and bathrooms. Also wifi is not free, this is for me not acceptable anymore in a hotel in a city like Mossel Bay. But in general a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_ren_chen_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    79
    53
    30
    24
See reviews for
56
92
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pagham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed here with my family for New Years Eve, view from our rooms were fantastic, breeze came in through the large open doors in the rooms. Rooms clean, tidy and lots of space. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Lots going on around the surrounding area of the hotel when we were there. Bathrooms were stylish and modern with lots of space. Highly recommended for great views and service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAUREN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us - our high summer season is a busy time in Mossel Bay and we find our guests embrace the energy and activity - and have a fantastic time!

with kind regards

Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The hotel got me excited by the position from just pulling up in the car park. I got help my bags and went to my room. The view is excellent in all the rooms and you can just sit on the balcony and sleep listening to the waves crash against the rocks. I loved it and I'm looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sykus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Our unique location coupled with friendly, warm service remains our criteria for ensuring your perfect stay with us.

With kind regards

Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

If you love ocean, sea and sound of the waves, both these silent ones and roaring with thunder - this is one of the most fantastic locations! Nice, clean, spacious rooms are directly facing the oncoming waves, which is an incredible feature of the Point Hotel.

Room Tip: For waves-lovers definitely book sea-view rooms! Unforgettable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaSmaNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback! We agree our views and the sights and sounds of the waves crashing against the rocks below our hotel is something to behold! Our location remains unique!

with kind regards

Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Excellent location at the edge of the sea. We were offered very nice suite, which was on the top floor and facing the sea. Good breakfast. Very famous seafood restaurant is close by. You will have to pay to use Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room at the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to see you in Mossel Bay @ The Point Hotel again.

with kind regards

Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

It has been one of the worst weeks of my life and I found myself in Mossel Bay without a place to stay.

As fate would have it I found myself booked into The Point Hotel. The front desk was efficient and friendly, with Melony able to make great restaurant suggestions for a delicious fresh seafood supper as well as a run down of activities in and about Mossel Bay.

But I came here to clear my mind, to get away from the DISHONEST RAT RACE !!!

The Point Hotel is the perfect spot to do just that. It is situated close to the waters edge so close that you have a wonderfull concerto of crashing waves to put you to bed and to wake up refreshed the following day to a magnificent sea view.

The rooms are neat, clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and provide me with the rest I required.

The bathrooms are standard, the shower head requires an update though.

I will definitely be back with the family to enjoy the Refreshing Point Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that we were able to offer you a peaceful restful stay at The Point Hotel. You will be pleased to hear that we are in the process of replacing all of our shower heads - they remain water saving devices - but offer a better shower. We look forward to seeing you at The Point Hotel again shortly.

with kind regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed 1 night at "The Point Hotel" If you want to stay close to the sea, this is the place to be. Just don't forget to ask for a sea facing room. Next time we would give breakfast a miss. There are lots of nice places in Mosselbay where one can eat.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea facing room! We stayed on the top floor (5). Very good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryAmsinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your comments and we agree wholeheartedly that our position is unique! Our buffet breakfast remains very popular with our guests and outside visitors and we are disappointed you did not enjoy the full variety of items on offer.

with kind regards

Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
The Point Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
18.6 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Hotel

Property: The Point Hotel
Address: Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Garden Route and superbly positioned on the rocks below Mossel Bay’s famous St Blaize Lighthouse, The Point Hotel offers 52 sea-facing, en-suite rooms each with a private balcony which guarantees stunning sea views over the Indian Ocean. The Lighthouse Restaurant serves sumptuous breakfasts and offers a diverse a la carte menu which specializes in Mossel Bay’s famous seafood. A huge tidal pool in front of the hotel offers safe bathing, whilst surfers can enjoy one of the best surfing venues on the coast line including internationally renowned Inner and Outer Pool. The Point area boasts with six diverse restaurants – all with spectacular sea views of the Indian Ocean - and is a great place for families to stroll around and enjoy the summer sunshine and fresh ocean breeze.The unique location of The Point Hotel in an eco friendly environment, combines with professional hospitality to make this a superb choice of venue for the discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing