We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Point Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Our Group of 31 Tourists from India stayed at the Point Hotel in June 2013 for a couple of nights. The general impression was that the location is so good, that we wish we could stay here forever.
We were given all rooms facing the sea. Sipping coffee in the balcony with cool breeze & sound of waves hitting the rocks is like a dream !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumant48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you so much for your comments! We are pleased that your experience of Mossel Bay and The Point Hotel was such a positive one!
With Kind Regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for The Point Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

This hotel is very simple and nice for a business trip. The location is great and the view of the sea from the room i had was wonderful. Breakfast was good, but the coffee could improve. The view from the breakfast room was again great, i even saw dolphins and seals swimming in the sea, so beautiful! They have to take a bit more care about the details in the rooms and bathrooms. Also wifi is not free, this is for me not acceptable anymore in a hotel in a city like Mossel Bay. But in general a good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I_ren_chen_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed here with my family for New Years Eve, view from our rooms were fantastic, breeze came in through the large open doors in the rooms. Rooms clean, tidy and lots of space. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Lots going on around the surrounding area of the hotel when we were there. Bathrooms were stylish and modern with lots of space. Highly recommended for great views and service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAUREN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for your comments and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us - our high summer season is a busy time in Mossel Bay and we find our guests embrace the energy and activity - and have a fantastic time!

with kind regards

Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
The Point Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The hotel got me excited by the position from just pulling up in the car park. I got help my bags and went to my room. The view is excellent in all the rooms and you can just sit on the balcony and sleep listening to the waves crash against the rocks. I loved it and I'm looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sykus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Our unique location coupled with friendly, warm service remains our criteria for ensuring your perfect stay with us.

With kind regards

Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
The Point Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

If you love ocean, sea and sound of the waves, both these silent ones and roaring with thunder - this is one of the most fantastic locations! Nice, clean, spacious rooms are directly facing the oncoming waves, which is an incredible feature of the Point Hotel.

Room Tip: For waves-lovers definitely book sea-view rooms! Unforgettable!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaSmaNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback! We agree our views and the sights and sounds of the waves crashing against the rocks below our hotel is something to behold! Our location remains unique!

with kind regards

Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
The Point Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Excellent location at the edge of the sea. We were offered very nice suite, which was on the top floor and facing the sea. Good breakfast. Very famous seafood restaurant is close by. You will have to pay to use Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Get a sea facing room at the top floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to see you in Mossel Bay @ The Point Hotel again.

with kind regards

Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
The Point Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

It has been one of the worst weeks of my life and I found myself in Mossel Bay without a place to stay.

As fate would have it I found myself booked into The Point Hotel. The front desk was efficient and friendly, with Melony able to make great restaurant suggestions for a delicious fresh seafood supper as well as a run down of activities in and about Mossel Bay.

But I came here to clear my mind, to get away from the DISHONEST RAT RACE !!!

The Point Hotel is the perfect spot to do just that. It is situated close to the waters edge so close that you have a wonderfull concerto of crashing waves to put you to bed and to wake up refreshed the following day to a magnificent sea view.

The rooms are neat, clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable and provide me with the rest I required.

The bathrooms are standard, the shower head requires an update though.

I will definitely be back with the family to enjoy the Refreshing Point Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPointAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that we were able to offer you a peaceful restful stay at The Point Hotel. You will be pleased to hear that we are in the process of replacing all of our shower heads - they remain water saving devices - but offer a better shower. We look forward to seeing you at The Point Hotel again shortly.

with kind regards
Chantel Edwards-Klose
Marketing Manager
The Point Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.2 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
538 reviews
18.6 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
187 reviews
17.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Hotel & Spa

Address: Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: £72 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Point Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Garden Route and superbly positioned on the rocks below Mossel Bay’s famous St Blaize Lighthouse, The Point Hotel offers 52 sea-facing, air-conditioned, en-suite rooms each with a private balcony which guarantees stunning sea views over the Indian Ocean. Our in-house restaurant, The Lighthouse, serves sumptuous breakfasts and offers a diverse a la carte menu which specializes in Mossel Bay’s famous seafood. A huge natural tidal pool in front of the hotel offers safe swimming and bathing, whilst surfers can enjoy one of the best surfing venues on the coast line including internationally renowned Inner and Outer Pool. The Point area boasts with six diverse restaurants – all with spectacular sea views of the Indian Ocean - and is a great place for families to stroll around and enjoy the summer sunshine and fresh ocean breeze. The unique location of The Point Hotel in an eco friendly environment, combined with professional hospitality makes this a superb choice of venue for discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Point Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing