We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for 1 night”
Review of The Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Point Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
paignton devon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice for 1 night”
Reviewed 3 November 2008

We stayed here on the 20th oct for 1 night. The views are stunning over the sea.The tidal pool was refreshing to say the least!!. We ate in the resturant next door which was not very good. The breakfast was excellent and we watched the whales whilst eating our bacon and eggs!!! Good place to stay for 1 night.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Not much around the hotel
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tikka2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    79
    53
    30
    24
See reviews for
56
92
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wickham Market
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2008

We stayed here one night while travelling the garden route, lovely view of sea crashing on the rocks from the balcony. Staff very friendly and helpful. The food was good and the overall bill was very reasonable. Would pay a lot more in England for the view alone.

  • Liked — The view
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulinebotting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2008

This hotel was a great stay! The hotel is built on the rocks and the balcony's with view towards the ocean is great.
The service is very good and the breakfast buffet was fantastic. They are more than helpful with luggage and concierge information. The rooms are spacious and are very modern.
Also is very close to good surfing!

  • Liked — The balcony view
  • Disliked — No minibar
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JoakimZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal Quebec Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2008

This hotel is in the beautiful city of Mossel Bay. It is located right on the Indian Ocean with spectacular views from all rooms. We had a double room with both rooms being very large and clean.
The staff are very friendly & helpful. The dining room overlooks the ocean & all meals we had there(2 breakfasts & 1 supper) were excellant.
All rooms have very large balconies which makes ocean gazing very comfortable.
While we were there there was a city-wide water outage. While inconvenient not to be able to shower, the staff did all they could to make sure we were comfortable. It was a situation out of their control & I feel they handled it extremely well.
They have 2 computers which are available to guests free of charge which is a nice extra.
We were only there 2 nights but would have liked to stay longer.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone lucky enough to have time to spend in Mossel Bay

  • Liked — The Spectacular view & the food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

Nice hotel, incredible view of the sea and rocks! ... Make sure to ask for a room with a sea view (otherwise you could be facing a car park). Mossel Bay is definitely recommended for one night, one of the highlights along the Garden Route!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — not a very lively location
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rip121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2008

we ended up here after we had booked a room in a place down the road. I think it is called the manor Court hotel or something like that..... anyway it is so terrible that i can't find it on any websites! after my boyfriend got bitten by red ants in the bed we drove up to the point and it seemed to be the best hotel in the area. the rooms were over priced for what they were but the view and sound of the crashing sea made up for it. there is no air con only a miserable fan that just about stirs up the air. there is nothing to do in mossel bay despite the guide books raving about it....... it's a one night stop over on the garden route

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — 1970's decor
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettybooLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2008

What a great location this hotel enjoys!! As long as you're in one of the rooms with the sea view (and not rocks) you'll enjoy a comfortable, large and clean room.

We didn't eat in, the hotel was catering for a party of tourists - we could have joined in but we didn't really fancy it.

the staff were nice enough.

  • Liked — the location - being able to look out onto the ocean was fabulous
  • Disliked — the dining experience
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank voyagevole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
18.6 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Hotel

Property: The Point Hotel
Address: Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Point Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Garden Route and superbly positioned on the rocks below Mossel Bay’s famous St Blaize Lighthouse, The Point Hotel offers 52 sea-facing, en-suite rooms each with a private balcony which guarantees stunning sea views over the Indian Ocean. The Lighthouse Restaurant serves sumptuous breakfasts and offers a diverse a la carte menu which specializes in Mossel Bay’s famous seafood. A huge tidal pool in front of the hotel offers safe bathing, whilst surfers can enjoy one of the best surfing venues on the coast line including internationally renowned Inner and Outer Pool. The Point area boasts with six diverse restaurants – all with spectacular sea views of the Indian Ocean - and is a great place for families to stroll around and enjoy the summer sunshine and fresh ocean breeze.The unique location of The Point Hotel in an eco friendly environment, combines with professional hospitality to make this a superb choice of venue for the discerning traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Hotel Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing