We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly service and good food”
Review of Villa Point Restaurant - CLOSED

Villa Point Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“friendly service and good food”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This restaurant is in an old stone building and we enjoyed that pleasant atmosphere and the wood fire. The service was good and we enjoyed our fresh fish very much.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 31Tobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    12
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Soup”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I ordered the Sweet Potato and Duck Liver soup and was hesitant to order it, but I must say that it delivered on originality and taste. I would definitely come back to order it again and be willing to try anything else on the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolevandeventer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place with great food and super friendly service”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The weather was bad but this place made up for it. The food was very good, the portions very big, the wine great, the service absolute super friendly. The atmosphere just romantic, we had the place for our self and were seated just in front of the fire place. If the way would not be too long from Germany, we would be back quite often. Still think about your amarula dessert. Next time we will have it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Villa Point A Treat Continues”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have been eating at Villa Point for many years. Somehow it changes owners/management often. However we have generally been impressed with all of the meals eaten here.

We most recently visited on Sunday 15 June2014. We were very impressed with the front of house service and good food. We had one of the best subtle Malay mutton curries and very good butternut soup as starters.

This was followed by a tasty orange infused chocolate fondant for dessert. An unfiltered and not too expensive chardonnay paired well with all of the dishes.

The food was tasty, well prepared and nicely presented. We were also visited by the chef at the table and impressed by his knowledge of local produce and friendly conversation. We will return for more and hope this couple will not only sustain. but excel.

The promise and potential is there. With best wishes. Erwin and Lyzette Schwella

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErwinSchwella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OUT OF THIS WORLD”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were in Mossel Bay on the 09 June 2014 and found this small yet upmarket restaurant Villa Point , what a dining experience the couple who was managing the restaurant { the waitress and chef } made our experience a personal touch not only was it a dining experience with flavours that will boggle your mind and take you on a trip out of this world the friendliness of the two made the stop over made a memorable homely experience that in my opinion lacks extremely in the fast food chain of restaurants , well done guys the food, drinks, company was amazing you will definetly be seeing us soon again keep up the amazing work that you do !!! Thanks form Jon Pierre and Roche

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jonpierrevanrooyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Point Restaurant also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing