We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had booked a Family Room but it was really not big enough for us with a 13 & 11 year old. The beds were comfortable but the room itself small and tatty. It is advertised as having wifi but that was not working and according to other guests hadn't been for a few days. The on site restaurant is nice but the swimming pool is tiny.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 332JaneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear 332JaneM

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. The Protea Hotel Mossel Bay forms part of the Old Post Office Tree Square and the building is one of the oldest commercial buildings in the Southern Cape. Maybe with your next stay you would consider a harbour suite – these rooms are modern, with balconies and very spacious with sea views. The WIFI problem is being addressed and precautions have been put in place for this problem not to occur again. Please accept our apologies and hope welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    152
    59
    10
    3
See reviews for
86
201
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Odes'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Hi everyone!

I recommend this hotel for many reasons - very shine and clean rooms with modern bathroom, kind personnel, nice reception area, good view from the rooms.

Concerning the neighborhood Restaurant "The gannet". Wonderful view, good cooking, but...
White tourists - be ready to meet unfriendly service from one baldhead black waitress, who was very aggresive to the whites (particularly to me). Unless you are joking to her with some simple stu..d humour. May be she has to be politician in majority of SA Parliament, but not in restaurant business.

Mainly all staff (regardless of colour) are friendly and positive.

Pls see my attached pictures.

Have a nice holidays in Mossel Bay.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the rooms 18 & 19, last one is larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _12828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear _12828
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We pride ourselves on clean and functional rooms, as well as efficient and friendly service.
Your feedback with regards to “The gannet” is highly valued and has been used constructively to maintain and improve our standards of service. Please accept my sincere apologies for this incident during your visit to our hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Excellen service and value for money, i can recomend the hotel to anyone, for either buisness or leisure travel. My second time at the hotel, and both times were fantastic. I will surely return to this hotel next year for my annual holiday !

Room Tip: Harbour suites are brilliant, lots of space
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Mr Anton O
Thank you very much for staying with the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay and taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. So glad you’ve enjoyed your stay as “usual”. We look forward to welcoming you back for your annual holiday. Live life slowly in Mossel Bay…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We booked one night here but could have easily stayed for longer. The hotel overlooks the commercial and fishing harbour - don't be put off by that! We were given two suites which were both on three levels, each consisting on a kitchen area, large lounge overlooking harbour, lower luxury bredroom and huge bathroom, with on top floor a mezzanine with two single beds. We were greeted by a reception manager who offered us a welcome drink and organised our luggage. Then we were able to park in a secure parking bay labelled for us within their parking compound. Next morning, all of our luggage was carried back to our car for us too. We had an excellent nights sleep on very comfortable beds and a huge spread at the buffet breakfast where there was a chef making omlettes to order.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleggyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear cleggyCornwall

Thank you very much for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is highly valued and very much appreciated. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay does have a GREAT location being centrally located. The self catering harbour suites are very comfortable with balconies overlooking the harbour and Santos Beach. Glad you’ve enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

There is a little bit of tranquility here- so close to the town. It's easy to walk anywhere in Mossel Bay from here. the view from the pool deck and bar is amazing and the food is to die for- superb in all respects....well done guys.

Room Tip: try to get a view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaAyerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Fiona

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, much appreciated. One of Protea Hotel Mossel Bay’s unique selling points is its Location. We have a superb location 5 min walk to the beach, harbor and shopping centre. With amazing views over the main swimming beach Santos.
Look forward to welcoming back - soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Wonderful hotel. Family units full of surprises.....balcony from tv room and another balcony from the main bedroom. bathroom layout to die for.....staff also efficient and friendly and willing to assist when requested.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elbie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Elbie_12

Thank very much for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. The self catering harbour suites are very comfortable with balconies overlooking the harbour and Santos Beach. Great service and clean & functional rooms are very important, glad you could experience this. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Garden Route.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We have been in this hotel last week. It was a short stay but we had the opportunity to compare the hotel vs all others we visited during a wonderful 2-weeks trip in South Africa. We ranked it Top 1 in a list of well-known brand hotels. Great location, wonderful staff.. we had a delicious welcome in a sunny afternoon and we got an upgrade from s superior room to a junior suite. Rooms were beautiful, exposed to the sea and distributed on 3 levels. All perfectly clean, we felt like at home! We decided to spend the full day in the hotel, to get some rest but also to profit of such nice venues. The staff was extremely kind and professional, from the person at the reception to the ladies in charge of cleanings. And they were always discreet.. We had dinner (and breakfast) in the restaurant there and despite it was nice, we would have expected a broader menu. Also, during the dinner, the assigned waiter looked a bit upset (or better, not oriented to smile with us), we felt this a bit strange. Anyway, the hotel was great and we strongly recommend it. For sure, we will get there when travelling again to South Africa.

Room Tip: ask for a room exposed to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Giuseppe
Wow thank you for ranking us the No. 1 spot in Mossel Bay . One of the hotel’s unique selling points is the location - GUESTS can park their car and walk everywhere – beach, harbour, museum and town CBD – all within a 5 minute walk. Service in a hotel is so important and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the STAFF exceeded your expectations. Thank you very much for your very valuable comment it is most appreciated. Live life slowly in Mossel Bay…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
17.9 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
523 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
183 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
133 reviews
17.8 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Address: cnr of Church and Market Streets, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Mossel Bay)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 31-roomed Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is a graceful landmark, built in 1846, overlooking Santos Bay and harbour. Nestling on the Mossel Bay shoreline with the majestic Outeniqua Mountains as a backdrop, the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is singled out from other establishments. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is situated 5 min from Santos Beach. Take in the sea air whilst dining at Café Gannet, where you can sample local mussels, fresh fish and oysters or try the chefs daily specials. As sunset arrives, visit the Legendary Blue Oyster Cocktail Bar, with its own special ambience, pool deck and superb sea views, is the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions are the close proximity to shopping facilities, the yacht club, harbour and north-facing, sun splashed beaches. As part of the museum complex, the Maritime, Local History and Shell Museum, as well as the Old Post Office Tree, are all within strolling distance. The new golf estate is 2km away and the airport a 20 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mossel Bay Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing