We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Best place to be”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed there for three nights and felt we could stay a bit longer, the service is great and their friendly staff a cherry on top. Having planned to use accommodation only, Cafe Gannet changed our plans, great menu with well freshly prepared sea food was awesome. This made our anniversary celebration unforgettable. What a place!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NgoakoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Mr & Mrs NgoakaB
Thank you for choosing us to be your host for this memorable occasion and taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, much appreciated. Our STAFF are very proud of your compliments – as they strive to exceed GUESTS’ expectations. The Café Gannet Restaurant – Mossel Bay’s Seafood House is a great treat, very trendy and so glad you’ve enjoyed the fresh seafood they offer daily. We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future….live life slowly in Mossel Bay….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    148
    58
    10
    3
See reviews for
83
194
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel - service was excellent from the moment we arrived to the time we left (including washing our windscreen on the morning of departure to ensure we had a good view of our drive along the Garden Route!) The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, the room was awesome (3 story hotel room with views of sunset over the bay) and the food in the restaurant was great. The oysters were the best I tasted in all of South Africa. Would recommend this place again and again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJTurtle001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear BJTurtle001
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and taking the time to post them on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is highly valued and very much appreciated. The self catering suites you stayed in which overlooks the harbor and Santos Beach are very popular and very comfortable. Glad you enjoyed your stay! Look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

On arrival the staff are friendly,your name on a board welcoming you.The rooms are absolutely clean and the staff take you to your room. There is an awesome pool bar and pool.The restaurant on the premises which has an expensive look about it an classy which is reasonably price(value for money).the breakfast in the same area,wow variety and good ,the spreads are are awesome.the followin morning what a surprise to find out that there is a gentleman who cleans your windscreen of your vehicle,compliments of the hotel,this was a business trip though, but will be back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Mr Robert J
Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay on your recent business trip and posting your valuable comments on TripAdvisor. We pride ourselves in clean and functional rooms as well as efficient and friendly service. The Legendary Blue Oyster Bar, overlooking the Santos Beach and the pool area, is a very popular venue, especially for its fresh Wild Mossel Bay oysters and a decadent sundowner and adjacent to the bar is the Café Gannet Restaurant, Mossel Bay’s seafood house.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Stayed here for just 1 night last week. It's off season so Mossel Bay was absolutely dead. Lovely if you want some peace and quiet - but was maybe just a little too quiet for us. I'm sure during the busy Summer peak season it's absolutely buzzing and would love to come back and see that side of Mossel Bay some day!

The staff were incredible. The lady on reception (can't remember her name I'm sorry!) had a gorgeous smile and was extremely helpful. She called one of the boat companies late at night for us to see if they were operating the following morning and was told to call back first thing. She said she'd call in the morning and let us know if she'd been successful. Sure enough at 8.30 the following morning, she advised that the trip had been booked for us. Great service!

I also have to mention the porter. Again, I'm unsure of his name - but a totally charming bloke in his uniform that helped with our luggage. We felt bad for letting him carry our very heavy cases as he's quite 'mature' in years - but he insisted and was very grateful for his tip. He is an asset to the hotel as he is the first face we saw when we pulled up and was extremely pleasant everytime we bumped into him. Please pass on our thanks to him once again.

Another lovely little gesture was going to the car in the morning and finding a note on the windscreen advising that our windows had been cleaned so as to give us the best view on our journey of the Garden Route. Really nice little touch!

I'm unsure of the history of the building - but it's full of character. Some parts felt like we were in an old prison or something (in a good way!). The walls were extremely thick and the windows small - nethertheless we had an amazing view over the Bay and a very good nights sleep.

Would definitely come back - but during the Summer when Mossel Bay isn't so sleepy :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deano76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Wow, thank you for your comments and posting it on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is highly valued and much appreciated. Our STAFF is one of our best attributes, and we strive to exceed our GUEST expectations. The Protea Hotel Mossel Bay forms part of the Old Post Office Tree Square and the building is one of the oldest commercial buildings in the Southern Cape. We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have just returned from another faultless stay at the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay. It was good to be back and it felt like home. From the warm welcome from Peter at reception, Ronel the manager and Anna the breakfast chef. The room was spotless, complimentary Wi-Fi a bonus, the food was excellent and the friendly staff. Congratulations with the 4 star accreditation, we have noticed the improvements and nice little touches that was added since our last stay. Looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: We only stay in room 33, spacious and very private it is worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Dear Hilary

We are privileged to be your host when visiting the Garden Route – thank you for your loyal support. The TEAM at Protea Hotel Mossel Bay always strives to exceed GUEST expectations. Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor it is most appreciated.Look forward to welcoming you back in future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanyuki Town, Kenya
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had booked a Family Room but it was really not big enough for us with a 13 & 11 year old. The beds were comfortable but the room itself small and tatty. It is advertised as having wifi but that was not working and according to other guests hadn't been for a few days. The on site restaurant is nice but the swimming pool is tiny.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 332JaneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear 332JaneM

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. The Protea Hotel Mossel Bay forms part of the Old Post Office Tree Square and the building is one of the oldest commercial buildings in the Southern Cape. Maybe with your next stay you would consider a harbour suite – these rooms are modern, with balconies and very spacious with sea views. The WIFI problem is being addressed and precautions have been put in place for this problem not to occur again. Please accept our apologies and hope welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Odes'ka Oblast', Ukraine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Hi everyone!

I recommend this hotel for many reasons - very shine and clean rooms with modern bathroom, kind personnel, nice reception area, good view from the rooms.

Concerning the neighborhood Restaurant "The gannet". Wonderful view, good cooking, but...
White tourists - be ready to meet unfriendly service from one baldhead black waitress, who was very aggresive to the whites (particularly to me). Unless you are joking to her with some simple stu..d humour. May be she has to be politician in majority of SA Parliament, but not in restaurant business.

Mainly all staff (regardless of colour) are friendly and positive.

Pls see my attached pictures.

Have a nice holidays in Mossel Bay.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the rooms 18 & 19, last one is larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _12828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear _12828
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We pride ourselves on clean and functional rooms, as well as efficient and friendly service.
Your feedback with regards to “The gannet” is highly valued and has been used constructively to maintain and improve our standards of service. Please accept my sincere apologies for this incident during your visit to our hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
17.9 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
496 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
178 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 52 in Mossel Bay
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Address: cnr of Church and Market Streets, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Mossel Bay)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 31-roomed Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is a graceful landmark, built in 1846, overlooking Santos Bay and harbour. Nestling on the Mossel Bay shoreline with the majestic Outeniqua Mountains as a backdrop, the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is singled out from other establishments. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is situated 5 min from Santos Beach. Take in the sea air whilst dining at Café Gannet, where you can sample local mussels, fresh fish and oysters or try the chefs daily specials. As sunset arrives, visit the Legendary Blue Oyster Cocktail Bar, with its own special ambience, pool deck and superb sea views, is the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions are the close proximity to shopping facilities, the yacht club, harbour and north-facing, sun splashed beaches. As part of the museum complex, the Maritime, Local History and Shell Museum, as well as the Old Post Office Tree, are all within strolling distance. The new golf estate is 2km away and the airport a 20 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mossel Bay Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing