We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, but too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place, but too expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

This hotel is very nice, our room was a small apartment with an equipped kitchen, a nice balcony. Great bathroom. Walking distance to the shark diving tour if that's what your heading for. The restaurant is also very nice for dinner. My only complaint is that when we were checking out we were charged for breakfast. This was unexpected, and after paying such a high rate, we expected at least breakfast to be included. Other than that, had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatibarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Tatibarro
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor, your feedback is highly valued. The self catering harbour suites are very comfortable with balconies overlooking the harbour and Santos Beach. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay has a great location a 5 min walk to the CBD, Santos Beach, Dias Museum Complex and the Harbour. Hope you enjoy the remainder of your vacation in our beautiful country and remember to “live life slowly …”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    145
    57
    10
    3
See reviews for
81
189
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I often have the opportunity to stay at the Protea Hotel in Mossel Bay but i never really get the opportunity to thank the team for their hospitality. Every staff member i encounter has a smile and a fantastic can-do attitude and it has become my hotel of choice. I would recommend staying at this hotel to anyone,whether it is the standard room or the gorgeous family-sized suite, you are guaranteed to enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are fairly large and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Mr Williams
WOW, thank you so much for your lovely comments and recommendation. Meeting and Exceeding guest expectations is what we strive for, so a BIG thank you from the TEAM – we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Protea Hotel Mossel Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sea Point, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Another visit to the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay, only to be spoilt again with their wonderful hospitality, excellent food, great cocktails, tranquil sea view and homey feel. This time we enjoyed an outing to the Maritime and Diaz museum as well as the Old Post Office Tree. Great to have a weekend to relax and switch off and forget life in the big city.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Self Catering Suites are truly amazing! Fantastic views, spacious, beautifully decorat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IZ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear IZ82
Thank you for posting your valuable comments on Tripadvisor. Our hotel offers complimentary entrance to the Diaz Museum complex, so glad that you’ve enjoyed the “outing”. It is always great to have you at the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay. Live life slowly….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed there for two nights on business, and found the welcome outstanding. The room was very clean and well presented.
The staff were very welcoming and helpful.
The Cafe Gannet surprised me with the excellent food - i was expecting standard hotel fare, but what I was offered was definately not standard! A well thought out menu with some interesting dishes.
Breakfast was tasty, filling and also had some unusual twists (fruit Sushi was wonderful)!
I hope to return somewhen when I'm not on business so that I can live life slowly . . . .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Colin H
Thank you for your lovely comments and taking the time to post them on Tripadvisor. This is much appreciated. We pride ourselves on clean and functional rooms, as well as efficient and friendly service The Café Gannet Restaurant is very popular especially for its seafood, so is the Blue Oyster Bar well known for its decadent sun-downer cocktails. So glad that you’ve enjoyed our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back for your holiday to live life slowly…..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed there for three nights and felt we could stay a bit longer, the service is great and their friendly staff a cherry on top. Having planned to use accommodation only, Cafe Gannet changed our plans, great menu with well freshly prepared sea food was awesome. This made our anniversary celebration unforgettable. What a place!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NgoakoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Mr & Mrs NgoakaB
Thank you for choosing us to be your host for this memorable occasion and taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, much appreciated. Our STAFF are very proud of your compliments – as they strive to exceed GUESTS’ expectations. The Café Gannet Restaurant – Mossel Bay’s Seafood House is a great treat, very trendy and so glad you’ve enjoyed the fresh seafood they offer daily. We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future….live life slowly in Mossel Bay….
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel - service was excellent from the moment we arrived to the time we left (including washing our windscreen on the morning of departure to ensure we had a good view of our drive along the Garden Route!) The staff were friendly and extremely helpful, the room was awesome (3 story hotel room with views of sunset over the bay) and the food in the restaurant was great. The oysters were the best I tasted in all of South Africa. Would recommend this place again and again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJTurtle001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear BJTurtle001
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and taking the time to post them on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is highly valued and very much appreciated. The self catering suites you stayed in which overlooks the harbor and Santos Beach are very popular and very comfortable. Glad you enjoyed your stay! Look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

On arrival the staff are friendly,your name on a board welcoming you.The rooms are absolutely clean and the staff take you to your room. There is an awesome pool bar and pool.The restaurant on the premises which has an expensive look about it an classy which is reasonably price(value for money).the breakfast in the same area,wow variety and good ,the spreads are are awesome.the followin morning what a surprise to find out that there is a gentleman who cleans your windscreen of your vehicle,compliments of the hotel,this was a business trip though, but will be back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Mr Robert J
Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay on your recent business trip and posting your valuable comments on TripAdvisor. We pride ourselves in clean and functional rooms as well as efficient and friendly service. The Legendary Blue Oyster Bar, overlooking the Santos Beach and the pool area, is a very popular venue, especially for its fresh Wild Mossel Bay oysters and a decadent sundowner and adjacent to the bar is the Café Gannet Restaurant, Mossel Bay’s seafood house.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
17.9 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Address: cnr of Church and Market Streets, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Mossel Bay)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 31-roomed Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is a graceful landmark, built in 1846, overlooking Santos Bay and harbour. Nestling on the Mossel Bay shoreline with the majestic Outeniqua Mountains as a backdrop, the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is singled out from other establishments. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is situated 5 min from Santos Beach. Take in the sea air whilst dining at Café Gannet, where you can sample local mussels, fresh fish and oysters or try the chefs daily specials. As sunset arrives, visit the Legendary Blue Oyster Cocktail Bar, with its own special ambience, pool deck and superb sea views, is the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions are the close proximity to shopping facilities, the yacht club, harbour and north-facing, sun splashed beaches. As part of the museum complex, the Maritime, Local History and Shell Museum, as well as the Old Post Office Tree, are all within strolling distance. The new golf estate is 2km away and the airport a 20 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mossel Bay Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing