We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I drove to Mossel Bay for work . Arriving around Midnight. sorted my work out and went to hotel around 1. showered and went to bed and had a good rest. went to breakfast, wow , what a spread. well worth the R95.00.loved the location near harbor and central town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Riatkins
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay on your recent business trip to Mossel Bay and also for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback. Maybe on your next visit you have more leisure time to experience more of our hotel and what Mossel Bay has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

The rooms at this hotel are very big. The lower floor has the master bedroom and bathroom. The entrance floor has a living area and kitchen and the top floor has another bedroom with 2 beds. It's nice but a little dated and in need of a little modernization.

The location is great for Mosselbay, which is a little sea side village and beautiful.

I believe this is the nicest hotel in Mosselbay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikkia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Vikkia80
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments TripAdvisor. Glad that you’ve experienced our lovely Harbour Suites. The hotel’s location is of the best in stay being a 5 minute stroll away from the main swimming beach and across the road of the Dias Museum Complex. Look forward to welcoming you back…to where we live life slowly in Mossel Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My stay at the Mossel Bay Protea hotel was the best ever. will definately go back there with my family. thank you all at the hotel. the restuarant was perfect with delicious meals. the bar was fantastic, basically i was impressed with everything. compared to all the hotels i stayed in SA and outside SA, the Mossel Bay Protea is the best.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mervyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Uthup

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay can be best describe as a hotel complex – with rooms ranging from normal double rooms, family rooms & self-catering harbour suites, restaurant, pool & bar. We pride ourselves on clean and functional rooms, as well as efficient and friendly service. A big thank you from the TEAM here in Mossel Bay - we look forward to welcoming you & your family back with your next trip to the beautiful Garden Route.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Right by the harbor, it's super convenient with the marine museum right next door and the beach a hop away, with a lovely view as well. The rooms were large and nicely done. The breakfast was not very elaborate but it's was very fresh. They also have the largest post box so make sure you carry a post card or two to post from there! ;)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Uthup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Uthup
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, much appreciated. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay has a great location with Santos Beach, Dias Museum Complex and the Harbour, all a stone throw away. We offer all our GUESTS free entrance to visit the museum. Try to live life slowly as we do in Mossel Bay…..even in Mombay, India!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June to do the shark trip - the office is on the corner of the building diagonal - White Shark Africa - definitely worth doing. The hotel was great, I had my 40th Birthday the week before and when I arrived at Reception they had a happy birthday sign , and a bottle of Champagne on ice in the room. Nice touch, the Service in the hotel was exceptional. The room was big with a sea view. We had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant which were both Of good quality with lots of choice. Theirs not loads of choice of restaurants but Route 57 is definitely worth a visit. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisjohncox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Chrisjohncox

Thank you for the recommendation & posting your comments on TripAdvisor. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay does have a GREAT location walking distance to CBD, Santos Beach, Dias Museum Complex and the Harbour. Our staff are very proud of your compliments – as they strive to exceed guests’ expectations. Remember to “live life slowly...”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

One night was enough. The room was a good size but the bathroom had two separate faucets one for hot & one for cold. So I had to keep moving my hands around. Which was annoying. My bed lamp didn't work. I found wrappers under my bed. And what really got to me was the wifi service. My friend & I needed internet for our phones & our iPads. But we were told we could only have Internet on two devices. So we had to choose. That was not right I need my iPad for work and I need my phone for important calls so did my friend. And the hotel stated free wifi they didn't say free wifi for one device per person. A very bad experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Mariam M

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. Your feedback is highly valued and has been used constructively to maintain and improve our standards of service. My sincere apologies for the Wi-Fi problem you’ve experienced during your visit to our hotel. Your comments on the rooms have been duly noted and remedial actions have been taken.
We pride ourselves on clean and functional rooms, as well as efficient and friendly service. I hope that we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Once again my apologies for the inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights en route to Cape Town from Shamwari, having booked 2 standard rooms. As we had arrived very early and the hotel was becoming full, our rooms were understandably still being prepared but Peter graciously took us to the restaurant, where we succumbed to enjoying a delightful meal. He subsequently took us to our harbour suites, an upgrade from our intended standard suites. These suites are on 3 levels, with 2 single beds in a loft bedroom, although we would have been content to confine ourselves to the lower bedroom/bathroom area had the bedroom been slightly larger. As it was, we ignored the upper level completely and only went to the lower level when necessary, because of our unsteadiness on the stairs (no handrail for the lower portion). However, both had reasonable sized balconies, with furniture, and we spent a very relaxing couple of afternoons doing exactly what Mossel Bay is all about - living life slowly!
The outstanding point of note about the hotel is its staff. All were cheerfully keen to assist, so much so that when we handed some laundry in to housekeeping on Sunday, in readiness for its early morning collection the next day, the young lady collecting it offered to wash it herself immediately! Similarly, the windscreen of our rental was cleaned while the vehicle was parked outside the hotel, without any request from us. Perhaps this was done by Phineas, a delightful, elderly retainer, whose conversation we never understood but was clearly a charming character.
In sum, a charming hotel where given its excellent staff, it is very easy to do what it encourages of its guests - chill!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WIWOL92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. Glad that you have enjoyed your stay in our lovely Harbour Suites overlooking the only North-facing bay on the south coast. Mossel Bay is the perfect en-route stopover being half-way between Cape Town & Port Elizabeth. Our staff is very proud of your compliments – as they strive to exceed guests’ expectations. We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future…..to live life slowly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mossel Bay
1 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
259 reviews
17.9 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
371 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.8 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
568 reviews
21.9 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay

Address: cnr of Church and Market Streets, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Mossel Bay)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range: £89 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 31-roomed Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is a graceful landmark, built in 1846, overlooking Santos Bay and harbour. Nestling on the Mossel Bay shoreline with the majestic Outeniqua Mountains as a backdrop, the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is singled out from other establishments. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is situated 5 min from Santos Beach. Take in the sea air whilst dining at Café Gannet, where you can sample local mussels, fresh fish and oysters or try the chefs daily specials. As sunset arrives, visit the Legendary Blue Oyster Cocktail Bar, with its own special ambience, pool deck and superb sea views, is the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions are the close proximity to shopping facilities, the yacht club, harbour and north-facing, sun splashed beaches. As part of the museum complex, the Maritime, Local History and Shell Museum, as well as the Old Post Office Tree, are all within strolling distance. The new golf estate is 2km away and the airport a 20 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mossel Bay Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing