We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service and Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Service and Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first stop while driving the Garden Route.
Very clean and well appointed Hotel. The staff were very welcoming and could not assist enough.
Definitely value for money and an enjoyable overnight hotel.
The restaurant is not to be missed.
I will review it separately.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WJW61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear WJW61
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. Mossel Bay is the perfect town from which to explore the Garden Route being halfway between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth. We pride ourselves in clean & functional rooms as well as efficient & friendly service. So glad that you’ve enjoyed your stay with us. Surely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    145
    57
    10
    3
See reviews for
81
189
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Struisbaai, South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

As always, staying at Mossel Bay Protea, you are treated like family. Reception staff welcome you by name. Again I was offered an upgrade to a Harbour Suite (oh the view is wonderful!!!).
Breakfast was great, with a wonderful buffet spread. Dinner also very good. Portions are a bit small for the price, but then the ambiance & service makes up for it.
I will defenitely stay here again and again and again!!!!

Room Tip: Try to book a Harbour Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Sandy v
Wow, thank you for considering us your “Home away from Home” – what a privilege. It’s always a pleasure for us to host you and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back. Also a big thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor, really appreciate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Excellent service and for the first time, I got to stay in the rooms allocated next to the reception. Room 23 was awesome and i wouldn't mind staying there again. before I used to be allocated at rooms outside so i was pleased with the latest room allocation, thanks for the service again

Room Tip: Room 23/25 will be appreciated in the near future
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MasterLee44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear MasterLee44
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor. I’m very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the room allocated to you with your recent stay, will certainly make a note for your next visit. These rooms are unique being located in the main building which is one of the oldest commercial buildings in Mossel Bay and declared as a heritage site. Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Every time you visit you receive the excellent service from checking-in till you leave the hotel, very consistent service and warm greetings and care from all staff. The breakfast is divine fresh and tasty all the time. Everyone makes you feel at home.

Room Tip: rooms 1-8 my first choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Banzi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Banzi D
Thank you so much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor and the wonderful compliment “excellent service”. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it onto our STAFF as they always strive to exceed GUEST expectations as well as being consistent. We look forward to welcoming you back…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Cape Province
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel received very good reviews, so was my choice (as a lone traveller) along the Garden Route. The reception was very friendly and helpful -- the staff is amazingly pleasant and efficient. But instead of the "manor room" I booked I was "kicked upstairs" to the so-called Presidential Suite. Oh boy! It sounds great, but it was not at all "presidential", and as 1 lone person I rattled around in the cold rooms like a pea in a barrel. As Mossel Bay can be hot in summer, the large space and wooden floors might be fine in summer, but not in winter! The lighting was terrible: little lights up in the open rafters, and about 1/3 of them were dead! There isn't a single floor lamp, so no reading was possible after dark in the open-plan lounge space. The walls are empty of prints or anything to "lift" the dead spaces. The TV only had a few channels, of which (I think) 3 or 4 were sports! Talk about variety ... !

I was amazed that there were no bedside lamps! I asked for one, and was given one, but with the regulation 40 watt strength ... So okay, the bath water was hot, the place was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. But ... the little kitchen was so inadequately equipped, with not a single wine glass!

I had been told the hotel restaurant (The Gannet) was very good, but my fish and calamari was just okay (the fish was overcooked). Nothing that you can't find in a cheapie eating place.

Will I stay there again? Yes, but in the type of room I booked. I really hated the long walk to my (NOT!) Presidential Suite, up 2 flights of cold stairs, and I hated the dim lighting. That's just not good enough.

Room Tip: I did not see the ordinary rooms (see my review). I know the rooms do not have baths, only showers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mietie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Mietie
Thank you for taking the time to comment on TripAdvisor. We sincerely apologise that our Presidential Suite did not measure up to your liking. It is a very modern unit and we do understand that this may not be to everyone’s taste. Heating in the room is supplied by both air-conditioning unit that has a heating option and a fireplace, both of which we would have been more than happy to assist in setting up. The unit is equipped with all the crockery and cutlery required but it may well be that, being such a large unit, it was in an area not obvious enough. We will most certainly reconsider their position. Please know, that we welcome you back and will do everything in our power to meet up to your needs on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival, we proceeded to check in. My sister then spotted a sign about no water supply for 2 days from afternoon 5pm to next morning 7am. We were shocked as we were not informed even at check in and thus thought to check w staff on the accuracy of the notice. Turned out it was true! Was very annoyed because they did not inform us prior to our arrival and did not inform us at the reception till we asked them about it!!! And also, they were very reluctant to give extra bottles of water for our basic washing up! Overall, very bad service and hotel!!! Left a very bad impression for me at Mossel Bay!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Amy
We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay due to the town’s water supply being cut off. This was unfortunately beyond our control. We tried everything in our power to ease the inconvenience to our GUESTS by having a constant supply of water available on request. I can assure you, the situation was just as frustrating for us. We pride ourselves on offering our the best GUEST service possible. There was a sign in reception about the water issue but it could be that some GUESTS did not notice see this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Loved every aspect of the visit. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotless. The pool is small but nice. We loved the restaurant, both the food and and service. We were told this was the best hotel and restaurant in Mossel Bay and we now agree.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeWood100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotelMosselBay, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Mr MikeWood100
Wow, thank you for your great comments and posting them on TripAdvisor. Our TEAM is thrilled to know we lived up to our reputation as “the best hotel and restaurant in Mossel Bay”. I sincerely hope that we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Live life slowly…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
17.9 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#3 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
2.2 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Address: cnr of Church and Market Streets, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Mossel Bay)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious 31-roomed Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is a graceful landmark, built in 1846, overlooking Santos Bay and harbour. Nestling on the Mossel Bay shoreline with the majestic Outeniqua Mountains as a backdrop, the Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is singled out from other establishments. Protea Hotel Mossel Bay is situated 5 min from Santos Beach. Take in the sea air whilst dining at Café Gannet, where you can sample local mussels, fresh fish and oysters or try the chefs daily specials. As sunset arrives, visit the Legendary Blue Oyster Cocktail Bar, with its own special ambience, pool deck and superb sea views, is the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions are the close proximity to shopping facilities, the yacht club, harbour and north-facing, sun splashed beaches. As part of the museum complex, the Maritime, Local History and Shell Museum, as well as the Old Post Office Tree, are all within strolling distance. The new golf estate is 2km away and the airport a 20 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mossel Bay Protea Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing