We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not For Me”
Review of Santos Express

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santos Express
Ranked #10 of 53 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not For Me”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Rooms are clean but very uncomfortable ans small and had to split the family into 2 rooms. The beds where extremely uncomfortable and walls to thin (try to explain to the kids what the honey moon noises are from couple in the next room). The shower and toilet on the far end of the coach and had to escort my wife and kids to the toilet during the night because they felt unsafe. For a overnight stay for young couples who don't have kids, I recommend this place but not for a family.

Room Tip: Get the room with the shower and toilet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantosTrain, Manager at Santos Express, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Andy G,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It is true, the compartments are small, as they are still the original compartments of the train as it was in the 70’s when it was operational. We feel that keeping the train in it’s original state while preserving and restoring it, lends a certain charm and uniqueness, very popular with the more seasoned and adventurous traveler. While we realize it’s not luxury accommodation as you would find in an expensive hotel, we do provide unique and affordable accommodation. We also find it popular with families, as most children have never been or slept on a train and may never again.

We do apologize for the inconsiderate neighbours you were unfortunate enough to have. Due to the train not moving, sound does travel further along the coach than it would have on an operational train. We regret that you did not inform our reception staff, who would have gladly moved you to another coach if there was space available.

Our train is perfectly safe and all coach doors are locked at night by security. We have never had any incident on our coaches where guests were made to feel unsafe. We do apologize if this was your experience.

We are looking into acquiring more family suited coaches, so hopefully your next stay with us will be more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    135
    67
    32
    29
See reviews for
54
169
37
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

If you want an original place, this is your option!
is just a train original, the only change is the bathroom with shower. the room is clean, very nice restaurant with a terrace overlooking the sea.
Start your day with that view from the window is spectacular and then have breakfast on the terrace with that view is really superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trottamundo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Looking for an awesome experience, and don't want to break the bank? Than stop looking. The Santos Express is one of my favorite places I've every spend the night. The rooms are tiny, (it's a train, remember) but the view and the experience more than make up for it!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveleratheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

First of all, the view.... amazing. If you're backpacking or just like to save money by staying in a hostel - this one is the one you want! Of course, you're sleeping in a train so, it is exactly what you'd expect...a TINY room with a small bed (at 5'7, I fit fine, but my buddy is over 6' and he had to sleep with his legs bent). I wasn't there to stay in the room all day, so it suited my needs fine. The bathroom and shower were shared between all the rooms on a single car. They definitely need to be updated, but again, were exactly what you'd expect for a train car. The bar and deck areas were where we spent most of our time, right on the beach - perfect! The food was fine and they offer a complementary breakfast if you're staying on the train (consisting of toast or cereal with coffee and orange juice).

Room Tip: We stayed in the 3rd car in a room with 2 (smaller than) twin beds... but I noticed that one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The idea of staying on a train appealed to me and I am glad we did it. It was only for one night and I think that was perhaps enough but I still can't say anything too bad about it. Yes there was a lot of sand in the train but what can you expect if the place is RIGHT on the beach and people are in and out all the time. You sleep in a train compartment so it is very cramped and you literally just go there to sleep, you can't do anything else. We had some gorgeous walks on Santos beach and Mossel Bay itself is lovely with plenty to do.

Room Tip: A compartment a little further from the bathoom is a good idea so you don't have people up and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KimandRudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulbagh, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Santos Express is the perfect place to stay! Best service and accommodation! What a unique experience it was to sleep in a train and to hear the trains go by. The beach is in walking distance so no need to drive anywhere. I would definitely make use of them again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiaan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

If you are looking for a uniquely different experience a one night stop over at the Santos Express is definatlely worth your while. Sleeping on a train what a exciting experience for children of today who are not used to train travel at all. The beautiful beach is only a couple of meters from your window and I doubt if you will find a spot closer to a beach on such a budget beating price. Please keep in mind that it is a restored train and that you are not going to find 5 star luxuries. The compartments are genuine train size and thus not big at all.

Room Tip: If you would like to sleep on a double bed please request that upon making your reservation as most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaJ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Portao Diaz
Hotel Portao Diaz
#5 of 9 in Mossel Bay
124 reviews
1.1 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
244 reviews
1.9 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Edward Charles Manor
The Edward Charles Manor
#9 of 9 in Mossel Bay
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santos Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santos Express

Property: Santos Express
Address: Munro Road | Santos Beach, Mossel Bay 6500, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santos Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation is in a train parked just 30m from the beach.We have an onsite restaurant and fully licensed bar. Function/Conference venue is available, perfect for a beach wedding. We can accommodate large groups comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santos Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing