We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not pass this place if staying in Mossel Bay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
African Oceans Manor on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 53 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not pass this place if staying in Mossel Bay!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We were blown away with the standard of our room and breakfast, absolutely amazing value. What impressed us was with how pleasant they were when we said we were going to check in later than expected and how accommodating they were with us. The place is very safe and secure and breakfast is amazing. If you need to stay in Mossel, do not pass this place. Top notch service and rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janandrew3132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear @janandrew3132,
Thank you so much for this excellent review. We strive to make every guest's experience exactly like yours.
Keep well!
Lindi and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    52
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
100
294
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulbagh, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

What a lovely stay we had! The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, the luxury of the rooms, the delicious breakfast and the variety of the breakfast menu.. everything was so beautiful and no fault could be found!


We had a really lovely stay and was received in a very warm manor!

Would go back anytime! : )

Room Tip: any room! We had the self catering room, and it was perfect. We traveled with our 2 year old girl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Nicolette,
Thank you very much for your kind review. So glad that your family enjoyed it so much.
We hope to have you back for another visit.
Kind regards,
Lindi and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The service was friendly and the breakfast was good. We also enjoyed with our little boy the direct access to the clean beach nearby from the hotel. However, the room did not really suit our taste (bare and modern but with a certain lack of atmosphere and warmth) and there was a bit of an issue with the multiplicity of doors and locks to open for moving across the hotel (by the way, the picture of the swimming pool is a bit deceptive, as it is a plunge pool for one or two persons sitting). We have to confess that our appreciation of the hotel was however negatively influenced by the surroundings (Mossel Bay and the Garden Route in general). To us, the Garden Route did not appear as the much-publicised breathtaking stretch of road strolling along the ocean. As for the part that we covered (Mossel Bay - Wilderness), it was rather a highway stuck between shopping malls and oil refineries offering at times a view of the ocean. This applies also to the surroundings of the hotel reviewed hereby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulienBouzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Bouzon Family,
Your feedback is highly valued and we will use it to improve our standards.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our service, breakfast and the beach.
Apologies that the Garden Route did not meet your expectations otherwise.
Most of our guests love the Garden Route and the area and we get many compliments for our decor.
We hope to improve on the points mentioned.
Kind regards,
Lindi and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Our stay at African Oceans was incredible! We loved every bit of it - from the view of the ocean from our room, our deck, and from the breakfast area, the walk on the beautiful beach, the thick rugs and luxurious linens, the comfortable seating area, the fantastic breakfasts, the parking garage, the value, and the staff. Everyone was extremely friendly, professional, and helpful. For example, my car's battery died while I was there and the staff offered and took us to our shark dive so we wouldn't miss it, called for help to get the battery charged while we were gone, and when we still had a little trouble even had someone come over with jumper cables to get us running. Amazing! Thank you!

Room Tip: We had the presidential suite overlooking the ocean. It was well worth the extra few rands. We didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear Kevin,
Thank you for taking the time to write this AMAZING review.
It was only our pleasure to help with your car troubles.
We truly have fantastic staff and they will go out of their way to help in any way if possible.
Please come back for another visit.
Kind regards,
Lindi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at this property in June 2013 over a weekend when the weather was beautiful. We arrived very late the first night and they had a gentleman onsite who opened for us, showed us around and helped us settle in.

The property is PERFECT. There is no other word to describe it. The rooms were cosy and very tastefully furnished. We stayed in a luxury suite and a standard room which formed a little two bedroom apartment if you opened the inter-leading doors. The kitchen had everything we needed for our stay. The view is BREATHTAKINGLY beautiful.

Breakfast was very tasty and well presented. The friendly staff was wonderful and did an amazing job in catering to our every need.

Room Tip: Room above the Dining Room will have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XIIGattaIIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Hi there!
Thank you for this lovely review! We really appreciate your compliments.
You have such a lovely family and we enjoyed having you here.
Please come for another visit.
Kind regards,
Lindi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We recently stayed for one night only, commencing a tour of the garden route. African Oceans and its staff were absolutely amazing - 5 star all round. The rooms are beautifully furnished with every attention to detail. The breakfast was the best I've ever had. Stayed at numerous other establishments after African oceans and none of them lived up to it! Would definitely stayed again if in the area. Well done to all who work there.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 4 which was stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Georgina,
Thank you for the very informative review and kind remarks!
We are so glad that you enjoyed the stay and our wonderful staff. They really do appreciate these lovely compliments.
Best wishes,
Lindi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Firstly we struggled to find a place that will accommodate a late check in and
thankfully we stumbled across African Oceans Manor.
After a grueling 7 hour drive in peak holiday traffic we finally made it
to this paradise at 11:30 pm. We were both delighted to walk into this
beautifully decorated room!
The bathroom was laid out well with a separate bath and shower. It
also had a small kitchenette.
The next morning for breakfast we were greeted by the friendly staff with
a fresh fruit and a smoothy in hand!
The friendly personnel and the attention to even the smallest detail made this
a 5 star experience! Our stay was definitely too short!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandiAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear CandiAdrian,
We are so glad you found us. A pity you had such a short stay - we hope you can come back for a longer relaxing stay.
Thank you for the lovely review and compliments.
Kind regards,
Lindi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
3.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
14.7 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
339 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Point Hotel & Spa
The Point Hotel & Spa
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Point Village Hotel
Point Village Hotel
#2 of 9 in Mossel Bay
512 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#3 of 53 in Mossel Bay
260 reviews
3.8 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 53 in Mossel Bay
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Oceans Manor on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Oceans Manor on the Beach

Property: African Oceans Manor on the Beach
Address: 7 Bob Bouwer Crescent | Bay View, Mossel Bay 6520, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — African Oceans Manor on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the rhythmic waves rolling onto the golden sand and the majestic Outeniqua mountains, African Oceans echoes perfection. Situated in the heart of the Garden Route, virtually on the shoreline, this is the destination to create lasting memories. The exceptional treatment, the unique and thoughtful touches, the luxury and comfort all add to the enticement of returning again and again. With superb staff and individual attention one should not pass through Mossel Bay without stopping by for a visit. Our rooms offer relaxation equipped with television, air conditioning, mini bar, coffee and tea facilities as well as private balconies/patios. Safe parking and electronic gate. We invite you to relax on our pool deck overlooking the bay and the breathtaking Indian Ocean. Nearby activities, among others, include elephant rides or a picnic with tame elephants, shark diving, game drives, walks with African lions and top golf courses. TGCSA 5 Star Guesthouse. Winner of AA Awards 2007/2008/2009 and the hall of fame 2010 & 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your African Oceans Manor on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Oceans Manor Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing