We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out of town luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
African Oceans Manor on the Beach
Ranked #2 of 52 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Out of town luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This property is in a residential area and you will need a taxi to local restaurants, but the property is gorgeous and the level of finish superb . Service and the breakfasts were fantastic , try the granola ! We did not have any trouble with noise or nuisance from anyone outside . You can walk down to the huge beach in a minute . Try the Sea Gypsy Cafe for fresh fish at an incredible price , not elegant dining but you eat what is on the plate !
I had to be dragged away kicking and screaming

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Helen, Thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate your feedback. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our famous granola...
Kind regards,
Lindi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    51
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
97
287
11
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Having visited this hotel I now have some sympathy with a previous review where the location was criticised.
Firstly it is a 10-15 min drive out of Mossel Bay(despite the address) and in a residential area so all food has to be sourced off site and the drink/driving laws are strictly enforced in S Africa so either taxi it or select a non drinking driver for the night.
Secondly this area has the Petrochemical plant storage tanks very visible in it and once on the beach you only have to look right and there they are. We had a lovely room but looked out on 3 or 4 tankers that sat in this beautiful semi-circular bay throughout our stay.
It is also next to a public access to the beach with a toilet block and BBQ's and we were disturbed on every night( of 3) by people partying there, indeed the police were called on our last night.
This is such a shame as this is a superbly run establishment with great attention to detail and cleanliness and has attentive, professional staff and Mossel Bay is a good base from which to explore inland ,up into the beautiful mountains and the Karoo.I was reluctant to post these negative comments but they are the facts regarding the location.
The drive to Mossel Bay is lovely but from there, until you reach Wilderness, it leaves a lot to be desired and was a disappointment as this is meant to be the start of the Garden route which we tend to assume is stunning throughout its length.
The town itself is OK but there is not a great deal to do there apart from a lovely cliff top walk and a couple of nice restaurants. Use it as a base to explore the area and then move on would be my advice.

Room Tip: the upper floor rooms give a lovely view of the bay but you can also look over onto the public area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to post this honest review. Your feedback is highly valued and we will use it to improve where possible.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our attention to detail, cleanliness and our wonderful staff.
Mossel Bay is indeed a great location from where you can explore the surrounding towns and the Garden Route.
Many blessings to you!
Warm regards from a sunny Mossel Bay,
Lindi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed for one night in the African Oceans villa. We had 2 rooms one for our 16 month old son. Lovely cot provided. Excellent service breakfast was yummy and freshly cooked. Shame we were only staying for one night. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojo736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you! We are very pleased that your family enjoyed your stay that much.
Keep well!
Kind regards,
Lindi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Me and my wife were stayed in African Ocean for 1 Night , as a part of our trip to The Garden Route. It was a lovely night, we had enjoyed the beautiful beach, the delicious breakfast, and the nice designed room. I highly recommend the stay in this B&B , I stayed in a total of 4 B&Bs during my trip, and African Ocean was The Best !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meshari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your excellent rating and compliments. We really appreciate it.
Blessings to you.
Kind regards,
Lindi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Everything was of the highest possible taste beds extremely comfortable views were fantastic location just on the edge of town and the breakfast choice amazing staff were very friendly.Only stayed one night but wished it was longer felt very spoilt.

Room Tip: The rooms are spread over two properties both to the same standards the only difference being that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leesx5_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review! Glad that you enjoyed it. Please come back for a longer visit.
Kind regards,
Lindi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed at this self catering b and b last night and enjoyed it very much. We slept in the presidential suite and were very comfortable. The suite is lovely and clean and the spa bath with the bath salts was heaven after a hard week. The shower is big and comfortable as well and the complimentary port really hit the spot. We felt like royalty and pranced around in our white robes like little children. The mini fridge is well stocked but as we took our own snacks we did not utilise it. The bed is a lovely size and very comfortable. The books and dvds was a lovely little extra and i devoured one of the books. The little balcony has a amazing view and the breakfast was just perfect. I will recomend this little piece of heaven to every one i know

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anriacoetzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Anria,
Thank you for your very sweet review. So glad that you had a super relaxing experience and that you could indulge in all that we have on offer.
Appreciate your feedback.
Kind regards,
Lindi & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We were blown away with the standard of our room and breakfast, absolutely amazing value. What impressed us was with how pleasant they were when we said we were going to check in later than expected and how accommodating they were with us. The place is very safe and secure and breakfast is amazing. If you need to stay in Mossel, do not pass this place. Top notch service and rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janandrew3132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindi J, General Manager at African Oceans Manor on the Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear @janandrew3132,
Thank you so much for this excellent review. We strive to make every guest's experience exactly like yours.
Keep well!
Lindi and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
3.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
14.7 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Point Hotel
The Point Hotel
#8 of 9 in Mossel Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
3.8 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 52 in Mossel Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bar-t-nique Guest House
Bar-t-nique Guest House
#5 of 52 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Oceans Manor on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Oceans Manor on the Beach

Property: African Oceans Manor on the Beach
Address: 7 Bob Bouwer Crescent | Bay View, Mossel Bay 6520, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — African Oceans Manor on the Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the rhythmic waves rolling onto the golden sand and the majestic Outeniqua mountains, African Oceans echoes perfection. Situated in the heart of the Garden Route, virtually on the shoreline, this is the destination to create lasting memories. The exceptional treatment, the unique and thoughtful touches, the luxury and comfort all add to the enticement of returning again and again. With superb staff and individual attention one should not pass through Mossel Bay without stopping by for a visit. Our rooms offer relaxation equipped with television, air conditioning, mini bar, coffee and tea facilities as well as private balconies/patios. Safe parking and electronic gate. We invite you to relax on our pool deck overlooking the bay and the breathtaking Indian Ocean. Nearby activities, among others, include elephant rides or a picnic with tame elephants, shark diving, game drives, walks with African lions and top golf courses. TGCSA 5 Star Guesthouse. Winner of AA Awards 2007/2008/2009 and the hall of fame 2010 & 2011 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your African Oceans Manor on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Oceans Manor Mossel Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing