We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice stay in Mossel Bay”
Review of Avenues Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avenues Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 55 Mossel Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

A party of eight people, travelling the Garden Route, stayed at Avenue guesthouse, Mossel Bay in November 2013. Comfortable rooms with all essiential facilities. Friendly and helpful host couple. Absolutely value for money!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SvenGentofte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Avenues Guest House is situated in a quiet residential area of Mossel Bay. Hosts Meike and Martin could not be more welcoming. This is very much their home, but you are made very relaxed and comfortable by their charming company and hospitality. The room we stayed in was very comfortable, with a particularly nice shower and en-suite bathroom. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, and all the more enjoyable for being able to chat with Meike and Martin, who are great hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LavantRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This place is a real deal with delicious breakfast and all the service you need. Speaking of the spotless-clean rooms, they leave absolutely nothing to be desired. Comfy beds, modern bathrooms, very fast Wifi for a very small fee, cosy lounge. The whole place is thoughtfully decorated. Miekes and Martins presence is what truly makes this place, though. We've never known hosts to put so much effort into it. They provide a wealth of knowledge and help during your stay. We stayed two nights and we'd recommend staying at least that many. Mossel Bay is beautiful!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Maybe we caught them at a bad time but our experience at Avenues was not what we had expected after reading the Tripadvisor reviews. It's not that it was terrible; it was just very, very average and ordinary. A few points come to mind:
Our room was absolutely freezing. So much so, that we although we were only booked for 1 night, I thought we would have to move places. We were traveling with my parents and their room was warm with a space heater but for some unknown reason, we were told we couldn't have one in our room?
Breakfast is forgettable. It's got what you might expect - eggs, yogurt, toast, fruit- but nothing that would wow you (fresh baked pastries for example) which are so common in SA.
We felt we had to constantly ask for things - shampoo, hot water bottles (they really were essential as it was so cold) and it felt to us that the owners were making a huge effort and doing us a great favour when helping out. Shampoo in the showers doesn't seem such an extraordinary amenity.
But what really got me was that there is a charge for internet access. the charge is so small ($2) that it doesn't feel like it could possibly help the owners' business but leaves a really sour taste of cheapness. worse than that, is that the charge is per device - as opposed to per room - which again seems ridiculously cheap and ungracious.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank philipn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avenues, Owner at Avenues Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Sometimes it is better to leave reviews as above well alone. This family arrived – whatever the reason was - already displeased at our guesthouse, and this continued up until their departure.

We are sorry that their expectations didn’t match with our offerings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We intended to have an overnight stay for 1 night only at the Avenues Guesthouse, but the service was so good- we decided to stay another night on the return journey a week later to the start of our trip up the garden route. The welcome received from Meike and Martin, was heart-warming. It was a "home away from home experience"! The room we stayed in was perfect to what we needed, a comfortable bed to sleep in, a shower (spacious!) and an excellent breakfast served! I could not try all on offer, so much choice! The inclusion of coffee/tea facilities in the rooms are a bonus! Also a large and safe parking on offer. On hand the guest house had on offer a good offering of menu's from the various restuarant in town, which eliminated a huge stress on the guest of worrying where we would dine out! This was fantastic! A recommendation made of restuarant, turned out to be a real treat and an excellent choice! They certainly go out of their way to make their guest feel at home! I recommend them to any way looking for an economical and comfortable guest-house to stay in- in Mossel Bay! I would definitely go back- we are VERY IMPRESSED!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybirdmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This B&B is excellent value, with off-street parking and great service. I stay here regularly with my son and Meike and Martin are extremely helpful and welcoming. The rooms are spotless clean, quiet and light, breakfast is great. I will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan13507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed at the Avenues for one night, a family of 6! Accommodations was great, the joining family room was ideal for the kids to have on their own whilst Mum & Dad has their own room. Clean, enough space in the rooms. Loved the fact that they have local restaurant menus in the lobby, made our choice easy. Great breakfast, we could have stayed longer - enjoyed the evening cliff top walk.

Room Tip: They don't have a fitness centre! So terrible doesn't count!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avenues, Owner at Avenues Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Chris,

Thanks again for your visit, it was nice to have you and your family here. We are quite concerned that you've missed a fitness centre - we do not at any time claim to have one! Maybe you have mixed it up with another guesthouse you've stayed in?

We hope to seeing you again one day, take care!

Best regards from Meike and Martin @ Avenues Guesthouse, Mossel Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mossel Bay hotels
2.7 mi away
Oceans Hotel
Oceans Hotel
#4 of 9 in Mossel Bay
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.6 mi away
Aquamarine Guest House
Aquamarine Guest House
#2 of 55 in Mossel Bay
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Linkside2 Guest house
Linkside2 Guest house
#1 of 55 in Mossel Bay
673 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lavandula Manor
Lavandula Manor
#15 of 55 in Mossel Bay
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar-t-nique Guest House
Bar-t-nique Guest House
#5 of 55 in Mossel Bay
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenues Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenues Guesthouse

Address: 23 21st Avenue | Linkside, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Mossel Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Mossel Bay
Price Range: £43 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenues Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the gateway to the Garden Route and above beautiful Mossel Bay, Avenues Guesthouse is a place of tranquility with comfortable en-suite bedrooms and saltwater pool. Close to Mossel Bay Golf Course, beaches, hiking trail, sightseeing spots, restaurants and shopping malls. Off-street parking, free WIFI, tea & coffee in rooms. German and English spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avenues Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing