We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky setting, average coffee”

The Blue Shed Coffee Roastery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Mossel Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Description: WHAT WE DO: We strive to give you the best cup of coffee each time every time. We do the micro thing because we believe that smaller is better and better is good. We provide a space where time is of no significance, where you can unwind and reminisce on times past and contemplate futures unknown WHY WE DO IT: Because coffee is not just for kings. Every cup is an experiment, a moment never to be relived like the good old days where kids were kids and ladies wore dresses and chivalry ruled. COME AND GET NOSTALGIC WITH US
Restaurant details
Description: WHAT WE DO: We strive to give you the best cup of coffee each time every time. We do the micro thing because we believe that smaller is better and better is good. We provide a space where time is of no significance, where you can unwind and reminisce on times past and contemplate futures unknown WHY WE DO IT: Because coffee is not just for kings. Every cup is an experiment, a moment never to be relived like the good old days where kids were kids and ladies wore dresses and chivalry ruled. COME AND GET NOSTALGIC WITH US
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Quirky setting, average coffee”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

A cool, quirky setting and a rustic garden overlooking the sea. Although they have a large selection of beans and roasts, the coffee was below average and quite a disappointment. I got the feeling that the person who prepared my coffee was not really trained in the art of coffee preparation and although friendly did not seem particularly enthusiastic or knowledgeable about the beans. Also not much choice of treats to have with your coffee. Would go back, if only for the setting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lunarkpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    95
    32
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Bohemia Setting”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

So friends and i recently when there for coffe on a very cold day, nevertheless the coffeee and all hot condements we had were satisfactory it was very cold inside the building and then i noticed the main doors doesn`t close properly and are covered with plastic (maybe forms part of the eclectic decor) and the fireplaces were bearly birning.

However i`ll visit again if only for the old fashoin styled setting and good hot drinks, but only on a much warmer day.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dulan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Coffee Not to Rave About”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is one of the places that is difficult to review for me. I like the location, I find the interior interesting, I love the outiside seating with the harbour view. I did not like the not so clean toilets with no toiletpaper, the staff on duty when we visited was not very friendly, the waitress forgot my milk (we were only 2) and the coffee was so so. The cofee beans that they chose for me was roasted too dark which gave the coffee a very bitter after taste. Would I spend money to go back ... don't think so!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StellaJ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was randomly driving past this place while looking for accommodation and was pleasantly surprised. Great selection of coffees to choose from (I recommend the house blend), and a nice little selection of cakes. The carrot cake was delicious.

A very rustic coffee house atmosphere I wouldn't expect to find in a small South African beach-side town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redcollargang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Something unique”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Unique coffee shop, good coffees, good cakes and a nice location, absolutely worth a visit when you are in Mosselbay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Shed Coffee Roastery also viewed

Mossel Bay, Western Cape
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 
Mossel Bay, Western Cape
 

Been to The Blue Shed Coffee Roastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing