We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...a little bit of paradise!”
Review of Kinasi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinasi Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mafia Island
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“...a little bit of paradise!”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

After spending 4 weeks doing volunteer work in Zambia, I traveled here on my own to chill out for a week and do some diving. I got an excellent deal when I booked the all inclusive dive package which included flights etc. This place is really a little bit of paradise and not at all commercialized which I liked. The welcome and hospitality of all the staff was second to none and the diving was fantastic. Lars and his crew are good fun to dive with & don't take it too seriously (although there was some slagging when I lost one of their fins!) Some beach lovers might be a bit disappointed as the coast line is very tidal, but there is always the lovely pool area. The food was always very fresh and tasty - not very 'fine dining' but good all the same. I would recommend this place not problem and is quite suitable for any solo travelers who don't want honeymooners in their face the whole time!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    42
    6
    8
    3
See reviews for
31
88
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We just spent 9 days at this wonderful hideaway. As we came just before the start of the season we had the hotel to ourselves and enjoyed the full attention of all the staff: dinners under the Southern Cross, especially the seafood evening, excursions to the neighboring islands, snorkelling, and sunset over Mafia viewed from a dhow over a glass of wine. Special thanks to Tom for organizing everything around us and to Kirobo and Nasoro for island trips, picnic on the beach and snorkelling.

NB: don't expect a Four Seasons set-up, this is defintely a rustic hideaway: electricity is not 24/7, there is no TV and no gym althought the internet works and the main road is ideal for an early morning or late afternoon jog. With a little patience and a smile you will come back totally rejuvenated from this idyllic holiday!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I have to say that I had high expectations when I arrived at Kinasi Lodge-also based on the recommendation found in the internet. Unfortunately these where not fullfilled! When I arrived the managment was not aware that I was coming and I did not get a Sea View bungalow as promised. I stayed 10 days and my impression, and also from people who are coming now for several years, was that the first priority for the mangement is to make as much money as possible. 40 USD for the pick up per person is quite a lot and if you book the dive package like I did you basically do not save anything. The food was good but the choices very limited, no dive master available and the generator was not turned on-maybe because the fridges were always malfunctioning. At one time point there was a rumour that diving outside the bay would only be possible if there would be at least four people going. After we complained, it was told that this was just a misunderstanding....

The service is very friendly and the lodge is nicely kept, but being a Tanzanian resident I would not recommend the Lodge because it is overpriced. I will definetily not come back !! You can better much better deals, especially as resident.

Lars

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dagny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Beautiful setting. Very pretty cabins.
Great attentive staff and wonderful chef. The seafood was delicious and prepared perfectly. Even though there were no barbques at the pool bar, it was fine.
The diving was beautiful. New rental equipment was top of the line.
There was a nice selection of wines to choose from even though there was no wine tasting
or action around the Wine Cellar.

Room Tip: Ocean view cabins open out onto a view to the beach below
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanandeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Amazing diving, thanks Lars and team! Wonderful staff...Joyce, Peter, Tom, Monica, all of you. We had such an incredible time...well worth every dollar, would spend it again without hesitation. Thanks forsharing your paradise with us!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C8M3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xcalak, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This lodge is lovely- spa and all sorts of nice things. Food , architecture etc.... But the real reason to come here is the diving.


The diving here is world class- so much to see-
Fish- coral- life and the dive guide- Lars- is really knowledgeable and friendly.

Mafia is almost as good as Pemba island- almos!

I cannot recommend Mafia enough.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miguel81a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I was in Tanzania on business for several weeks in Dec 2009 and January/February 2010 and as a leaving present I went to Kinasi Lodge for a long weekend (Fri to Monday in early Feb)

Booking was fine, with very quick response by email (all the other places I was looking at in Zanzibar did not reply – about 10 of them).

The flight out with Coastal was a real highlight. I got to sit next to the pilot and we had stunning vistas in every direction.

Pickup at the airport is very pricey for what it is, but there is no other option. Mafia is a real rural backwater and makes Dar look like the peak of sophistication. The runway is dirt, and the “terminal building” is not like the average gleaming European/US airport!

Twenty minutes down a dirt track and I arrived to a very warm welcome and a cold drink.

The setting is stunning and the room was facing the sea through the palm trees (about 20m above sea level). There is a big veranda with a hammock and the furnishings were of nice quality dark wood. The bathroom is nice and clean, good quality, and the overall impression was immaculate 1930s colonial. A very efficient fan and a huge mosquito net were good points, the foam mattress was less comfortable than ideal, but adequate. There was always enough hot water, and electricity at all times. It seemed like a very safe place and I slept at night with all the shutters and doors wide open.

Food was generally excellent with plenty of fish and seafood. This is not five star dining but very good for an “all-in” deal. Nice fruit as is usual in Tanzania. Staff were excellent but slower than an equivalent Western hotel, but faster than most other African places I stayed at.

I did a dive with Audie the (then dive instructor has now left) and the diving is excellent. I also went for a snorkel trip which to be honest I preferred. As mentioned in other reviews, the tide goes out a long way, but even then a short walk brought me to water deep enough to swim in. They have the only pool on the island but I preferred to swim in the sea.

A highlight of the trip was swimming with whale sharks. Up to 15m long and about 20 of them Simply amazing

All in all a very peaceful place and felt very safe. Not cheap, but nice places in Tanzania never are. From what I heard about Zanzibar this was a much better place to be.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmccuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mafia Island
0.0 mi away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
7 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mafia Island
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mafia Beach Bungalows
Mafia Beach Bungalows
#2 of 9 in Mafia Island
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Meremeta Lodge
Meremeta Lodge
#1 of 9 in Mafia Island
132 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ibizza Inn
Ibizza Inn
#3 of 9 in Mafia Island
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nungwi Dive Centre
Nungwi Dive Centre
#4 of 9 in Mafia Island
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinasi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinasi Lodge

Property: Kinasi Lodge
Address: Kilindoni Road, Mafia Island EAT, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Pwani Region > Mafia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mafia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinasi Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinasi Lodge is a boutique hotel on Mafia Island, approximately 100 km south of Dar es Salaam. A short ride across the island from the airport and the main town of Kilindoni, the lodge overlooks Chole Bay in Mafia Island Marine Park. This intimate and lovely resort, situated in an old cashew and coconut plantation, provides a luxury stay amidst stylish décor and magnificent natural surroundings of the protected marine park. The swimming pool is surrounded by verdant gardens with sunbeds and alfresco lunchtime seating on the pool terrace. To add refinement there is a wine cellar with a signature wine list and an outdoor pergola cocktail bar, a spa with expert Thai personnel providing aromatherapy, Thai massage and hydrotherapy and a host of leisure time options for those after-work periods. Everything about this elegant hotel - from design and furnishing to our food & beverage and staff service - is done with a passion for perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Jovago.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kinasi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinasi Hotel Mafia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing