We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we returned, still amazing.”
Review of Kinasi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinasi Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mafia Island
Dendermonde, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“we returned, still amazing.”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

3th time on Mafia, 2nd time at Kinasi. We did not regret going back. The island is just what we are looking for : calm, away from the day to day...., friendly people, beautiful, .... And, again, Kinasi did not disappoint : sea view room, the same great friendly staff, excellent food, great diving (thanks Victor !), fantastic new years night (thanks all), perfect beach, nice pool,....
This is one of the places you completely relax. Hard to find.
We will try to go back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    42
    6
    8
    3
See reviews for
31
88
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Risor, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Our family consisting of 2 kids, their parents and two grandparents spent four memorable days at Kinasi Lodge.Fantastic site with view over the sea comfortable rooms in the form of 14 separate cottages. Good swimming pool for the kids (and the grandparents) - and wonderful dives for the parents. And for all a very memorable whale safari (hump back whales). All this is topped with ta very friendly service.

We shall enjoy the memories for a long time. Highly recommended!! Not low priced, but value for the money!

Room Tip: Room 1 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My wife and I visited Kinasi Lodge in October 2013 and it was fantastic - better than expected. The staff was incredible, the service personnel very friendly and the management (Andreas) went out of their way to ensure we had an excellent stay while on Mafia Island.

Food - I cant say enough, incredibly fresh and looked forward to eating every day. It was like having a home cooked meal. The seafood was fresh caught and everything else was fresh too.

Grounds - the entire setup was great, our villa had a spectacular ocean view, great hammock to relax/read, the pool was excellent, bars and lounge area perfect with great views as well.

Services - the dive center and manager Duly were fantastic, the $35 snorkeling excursions worth every cent out in Chole Bay! There are kayaks available for free which I used to kayak to Chole Island and back and there is a $15 boat excursion to Kua Island to see the ruins and the 'Blue Lagoon' which is a MUST SEE as the channel on the way is just amazing. The entire staff is very friendly/helpful as well.

Excursions - WHALE SHARKS!!! A MUST do! We went out twice, the first time we didn't see anything, we had went with the hotel recommend group (South African company) for $100/each. The second time we went with a local company/guide for $40/each and it was amazing! We got the chance to snorkel with Humpback whales, go chill at a beautiful sandbar and we spotted our first Whale Shark! The guide was very respectful not to harass it and we had several chances to snorkel next to it/above it .... simply amazing! Go with the local guide, its cheaper and I believe they have more connections/knowledge on where to find the sharks.

Overall, Kinasi lodge was spectacular, I would visit again for sure. Mafia Island in general is a very relaxed place far off the beaten path, so be prepared to chill for a few days; but there is plenty to do. Highly recommend Kinasi and highly recommend Mafia Island!

Ben & Meher .... October 2013

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Branch, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I plus our son and daughter-in-law spent four nights at Kinasi Lodge during December 2011 and found it a great place to relax and chill-out. The initial impression upon arrival was so-so, but once we settled in to the rhythm of the beach and the staff, we couldn’t have hoped for a better location.

The rooms are individual cabana style with in-suite bathrooms plus porches that are great for lounging. Just be prepared to deal with mosquitos and try and keep your room closed up when possible. The staff is good about spraying your room when requested and they provide coils that help.

Our daughter-in-law arranged for a private dinner for us one evening on a remote terrace level and it was wonderful. They can offer a good menu selection when planed in advance.

Don’t miss the massages offered in the spa. The four of us did this almost every evening. And hanging out by the pool and having a few drinks was a daily affair.

The highlight events we did while at Kinasi were swimming with the whale sharks and a separate full day snorkeling adventure. For the whale shark trip, we took some good advice from one of the guides. Don’t go on the early morning trips; wait until about 9:00 AM. The early morning trips spend time looking for the sharks. The later ones simply see where the early morning trips are following sharks and go to the same location as the early trips are about to head back to the beach. We stayed snorkeling with one whale shark for about an hour and a half. Lots of great photos.

The day-long snorkeling trip, we arranged through the dive shop on site. We took a sailing dhow out to a sandbar and left part of the crew there to prepare lunch. Then went out to one of the barrier islands where we anchored and snorkeled for a couple hours with a guide completely around the small island. The guide was able to point out dozens of marine species including several types of rays and nudibanchs which we and never seen before. After the snorkel trip, we headed back to the sand bar and had a great lunch beneath a sunscreen built by the crew. What was amazing was that by the time we finished lunch and loaded everything back on the dhow, the sandbar was almost submerged. And as we sailed away, it disappeared beneath the waves, awaiting the next low tide.

We would return to Kinasi Lodge if we have the chance.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on a hillside. Ours was near the top and we wished that it had been a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at Kinasi Lodge. Really special resort with great food and lovely lodges. Flew to Mafia Island with Coastal, who were brilliant. Plenty of excursions available, currently able to see Hump back Whale (if you are lucky and time it right) and whale sharks. Tours of a local village and sunset cruises also available. A haven of peace,incredible views of the sea, lovely hosts. Check it out!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We staid at Kinasi lodge for a week and had an amazing time. The rooms are extremely chilled out and the view from ours was fantastic. We were lucky enough to have a room with sea view so waking up and chilling out in our hammock was perfect!

The staff was very nice. The bar man made some great cocktails, the managers were a lot of fun and the dive instructors were great. Also, we had nothing to complain about the food as they served fresh fish and other tasty dishes. Lastly, we had several tours around mafia with local guide Mr Kirobo and spend some time in the local pub, which gave us a much better understanding of how the people lived here.

In summary a great lodge and I can definitely recommend to stay here during your holidays while combining diving and relaxing on the beach/next to swimming pool (swimming in the bay will be difficult as it is very tide dependant)!

Room Tip: We had room 1
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We loved Kinasi Lodge. The lodge itself is built with a great deal of thought to aesthetics and comfort. We can't say enough about the staff and management; they are excellent company and provide great service, beautiful food and are really helpful. The diving is beautiful and the dive crew very capable. It is truly magical to dive from a dhow (?) and sail back to the lodge. We'll be back!

Room Tip: We were very fourtunate to be in #1. The location is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mafia Island
0.0 mi away
Pemba Crown Hotel
Pemba Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wete
7 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chole Mjini Lodge
Chole Mjini Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mafia Island
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mafia Beach Bungalows
Mafia Beach Bungalows
#2 of 9 in Mafia Island
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Meremeta Lodge
Meremeta Lodge
#1 of 9 in Mafia Island
132 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ibizza Inn
Ibizza Inn
#3 of 9 in Mafia Island
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nungwi Dive Centre
Nungwi Dive Centre
#4 of 9 in Mafia Island
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinasi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinasi Lodge

Property: Kinasi Lodge
Address: Kilindoni Road, Mafia Island EAT, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Pwani Region > Mafia Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Mafia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinasi Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinasi Lodge is a boutique hotel on Mafia Island, approximately 100 km south of Dar es Salaam. A short ride across the island from the airport and the main town of Kilindoni, the lodge overlooks Chole Bay in Mafia Island Marine Park. This intimate and lovely resort, situated in an old cashew and coconut plantation, provides a luxury stay amidst stylish décor and magnificent natural surroundings of the protected marine park. The swimming pool is surrounded by verdant gardens with sunbeds and alfresco lunchtime seating on the pool terrace. To add refinement there is a wine cellar with a signature wine list and an outdoor pergola cocktail bar, a spa with expert Thai personnel providing aromatherapy, Thai massage and hydrotherapy and a host of leisure time options for those after-work periods. Everything about this elegant hotel - from design and furnishing to our food & beverage and staff service - is done with a passion for perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Jovago.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kinasi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinasi Hotel Mafia Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing